We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply the Best!!!”
Review of Velvet

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Velvet
Ranked #9 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed February 14, 2012

I can not rate the Velvet enough which is why I never stay in any other hotel in the North West and beyond, if I can help it and to date I have. The staff are wonderful and the care for detail goes beyond the exta mile. I would like to thank Mark for my introduction to the wonderful cocktails at the Velvet Bar. Loved the new Restaurant makeover...Ab Fab. There is always a sense of pleasant calm in this place which I love.

Room Tip: The Balcony King Rooms are wonderful!!!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LCAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,787)
There are newer reviews for Velvet
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,430 - 1,436 of 1,787 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2012

Top class small boutique hotel on Canal Street. Very helpful staff, great rooms, great location etc. It just has all the small extras which makes it a notch above the rest.

Might not be your cup of tea if you dont want any noise, but for a young couple it is perfect. Serve great food too.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turgoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

The location of this hotel is great if you want a night out on canal street and is walking distance to all other areas in the city. The staff were pleasant and helpful. We booked one of the suites. The room was quirky and spacious but the decor felt a little seedy. This is the overall impression the hotel left me with. I don't think this is a particularly upmarket hotel but I guess it's fun. We had a good time but wouldn't stay again, we prefer The Lowry.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dnanicetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VelvetHotel, Owner at Velvet, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2012

Dear Guest,
I'm glad the time you spent with us you enjoyed.
But we have never been called seedy in the 3 years we have been open!
Quirky, individual, cheeky in style and design, yes, but seedy, no, and I wouldn't want other guests to get that impression. At most some have thought some, but by no means all, decorations a little risque. I guess we won't appeal to all and some like a more conservative, generic hotel environment and that is fine.
But if potential guests want an independent hotel with character, give us a try.
Kind regards
Mark Cain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2012

Stayed at Velvet for work twice and both times loved it. The rooms are very comfortable and have the 'wow' factor upon being shown in. Beautifully and cleverly decorated. Is each one different - two out of two says yes. Friendly, welcoming and efficient staff. Great location and a well stocked mini bar! Looking froward to work taking me northwards again soon.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grimbo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

friendly reception, nice room (if a little dark) excellent bathroom with a bath the size of a swimming pool. Nice touches like the welcome tray with biscuits and fresh milk. The location is fantastic, only 2mins from Picadilly. Breakfast was good, I liked the vegetarian sausage option, which you dont see often. Room service was prompt and a nice varied menu, at reasonable prices. The only downside during my stay was the noise from the floor above. The walls were thick, but between floors was only floorboards so I could hear the guy above pacing around until 2am, and doing plenty of other things besides. As a result I hardly slept the 2 nights I was there. They really need to address this problem.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wineguru_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

Can't add much to the other comments. Superb boutique hotel with great staff.
Got great deal on midweek, which blew away any others.
Will return.

Room Tip: You may want to stay on the back of the hotel at weekends
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank valanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed at Velvet for 4 nights and liked the hotel very much.

Room #31 was roomy with nice skylight windows. The bathroom was huge compared to the most of the hotels I've stayed at. The complementary coffee and tea tray with fresh milk and biscuits was a nice touch.

While we were staying at the hotel, the restaurant was being refurbished so we had breakfast brought to our room every morning. The English and continental breakfast options were ok, as was the quality of food.

We loved the central location of the hotel, only a few minutes walk to Piccadilly train station and the city centre only a few blocks away.

The best part of our stay was the friendly and knowledgeable staff who were always happy to help. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tervol1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
661 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 120 in Manchester
1,359 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 120 in Manchester
5,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#5 of 120 in Manchester
1,362 reviews
0.8 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 120 in Manchester
1,324 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velvet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velvet

Address: 2 Canal Street, Manchester M1 3HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#2 Business Hotel in Manchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#23 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $112 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Velvet 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chic Velvet Hotel on Canal Street opened in April 2009. It has 19 air-conditioned, decadent boudoirs with free Wi-Fi access and distinctive, modern designs. Velvet Manchester is well connected to Canal Street's Cafe Society. It is a premiere venue in which to eat and drink, relax or party, and has friendly, discreet service.The individual, stylish rooms have digital TV, an iPod docking station, Burt’s Bees toiletries and an in-room 'cocktail and canapé' packages, and more.Continental and full English breakfasts feature locally sourced ingredients and are served in the basement-level Velvet Restaurant (at an additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Velvet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velvet Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing