We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended, when it's quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Albert's Shed

Albert's Shed
Reserve with OpenTable
Albert's Shed is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 2,242 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $58
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: If arriving by train - we are a 2 minute walk from Deansgate train station and a short taxi ride from Piccadilly Station. If arriving by Metrolink - we are a 5 minute walk from G-Mex Metrolink station. If arriving by road we are very close to the end of both the M56 and M602. Look out for The Beetham Tower (Hilton Hotel)
Salford
Level Contributor
66 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Highly recommended, when it's quiet”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

I ate here with my other half in Summer 2012. Dukes 92 was absolutely packed because it was a nice day and, as such, Alberts Shed was really busy and some people were a little tipsy and a bit loud, not the fault of the restaurant in any way but something to be aware of.
The restaurant itself it nicely decorated and light and airy.
The menu is quite extensive with something to suit all tastes and reasonably priced. Likewise, the wine list has a good selection with plenty available to order by the glass.
Our waiter was brilliant, very knowledgeable about the food and wine and made recommendations, including advising us not to get any extra side dishes. We ended up going for a steak sharer that was on the specials board and it was delicious.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keira08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,035 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,198
    580
    166
    62
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Always Brilliant.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

We've just returned from Albert's Shed, a table for 4, everyone had a different meal and every meal was perfect and truly worth every penny. Our server tonight was Sara and she was very informative and friendly. We've eaten here about a dozen times now and it is always perfect. Love it here.

Helpful?
Thank Stevemartin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

Enjoyed a recent visit to Alberts shed. We called on the off chance of getting a table, lucky for us the staff were very accommodating and slotted us in between reservations so I would recommend booking, the food is excellent and the staff are very helpful lots to choose from on the menu and very good value, will definitely be visiting again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laneycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Level Contributor
63 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Classy restaurant with excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed our recent visit to Alberts shed. We were shown to a nice table and ordered a gorgeous cocktail whilst looking at the menu. It was a big menu with lots to choose from. I opted for scallops and duck my friends both had fish for main and all were very pleased with quality and presentation. Taste was delicious too. Overall the bill was really reasonable for 3 starters 3mains 3 cocktails and a bottle of wine £ 120.00) . Will be back.

Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
176 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“5* food and service without any pretentiousness”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Mon - Sat lunch priced at 2 courses for £10.95. (Brunch menu on a Sunday. Special lunch menu served weekdays until 10pm during Jan 2013.) Bistro style restaurant with crisp table linen. Fish, meat and veggie options. I had the chicken caesar salad followed by the fish of the day which was spaghetti in a creamy smoked haddock sauce with a perfectly poached egg on top. Daughter had the spinach and potato samosas followed by the mushroom risotto. Starter of 2 samosas was actually a bit skimpy: 3 samosas at least guys! If I got three strips of chicken, leaves, shaved parmesan, croutons and dressing then my starter looked like a main course in comparison... (Docked a mark for this but you almost recouped it... see lower down.) Everything was well-cooked, hot and completely delicious. Service was prompt and polite yet not in your face.
Lovely building on the quay. I imagine it would be fab in the summer when you can eat outside.
BTW: recouping the mark. The ladies loo was fab although not exactly easy to get to... The info boards re: Albert on the stairwell were really interesting. All in all four-and-seven-eighths! I wholeheartedly recommend Albert's.
http://albertsshed.com/menus/lunch-2/starters-and-mains/

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Siouxsie54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Albert's Shed also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Albert's Shed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing