We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Place”
Review of Vermilion

Vermilion
Reserve with OpenTable
Vermilion is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #233 of 2,261 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $15 - $38
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Vermilion has been synonymous with ‘spectacular’. Combining interior design created by Miguel Cancio Martins of Buddha Bar, Paris fame. The 3-storey labyrinth includes a Thai & Indian restauarnt which includes the famous Maharaja Room, Cinnabar (Cocktail Lounge), complete with DJs, extensive wine and spirit list, private booths with it’s own unique lounge beds (Cocoons) and a further three events spaces, The Abacus Gallery, The Alan Turing Room and The Grand Suite. Total capacity of 1300 altogether, with the largest room accommodating 800 (9128 sq ft). With facilities and flexibility to cater for almost any occasion, managed by a team of professionals, with vast experience from a variety of Michelin star restaurants and 5 star hotels from around the world, including Chefs experienced in quality South Asian and European cuisine. All rooms are fully accessible 300 free Car Park and Coach Facilities 24 hr secure and gated premises
York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Nice Place”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I had a lovely evening at Vermillion & Cinnabar. The decor is out of this world. I was in a party of 12 people and everybody had a great evening. However the food is not the best I have eaten.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 35CC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion C, General Manager at Vermilion, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for letting us know your wonderful thoughts. We are really glad that you enjoyed your time with us.

But at the same time we are concerned that you found our food not the best. To effectively investigate and be able to rectify any shortcomings we would really appreciate if you could email us the details of your booking to dikendra@vermilion.uk.com

Best regards

Dikendra Gurung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    172
    125
    66
    106
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Okay.”
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We visited for my husbands birthday, and thought it was a lovely looking restaurant. We had the Asian fusion set menu, and although we thought it was nice enough it wasn't spectacular. It's not that there was anything particularly wrong with it, it just wasn't that exciting, and some of the dishes were a little too rich.
The thing that annoyed me was the 10% service charge that was applied to our bill. I can understand a service charge for large groups, but for 2 people spending £70-80 on a meal it seems very cheeky. Especially as it isn't a "cheap" restaurant to begin with. Surely the point of paying more for your meal is that you get to eat in nice surroundings, and get good service. I don't feel that you should then be charged an additional premium. I would also be interested to know how much of this service charge the waiting on staff actually see. I'm happy to tip good service, but I feel that this should be my choice. We could have asked for the service charge to be removed, however we decided to pay it but I can't say I would be in a massive rush to come back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aimi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion C, General Manager at Vermilion, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to relate back to us your feedback on your recent dining experience. Although we are glad that you found the restaurant lovely and the food nice enough we are really concerned that you found the discretionary service charge really annoying. Just to let you know that we have decided to remove the service charge completely except for large groups. The service charge was meant for benefit of staff and so are the tips.

Our set menus are designed to impart the true authentic flavours of each cuisine they are representing which is why maybe you found some of the dishes rich. We have an extensive A La Carte menu which consists of many dishes which are not rich or spicy. We would be more than happy to recommend you these dishes on your next visit.

We appreciate your custom and look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Dikendra Gurung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Excellent.”
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We ate at Vermillion on a Sunday afternoon and had the buffet which was varied and right up our street taste wise. This was a birthday treat for me and it did not dissapoint. lots of seafood, veggie and meat options. delicious prawns and squid and tasty spicy curries. beautiful decor. service good. Will definitely return especially for the great value offered on Sundays...

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bolton2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion C, General Manager at Vermilion, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for letting us know your wonderful thoughts. We are really glad that you enjoyed your time with us.

It is really inspiring to hear such feedback on our continuous strive for excellence.

We appreciate your custom and look forward to your next visit.

Best regards

Dikendra Gurung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Room for improvement”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Visited Vermilion for the first time yesterday. We were a party of four. There was a great atmosphere and the place was really busy. We chose the vegetarian and the meat set menus. The food was really tasty and the portion size was good. Service was just about acceptable but we had to wait for ages for the drinks each time we ordered. The biggest disappointment of the evening was that the food other than the rice, was generally only warm. We will revisit to give them one more chance to be convinced but at the moment becoming a frequent visitor hangs in the balance!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion C, General Manager at Vermilion, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback comment. We appreciate the time taken by our guests to comment about their experience at Vermilion. It gives us much needed insight and helps us work towards our continued commitment to excellence.

We have discussed all your comments with importance. We have reviewed our speed of drink service as well as the food temperature and have put systems in place to ensure its efficiency. We will also be closely monitoring it for the next few weeks and make additional provisions if necessary.

Having said the above we are sad that on this occasion we could not provide you the most satisfying and complete dining experience we are renowned for but hope to be able to provide it in the future.

We appreciate your custom and look forward to your visit.

Best regards

Dikendra Gurung
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food, terrible slow service, lack of security. Friend assaulted with a glass bottle.”
Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Booked in at 9, food didn't come till 11pm.In the bar afterwards there was trouble.We reported on 3 occasions to the bar staff and the 1 security guard but no action was taken to remove the troublemakers.unprovoked, a woman marched over with 2 guys and threw a glass bottle in my friends face which left him with cuts.Security could have prevented this from happening we had warned them 3 times.I went to complain to the general manager but he would not come out to speak to me which i am disgusted by, Hence why i feel the need to express this online. i do not expect situations like this to occur when dining out in what should be an exclusive, secure and well run restaurant. Management and security needs improving.

Helpful?
5 Thank Nicola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion C, General Manager at Vermilion, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to relate back to us your views. We have taken your comments very seriously and have carried out a thorough investigation.

After careful investigations and numerous meetings we have found that one of your party guests spilled some red wine accidentally on the dress of one lady who were booked with another group. There was an argument after that as the lady was asking for dry cleaning costs from the person who spilled the drink.

As soon as the security and the management found out that there could be more argument the lady and her group were escorted out of the building. The lady did throw a bottle of beer she was drinking in anger but it did not hit anyone nor was there any cuts or injuries.

It is sad that for a small issue like drink spillage there was an argument and some people had to be removed from the premises but the management and security acted professionally and promptly failing which there could have been more problems.

Best regards

Dikendra Gurung
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vermilion also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Vermilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing