We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!!!”
Review of Velvet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Velvet
Ranked #10 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Stunning!!!”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

One if the best hotels I've ever stayed at. Beautiful rooms. Couldn't hear next door which is always a bonus ;)

Would definitely stay again. Superb location too.

Didn't use the mini bar as I do find them expensive.

Only thing did annoy me slightly was taking an extra £50 off my card "in case" I used anything as it held it at bank for 5 days!! Think that's pretty standard tho now sadly

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,767 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,242
    356
    94
    39
    36
See reviews for
52
1,081
91
228
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our room, 16, was fantastic for a standard room - massive bed, ornate features, great bathroom, all the mod cons.
Great service, drinks on arrival, great supplies in the room.
Really impressed - seems really good value for what you get.
Would highly recommend this place.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Helen_Marie_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A top hotel with excellent facilities ranging from the selection in the mini bar and the selection on the TV. Most hotels just have the 5 main channels and a few radio stations but at Velvet had the fully freeview selection which was a refreshing change. The welcome basket was very nice and included fresh milk for tea and coffee as opposed to the usual UHT cartons you get in other Hotels. The full English breakfast was of the highest standards and very welcome after a night on the town. I will be staying here again and will recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
2 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Velvet hotel was amazing! The staff was extremely friendly and accomodating! The rooms were very unique and eclectic. It is located in a very quaint area and we absolutely loved it! We will definitely stay again if we are ever in the area!!

Room Tip: The penthouse was awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The Velvet Hotel is very stylish and the staff are great. We arrived after being stuck on a motorway for 7 hours, and the staff made my day asking me if I wanted a tea or coffee as soon as I arrived. The rooms are stylish and the restaurant had a great menu, my favourite cocktail was the glitter ball so Sex In The City. The little details were very good from the Velvet rubber duck to the moreish chocs on your pillow. I will be back and this time I will be taking a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bex160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

I stayed here on business in Manchester in July for one night, I must say I wasn't disappointed!

When I stayed it was on the recommendation of a colleague of mine - everything she said was true. The staff here are friendly, knowledgeable and just make the stay very comfortable.

The rooms are tastefully decorated, exposed beams, giant bed and all the little extras with some surprises!

I'd have no problems in recommending this place to anyone!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at this hotel last weekend for two nights and absolutely loved it. The staff could not have been more helpful and the room was amazing. Very funky with a huge ornate bed, spotlessly clean and full of great little touches. The bar was great and so was the restaurant. The position of the hotel was also ideal for getting around Manchester - would definitely recommend this beautiful place.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank LouiseS47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
615 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#5 of 118 in Manchester
1,290 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
4,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 118 in Manchester
1,343 reviews
0.8 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 118 in Manchester
1,291 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velvet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velvet

Property: Velvet
Address: 2 Canal Street, Manchester M1 3HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#2 Business Hotel in Manchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#23 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Velvet 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chic Velvet Hotel on Canal Street opened in April 2009. It has 19 air-conditioned, decadent boudoirs with free Wi-Fi access and distinctive, modern designs. Velvet Manchester is well connected to Canal Street's Cafe Society. It is a premiere venue in which to eat and drink, relax or party, and has friendly, discreet service.The individual, stylish rooms have digital TV, an iPod docking station, Burt’s Bees toiletries and an in-room 'cocktail and canapé' packages, and more.Continental and full English breakfasts feature locally sourced ingredients and are served in the basement-level Velvet Restaurant (at an additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Velvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velvet Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing