We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great romantic place!”
Review of Vermilion

Vermilion
Reserve with OpenTable
Vermilion is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #263 of 2,325 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $16 - $41
Cuisines: Indian, Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Vermilion has been synonymous with ‘spectacular’. Combining interior design created by Miguel Cancio Martins of Buddha Bar, Paris fame. The 3-storey labyrinth includes a Thai & Indian restauarnt which includes the famous Maharaja Room, Cinnabar (Cocktail Lounge), complete with DJs, extensive wine and spirit list, private booths with it’s own unique lounge beds (Cocoons) and a further three events spaces, The Abacus Gallery, The Alan Turing Room and The Grand Suite. Total capacity of 1300 altogether, with the largest room accommodating 800 (9128 sq ft). With facilities and flexibility to cater for almost any occasion, managed by a team of professionals, with vast experience from a variety of Michelin star restaurants and 5 star hotels from around the world, including Chefs experienced in quality South Asian and European cuisine. All rooms are fully accessible 300 free Car Park and Coach Facilities 24 hr secure and gated premises
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Great and stylish bar with nice decor. Brilliant food - best noodles I have ever had in my life! Great service! My new favorite place!

Thank Anastasija G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion C, General Manager at Vermilion, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for sharing your wonderful thoughts. We are really happy that you liked the atmosphere, food and service in our restaurant.

We appreciate your custom and look forward to your next visit

Best regards

Dikendra Gurung

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (832)
There are newer reviews for Vermilion
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

579 - 583 of 832 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2013

Dinner with colleagues on a Thursday night in Manchester... We chose this place based on previous recommendations and to test it out prior to a large function we are planning in the coming months.

From the outside it looks rather impressive, a very large building with some great features but the inside is where the action is... The decor is impressive for such a large venue and tastefully created.

We received our menu, which was personally a little disappointing as I was expecting a lot more choice, but to be honest it was a blessing in disguise. The venue claims to offer an Thai/Asian fusion type of food but I found it difficult to find such dishes, instead it seemed you chose either Asian or Thai dishes... i.e. lacked the 'fusion'

However when the food arrived it was extremely flavourful and great tasting, which is down to that limited menu, they offer a small range but what they do offer is very well prepared and cooked!

The lamb karahi was mind blasting, extremely tender, packed full of flavour with a hint of heat, enough to leave you wanting a lot more (mouth is watering as I write this!)

Portion size is perfect also!

Only criticism would be the service, as it wasn't overly busy yet the food did take rather long to come out, again perhaps because they cook everything to order creating perfection..

I will definitely return to this place the next time i'm in the area.

Last point (it is a little pricey however when compared to other options in the area!)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Unicornbud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion C, General Manager at Vermilion, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2013

Thank you for your feedback comment. We appreciate the time taken by our guests to comment about their experience at Vermilion. It gives us much needed insight and helps us work towards our continued commitment to excellence.

We are really glad that you enjoyed your experience with us but we are also concerned to hear that you found our menu a bit expensive. Just to let you know we also have a number of value for money offers like our Wine and Dine Menu, Grazing Menu, The Early Bird / Pre-Theatre Menu, The Friday Feel Good Menu and our very popular Sunday Brunch Buffet.

And we make every dish fresh on order so it does take a little time to achieve this.

Having said the above we do appreciate your custom and look forward to your next visit.

Best regards

Dikendra Gurung

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013

we had a group of 16 that had a room booked yesterday at vermillion for a birthday . We were advised that we could order anything of the menu on the day. When we got there, we were not allowed to order what ever we like, we had to order the set menu. We we were not allowed to order different set menus, the manager said that we all had to have the same set menu. And on top of that the manager was very very rude, he had no customer service skills what so ever. The manager had told one of our friends to shut up and sit down, so at this stage we all decided to leave and chose another restaurant. VERY VERY VERY BAD EXPERIENCE.. AVOID AT ALL COSTS

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank L3gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion C, General Manager at Vermilion, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for your feedback comment. We appreciate the time taken by our guests to comment about their experience at Vermilion. It gives us much needed insight and helps us work towards our continued commitment to excellence.

We are sad that we were unable to provide your party our A La Carte menu last Saturday because we are really busy on Saturdays and your booking was at 7.30pm which is the most busiest time. Actually we had informed the person who made the booking on several occasions that due to service reasons we ask groups to choose from our set menu.

Our set menus are designed to please every palate and comprises of the most popular and best selling dishes in the menu. We do provide our A La Carte menu on busy nights but it would have to be either before 6pm or after 10pm. It is not only difficult for the kitchen to prepare and orchestrate 16 individual dishes at the same time because of different preparation times but it also affects the service delaying the courses of the remaining tables which could be between 250 - 300 people on a busy night.

Therefore we have set menus on extremely busy nights to ensure that the service standards are not compromised.

Just to let you know there are many restaurants who follow this procedure. For instance you could check Rosso in Manchester or Hakkasan in London.

Having said the above we are sad that we could not provide you with your choice of dishes this time. We appreciate your custom and look forward to welcoming you in the future and as much as possible offer you your choice of menus.

Best regards

Dikendra Gurung

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013 via mobile

Very nice atmosphere, modern but comfortable and cosy decoration. good service and good food. Good explanation/advice on the menu. Perfect restaurant for an informal business diner.

Thank Annigje1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion C, General Manager at Vermilion, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for sharing your wonderful thoughts. We are really happy that you liked the atmosphere, food and service in our restaurant.

We appreciate your custom and look forward to your next visit

Best regards

Dikendra Gurung

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

We went as a table of 14 on Saturday 9th, had the Maharaja table. The service and food was great, on a couple of occasions it was a little slow but you expect this as a group booking and we just enjoyed a few drinks between the courses.

Will definitely go back! Thanks to David for pre organising menu bookings and drinks for my guests as it definitely made it easier than ordering on the night.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Travel_Lad123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermilion C, General Manager at Vermilion, responded to this reviewResponded November 18, 2013

Thank you for sharing your wonderful thoughts. It is inspiring for us to hear such feedback which helps us in our continuous strive for excellence.

We appreciate your custom and look forward to your next visit

Best regards

Dikendra Gurung

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vermilion also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Vermilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing