We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel and wonderful weekend break”
Review of Velvet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Velvet
Ranked #9 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Absolutely loved this hotel. The rooms are spotlessly clean and tastefully decorated. We received excellent service from the front desk, the restaurant and the bar.
The breakfast was beautifully cooked with quality ingredients.
We spent our first night in the cocktail bar which had a lovely atmosphere, good music and fantastic cocktails.
We loved Canel Street and found it to be friendly and trouble free.
The Arndale Centre is a 10-15 minute walk. The train station is less than a 5 minute walk away.
Definitely would recommend this hotel for a stylish weekend away.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahJA1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,792)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,264 - 1,270 of 1,792 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed two nights in Manchester and prefer boutique hotels rather than worldwide chain hotels. We weren't disappointed. The hotel is small but our room was realtively very spacious and interestingly decorated. The room and bathroom were very clean and I felt very "at home". The bed was super comfortable, the shower good and nice quality shampoo, conditioner and body lotion. We loved the complimentary "cuppa" on arrival. The hotel is a very comfortable walking distance from town ... and the sales were on. Need I say more?

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shokolata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Wow Velvet Hotel did not let me down in any way at all. It was pure heaven. Stayed in room 16, it's fab!! The bed is HUGE, you'd literally forget you were sharing the bed!! The chandeliers in the room, the brink walls, the fab curtains, the bed linen, the AMAZING pillows and mattress....fantastic! They turn down your sheets in the evening and when you come back there's chocs on the bed, fresh ice and fruit in the fridge! You get a welcome tray with biscuits, ice, fruit, fresh milk and top ups when ever you want, there's a sweet jar in the room...could go on and on!! Location excellent. Great bars on the street with hilarious drag shows! Worth a visit!! And finally the staff were sooooo nice!! And sorry, the brekkie...Delish!!! Cannot wait to return!!! Hopefully there's a deal soon as it is a lil pricey!!! Enjoy!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Fabulous location and beautiful stylish rooms. Stayed for one night with my girlfriend to celebrate my birthday, we had a lovely meal and couldn't fault the welcome, room or food but unfortunately upon checking bank balance the following day we found we had been charged twice!! The hotel put the whole amount plus £50 to cover our stay at check in then cancelled this at check out and put the amount owed through again. The bank didnt recognise this and both payments showed on the account Leaving my partner overdrawn. When we contacted the hotel we were told this has happened before with natwest and it was the banks fault, after several phone calls and 3 visits to the bank the money was eventually reimbursed, this unfortunately tainted a lovely stay. If we had been told there could be a problem we would have used another card, however I do think if this system has been problematic in the past the system needs revising.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellibean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VelvetHotel, Owner at Velvet, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2013

Dear Guest,
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
I would like to take the time to explain the pre-authorisation procedure again to yourself and any future guests.
Along with most hotels, we pre-authorise your card on check-in for the cost of your accomodation plus £50 for any extras you may choose to charge to your room during your stay, and we advise you of this when we ask you to chip and pin this transaction. This is exactly as it says, a pre-authorisation and not a sale. We do not receive this money and it does not leave your total balance, it just comes off your available funds. On check-out we complete the transaction and request your balance that is owed to us and the remainder will become accessible under the terms and conditions of your particular bank. There is nothing we can do to 're-imburse' this money to you as we have never had it. If guests need to confirm this with their bank it is important that they speak with someone who fully understands the pre-authorisation procedure as in our experience a lot of spurious information is given out by bank personnel.
I'm sorry that you felt this misunderstanding spoiled your stay and that all other aspects of our offering lived up to expectations.
Regards
Mark Cain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We wanted a well located,last minute hotel for 1 night in Manchester. We booked The Velvet Hotel and what a fantastic choice we made. We were greeted by the Louise,the Manager who then surprised us with a complimentary room upgrade which was excellent and made our stay even more enjoyable than we expected. We also ate in the Restaraunt which was beautiful too. Overall an amazing hotel and stay and the hospitality was second to none.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

I came here because of the great trip advisor reviews and was not disappointed. The service was relaxed and friendly. The room (14) was spacious and luxurious. Lots of little touches made my stay simple and stress free.

Canal street is packed with bars and clubs including G-A-Y, Queer, Eden and REM. China town is a short stone throw away and the Manchester Conference Centre is a 10 minute walk.

I paid £110 for a Wednesday night, bit steep for the area.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amitios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Had three nights at the Velvet just after Christmas. Great location, fantastic room and the attached bar and restaurant make the overall package a winner. The staff are incredibly helpful and really go out of their way to make you feel at home.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flashpacker1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 120 in Manchester
1,380 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,369 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.8 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 120 in Manchester
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velvet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velvet

Address: 2 Canal Street, Manchester M1 3HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#2 Business Hotel in Manchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#23 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $128 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Velvet 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chic Velvet Hotel on Canal Street opened in April 2009. It has 19 air-conditioned, decadent boudoirs with free Wi-Fi access and distinctive, modern designs. Velvet Manchester is well connected to Canal Street's Cafe Society. It is a premiere venue in which to eat and drink, relax or party, and has friendly, discreet service.The individual, stylish rooms have digital TV, an iPod docking station, Burt’s Bees toiletries and an in-room 'cocktail and canapé' packages, and more.Continental and full English breakfasts feature locally sourced ingredients and are served in the basement-level Velvet Restaurant (at an additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Velvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velvet Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing