We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“consistently good”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Albert's Shed

Albert's Shed
Reserve with OpenTable
Albert's Shed is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 2,242 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $58
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: If arriving by train - we are a 2 minute walk from Deansgate train station and a short taxi ride from Piccadilly Station. If arriving by Metrolink - we are a 5 minute walk from G-Mex Metrolink station. If arriving by road we are very close to the end of both the M56 and M602. Look out for The Beetham Tower (Hilton Hotel)
manchester
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“consistently good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Often eat here particuarly good sunday lunch ,with lovely atmosphere and eating outside ,good service and food

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chrissy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,035 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,198
    580
    166
    62
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was one of the best meals I have had in a long time. Fantastic food, excellent service, nice setting and good value for money. Give this place a try, you wont be disappointed

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

When seated we were asked if it was a special occasion? When I said it was our wedding anniversary we were given a complimentary glass of prosecco - a nice touch! We chose the set Sunday lunch menu hoping to manage 3 courses - no chance, by the time we had polished off roast rump of beef with huge yorkshire pudding, roast and mashed pots, french beans, mashed swede, red cabbage, we were full. Will have to save the chocolate volcano till next time!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank doghouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Overrated”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I booked last minute on a Friday via the online booking system which worked well. We managed to park near to the restaurant easily. We were greeted with a smile and shown to out table right away. The atmosphere was fairly lively but the acoustics so poor, I could hardly hear my friend speak to me. We were seated near the window on the inside and were frequently disturbed with wafts of cigarette smoke coming from the outer seating area.

The food was good but portion size very small. I started with scallops after seeing the couple next to me order them. I had three small scallops served to me. The couple next to me had five each. My venison arrived barely warm and I felt was overpriced for what I paid.

The service was fairly good and staff polite to us all evening. Unfortunately I would not hurry back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laura M, Manager at Albert's Shed, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Hello
Many thanks for your feedback on TripAdvisor and sincere apologies regarding the issues you had during your meal with our food and and our out door smoking policy.
I am terribly sorry and I have done some investigation and given alot of thought to into your feedback so we can improve using your comments.


Laura Moore
Albert's Shed General Manager
01618399818
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockport,
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD WHEN IT FINALLY ARRIVED”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I went here a few days ago to my nieces' 18th, there were about 24 of us around two long tables. The place itself was aesthetically very nice but the service was dreadful. We waited about 15 minutes before we were asked about drinks and the at least another 45 minutes before they took our orders for starters. We sat down to eat at 8pm and it was 10.30 when I finished my main. I must say however that when it did arrive the food was delicious. There seemed to be too many tables, maybe this was the reason for the slow service. If you are going to go here it might be better earlier in the day.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank puddinlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albert's Shed also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Albert's Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing