We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Velvet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Velvet
Ranked #9 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I've spent many a drunken night on Manchester's Canal Street over the last 20 (or so) years, and whilst I've had many great times, it's not somewhere you'd immediately associate with "luxury"! When planning a birthday treat for my partner and myself, Velvet hotel kept appearing in the top search results, and with great dinner, bed and breakfast package details to be had (especially on a cold February Sunday!), we made our booking!

We were very pleasantly surprised with the hotel. Many "boutique" offerings are anything but, but Velvet Hotel was everything you would expect from the description. Check in was warm, friendly and efficient, and we were thrilled by our room which, despite overlooking Canal Street, was quiet, spacious and opulent. The bed was large and very comfortable, and the toiletries were of a very high quality. Wifi too was free, fast and reliable. The welcome offering of fresh milk and cookies was also very special. The room was a little chilly, but a call down to reception seemed to improve matters - with the offer of an additional radiator if we needed it. Additionally, when returning to our room after our birthday night out, it was lovely to find the bed turned down, and the lights dimmed ready for our sleep.

We ate in Velvet restaurant (as part of our package) and the recent refurbishment makes this perhaps the nicest place to eat on Canal Street - with attentive, friendly, service. If anything, the only minor criticism was the food which, though plentiful, was nothing special.

We slept well, and had breakfast in the restaurant - with a good selection of cereals and fruit, and a wide a la carte offering. Service however was surly (from the woman serving - who has been at Velvet for years, and who could really do with learning how to smile!) which slightly spoilt an otherwise pleasant morning.

Overall, an excellent experience which we'd have no hesitation in repeating or recommending to others.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lexy1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,186
    331
    89
    36
    35
See reviews for
51
1,032
87
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We enjoyed ourselves immensely at this hotel. The room was gorgeous, tastefully decorated, spacious, with double walk-in showers and a ceiling full of sky-lights running the length of the room that we could completely draw at night.

The staff was courteous and asked if we would like tea to be brought to the room, and unlike our experience at a 5 star hotel, they actually remembered to bring it. I made the mistake of somehow locking the safe in our room while trying to program it. The staff came promptly after our call, and helped us reset the combination.

We enjoyed the atmosphere and the friendly staff and recommend this boutique hotel whole-heartedly.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeeAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just stayed a night to celebrate anniversary and had a great time.

The room was really interesting, hard to describe really, everything from exposed brick walls through to massive gold framed mirror and a giant bed. Kind of gothic, country house chic.

Nice touches like welcome tray with fresh milk and cookies, good quality cafeteria coffee and quality toiletries. Completely different to usual chain hotels. Lovely comfy bed with gorgeous quality sheets and duvet...best nights sleep I've had in ages.

Room Tip: Stayed in a standard king room and was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank manchestercruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Really liked the look of the hotel and was enjoying everything until we went to the restaurant! Don't do it! Then went out and came back around 1am. The noise noise noise. Had to stay awake until 4am Ish when the music from the nearby club stopped. The room was shaking and thudding sound from the bass was unreal. It was like torture that had cost £130. Not nice. Wife was in tears and when asked the night manager to come in at 3.45am and listen he said I've not heard it like that before!!! Mmmmmm! Amazing that a hotel at this price haven't soundproofed the rooms to deal with it. Had to put the tv on to try and drown out the thudding sound. Really spoilt the night! Don't let it spoil yours and if you stay here make sure you are at the club and come in when it shuts or get very drunk so nothing can wake you. Last resort take good earplugs.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulraph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VelvetHotel, Owner at Velvet, responded to this review, March 1, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I’m sorry your stay wasn’t what you expected it to be.
We take the comfort of our guests seriously, obviously, and have taken many measures to keep external noise to a minimum. However we are a city centre hotel, not a country retreat, and as such, in a 24 hour city like Manchester, have to expect some city noise.
I’m also slightly confused at your extreme words as our Night Manager left a note for the morning staff of his visit to your room. He pointed out that once he had persuaded you to let him in so he could witness the ‘cacophony’, the only noise he experienced seemed to be coming from your TV. There are four other rooms on the same floor as yours and none of the other rooms mentioned a disturbed night.
Noise is such a personal matter and I can assure you we do get a lot of positive feedback from guests who have had a great night’s sleep in our comfy beds.
We do keep ear plugs at reception for light sleepers.
Regards
Mark Cain
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I stayed at Velvet on a business trip during the middle of February. It was a marvellous experience. Firstly, the staff could not have been more helpful and, for example, were more than happy for me to have a 'singles' dinner in the restaurant on Valentine's Day, making me feel very welcome. The food was exceptional - the best steak and chips ever. And the comfort of my room was amazing, including wonderful coffee.
So, I was able to get loads of work done, and feel very rested.
Just amazing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenMG2463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2013

I decided to book here as each room is unique, and a lit of hotel rooms can be quite cold and white. The decor was tasteful and the room size comfortable. Would wholly recommend this hotel to anyone who has thought about visiting a boutique hotel in Manchester.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alice_kenyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Really good location close to station. Room absolutely fab!!! Very cosy and that bit special if you know what I mean. Room very clean, all your needs catered for. Breakfast lovely and meal in restaurant fab. Staff very friendly what more could you ask for!!! Would definitely recommend to anyone wanting something extra special.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maxine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,674 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.8 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velvet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velvet

Property: Velvet
Address: 2 Canal Street, Manchester M1 3HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#2 Business Hotel in Manchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#23 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Velvet 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chic Velvet Hotel on Canal Street opened in April 2009. It has 19 air-conditioned, decadent boudoirs with free Wi-Fi access and distinctive, modern designs. Velvet Manchester is well connected to Canal Street's Cafe Society. It is a premiere venue in which to eat and drink, relax or party, and has friendly, discreet service.The individual, stylish rooms have digital TV, an iPod docking station, Burt’s Bees toiletries and an in-room 'cocktail and canapé' packages, and more.Continental and full English breakfasts feature locally sourced ingredients and are served in the basement-level Velvet Restaurant (at an additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Velvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velvet Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing