We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel”
Review of Velvet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Velvet
Ranked #9 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 19, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for a one night break in Manchester. We wanted a location that was easy walking distance of everything Manchester center has to offer, a smart hotel, but also a quiet room for a good night's sleep after the fun. Velvet delivered.

Being on Canal Street it's on the edge of the city center but no more than 15 minutes walk from anything you're likely to go to. Canal Street also has a bit of a buzz. Plenty of bars, and people enjoying themselves from breakfast and through the night. Seemed friendly and secure though because Canal Street certainly isn't your typical townie Yates/Slug/AB1 location.

The hotel doesn't have its own car park but there are loads (like, a heck of a lot) of car parks near by. We ended up paying £16 for 24hrs parking. Worth popping in to the hotel reception first though: They offer a discount on one of the car parks, NCP I think, just check with them which it is.

The hotel itself is small and cosy. We had a Balcony room which was tastefully decorated in what I'd call a Manhattan Loft style. Loved it: Not quite as... er... bright as some of the other rooms shown on their website. Good size room. Balcony above Canal Street but still very quiet at night. Only thing I could hear were the trams in the morning (there's a stop at the end of the street). And lots of nice little details: Biscuits provided when you arrive. Fresh milk and sliced lemon for your drinks. Huuuuuge bath tub (fits two!). Free wifi. Great!

Will certainly look up Velvet again for my next stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,785)
There are newer reviews for Velvet
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,141 - 1,147 of 1,785 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

traveling on business, we booked this hotel online. we do not fancy chain hotels, and always look for more personal accommodation. Our business partners advised us we were in the heart of the gay community of Manchester and did not know of it, so we were a bit dubious about it before we arrived. All doubt was quickly erased, the friendly staff welcomed us and provided an excellent check-in, followed by tea served in the room. Rooms are large and very tidy, the decor somewhat unusual but with its own charm. The adjacent bar has a special and appealing charm, well stocked bar attended by very friendly staff. Breakfast is good and served quickly. Overall, a very pleasant stay and good value for money

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jdpdr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We decided to get away for a couple of nights not to far so settled on manchester,a quick train ride and we're there out of the station (piccadilly) a short walk (less than 10 mins) we found the hotel.
The receptionist friendly and explained everything about the hotel to us ,offered to carry our bags and show us to our room,once in our room he said he would bring us a tea coffee tray( nice touch)
the room was well equipped,plenty of spare sockets to plug charges,etc...aircon,tv,kettle,mini fridge with a selection of drinks and a nice little hamper with snacks in.
we went out into manchester that evening the hotel is approx 10-15 slow walk into the centre ,
our first night was to say a bit of a disaster my wife had booked a quiet room and this was far from quiet so much so she was ready to pack and check in somewhere else,this we didn't do and after speaking with reception our room is one of the quiet ones except if your a light sleeper you hear everything so that night ear plugs was the drill with a few glasses of wine resulted in a good nights sleep.
we couldnt sleep with the aircon on it was far to noisy .
we tried the restaurant for a meal advise to book it was full ,the food was absolute perfection staff warm and friendly.

overall very satisfied if your trying for a quiet getaway not this one but if you are a night owl and want a little bit of luxury instead of travel lodge highly recommend and dont let the location put you off,the hustle and bustle of canal street is quite entertaining by itself and you couldnt be in a safer part of manchester.

Room Tip: our room number was 26
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chrismassey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Despite trying many other venues we always go back to Velvet in Canal Street when we go to Manchester for a Girl's night out. Five of us started with happy hour cocktails then had two courses for £15:95 and "Happy Hour Wine" at under £10 per bottle - all this in the city centre and for such really good food.
I had (and can recommend) the duck salad and the Lamb rump nicoise but coveted my friend's pork with mustard mash. In fact, after many many visits to this lovely place I can find absolutely nothing to complain about and recommend it unreservedly to anyonone who enjoys good food and excellent service (they have the nicest staff too!)
We're planning our next trip already - even though it involves a 100 mile round trip to have dinner it's well worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank AVLWrenbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

You cannot fault this hotel. It is home from home as far as I'm concerned. Everything was perfect. Free wifi and a collection of DVDs at no cost. Will definitely be back again. Staff are so friendly and you feel so relaxed as soon as u arrive. Keep up the good work guys and girls. Xxxx

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mancismad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Everything about our stay at this hotel was wonderful from the very warm welcome to the decor. This place has been built to a high standard. It's obvious that they set out from the beginning to deliver a great experience for their guests. I'm not sure about the rooms at the front of the hotel, facing canal street, and whether or not they would be as quiet as the room we had at the back; all I can say is that Canal Street is a vibrant and active part of the city full of entertaining bars. Back to the hotel.... The staff were great, offering to make us a drink on arrival, and its rare to be shown to the room these days so that was a pleasant surprise. We didn't bother with breakfast so no comment on that, but my wife and I left this hotel smiling and agreeing that we love to stay there again. We couldn't find a single thing that we weren't happy with

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Francis W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

I booked the hotel over the internet because it sounded interesting and we weren't disappointed. On arrival we were offered an upgrade for 20 pounds to an apartment on the top floor. It was a very hot day but there was efficient air conditioning! And also a sloping glass ceiling through which we watched several powerful thunderstorms. Staff were very welcoming, taking us to our room and then bringing freshly made coffee and biscuits for afternoon tea. The sitting room and upstairs bedroom were very well appointed and comfortable, and the bedroom had an additional TV and bathroom.
We ate downstairs in the restaurant and staff there were also very friendly and efficient. Food was good.
The hotel is right in the middle of the gay area of the city, but my husband and I felt comfortable and safe.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tripleart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
655 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 120 in Manchester
1,347 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 120 in Manchester
1,318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,362 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velvet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velvet

Address: 2 Canal Street, Manchester M1 3HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#2 Business Hotel in Manchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#23 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $109 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Velvet 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chic Velvet Hotel on Canal Street opened in April 2009. It has 19 air-conditioned, decadent boudoirs with free Wi-Fi access and distinctive, modern designs. Velvet Manchester is well connected to Canal Street's Cafe Society. It is a premiere venue in which to eat and drink, relax or party, and has friendly, discreet service.The individual, stylish rooms have digital TV, an iPod docking station, Burt’s Bees toiletries and an in-room 'cocktail and canapé' packages, and more.Continental and full English breakfasts feature locally sourced ingredients and are served in the basement-level Velvet Restaurant (at an additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Velvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velvet Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing