We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worst ever”
Review of Commercial Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Commercial Hotel
Ranked #27 of 29 Manchester B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 10, 2010

This is the worst place i have ever stayed ,it is dirty paper falling off the walls it was terrible if i could have got booked in anywhere else i would have i couldn't wait to leave stay here at your own risk be warned !!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newtonchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 130 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2010

At £21 per person for the night it was just what we needed. Clean bed and bathroom facilities. The landlord and bar staff were very nice welcoming people. Would definately recommend to anyone and would certainly return. Thanks from Sam, Tom, Antony and Josh

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samwwfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2010

This establishment is disgusting and shouldn't be allowed to trade as a hotel. PLEASE do not stay here for the following reasons:

- The owner threatened us and said that he would take money from our accounts if we wrote a bad review. Lets just see if he's true to his word...
- The rooms were dirty and the bed sheets had stains on them
- Our room smelt of raw sewage and our toilet didn't work
- There was no hot water and the bath taps fell off
- It was generally a [--] hole
- Oh, and I caught impetigo which for those of you that don't know is a bacterial infection caused by poor hygiene.

I am ashamed that we stayed here and embarrassed that we blessed the owner with any of our hard earned money.

PLEASE DON'T MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE THAT WE DID!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller2010244
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

I've seen many negative reviews of this hotel but my and my friend (both aged 18, male) went to a gig at the Manchester Arena aswell as a night around the city centre and found this hotel perfect and exactly as described: a "budget hotel".

People have been reviewing complaining about EVERYTHING and it's because they are expecting luxury! You cannot knock the price given it's central location and basic facilities. If you other reviewers want quality why not pay £200 to stay at the Hilton down the road?

Overall a great experience and very welcoming and cosy hotel and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coops2404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2010

The room was dirty.Th carpet obviously hadnt been cleaned in months and the yale lock was hanging on by a rusty old nail. The curtains were too small for the window and the radiator was held to the wall by two hooks.
The bathroom was mouldy as well as the toilet seat being broken and the door was hanging off its hinges.
The window had been smashed and was 'fixed' using SELOTAPE. The glasses in the room were dirty and the bedhead came complete with undesirable stains.
Overall our stay was laughable. if we hadnt laughed we would have cried.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hannahd_3414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2009

My dear gf and I needed somewhere to lay our heads after attending a gig in Manchester, so booked a night in the Commercial Hotel, which is actually a series of rooms above a nice little pub.

The outside of the pub looks pleasent and cheerful and the actual bar area is pretty homely. The staff were friendly and helpful and it was reasonbly cheap. However the guest rooms were awful!

When we got into the room we found a large human poo in the toilet which must have been there a few days. It was obviously disgusting and immediately made a bad impression. The general bath area was covered in mould and mildew and there was no soap or anything. The towls had weird stains on them and the tea cups provided had lipstick marks on them! The toilet door was barely hanging on and there were no mirrors in the bathroom.

It looked like the room had been decorated by a blind chimpanzee circa 1960. There were fist marks in the wooden doors, random bits of wallpaper missing, fixtures hanging off the walls, horror-movie-style faded curtains and freakishly creaky floorboards.

On the plus side we did get a 10" colour tv with access to 4 channels and the views out the front of the building was actually really good. Again, the staff were really courtious and helpful and the price was pretty good given the proximity to the city centre, its just a shame that the rooms were so shabby and dated and the 'special arrival gift' was so disgustingly offputting!

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fatmacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2016, traveled with friends
1  Thank Edoardo_27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Castlefield Hotel
The Castlefield Hotel
#61 of 120 in Manchester
661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
Hilton Manchester Deansgate
#43 of 120 in Manchester
4,460 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#37 of 120 in Manchester
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
Mulligans of Deansgate
Mulligans of Deansgate
#5 of 29 in Manchester
34 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mother Macs
Mother Macs
#20 of 29 in Manchester
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Commercial Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Commercial Hotel

Address: 125 Liverpool Road, Manchester M3 4JN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range: $51 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Commercial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing