We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A jewel among hotels”
Review of Velvet Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Velvet Hotel
Ranked #9 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 13, 2011

I have stayed at Velvet Hotel many times. Again, I booked a balcony king room (number 36 this time). At reception you are treated as a returning member of the family and past requests and preferences are always noted. I was given a wonderful glass of sparling wine when I began to settle into my room. Wonderful room with beautiful bed, light fightings and art work. The balcony is always an added bonus for viewing the street life down below and enjoying a glass of wine with friends. The bathroom was wonderful with three shower heads for one to choose from. Toiletries wonderful as well. I did not avail of the turndown serice this time as I took a rest in the early evening, but it is a valued touch for any resident at this jewel among hotels. I look forward to returning in two weeks for another stay in this home from home.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LCAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,814)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,538 - 1,544 of 1,814 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2011

From the moment we arrived to the time we left we felt utterly at home. We booked Velvet by chance for our Silver Wedding anniversary and could not have been looked after better. The attention to detail was exceptional and the attitude of staff was universally excellent. We were given the distinct impression that everyone cared about us as individuals and that nothing was too much to ask.

Our first night was the night of the Manchester riots - the owner, Mark had the good sense to elect to stay in the hotel himself overnight and to ensure everyone was safe. To be honest, we had a great time, as he insisted we stayed in the bar and we had an excellent night with the staff. The personal, caring attitude was very welcomed. Indeed, we didn't really feel we were staying in a hotel, but more being welcomed into a family.

Food was excellent (how on earth did I gain so much weight in two days?!!) Excellent breakfasts with top notch sausages and cooked in a fashion not to be swimming in grease. Morning staff remembered without prompting what we drank after just one morning. (Bar staff were the same.) Evening food was excellent - the fillet steak was superb and, unusually, so were the skinny, hot crispy chips!

Looking carefully at the place, it's patently obvious that someone has thought a great deal about the environment. The fitting out is just sumptious already and apparently they're going to refit the restaurant area in September.

While we were there, the "hotel inspector" was in and we're told the hotel has gone from 4*bronze to 4*silver. Not surprised.

In a nutshell - great hotel, great food, great people.

Thanks to Mark and his staff for making our stay so exceptionally good. And it felt like a bargain.

Cheers!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hessle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I cannot speak highly enough about this hotel. I have stayed in many hotels but I would rate this as one of the best. The room was beautifully decorated, spacious and clean. The service was first class, very friendly and made us feel extremely welcome. Loved the complimentary tea/coffee on arrival as well as the chocolates on the piilow before we went to bed. Great central location for shopping, restaurants and nightlife. Would go back again tomorrow. Thank you so much. Loved it, loved it, loved it!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScarlettRebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Lovely Room, interesting wall paper ;) - we had a Balcony Room No 36, overlooking the canal. Offered tea and coffee on arrival which was a nice touch. Very clean, rooms and bathrooms - excellent stay thanks - Staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: One Tip - very ornate bed - which can get your shins as you walk past - if you dont watch outur tips...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coupec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

like REN toiletries in the bathroom, sachets of ground coffee and a cafetiere and a wide choice of tea on the tea tray (incl both Yorkshire tea and English Breakfast), biscuits in a jar and turning the bed down at night and leaving chocolates on the pillow.

And an really nice range of well executed breakfast dishes - the scrambled eggs and smoked salmon was wonderful :)

All the staff seemed friendly and happy and the location is in the lively gay quarter a few minutes from the shops and Piccadilly Station

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank techie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

Beautiful, unique room with lots of space. Loved the high ceilings! Great service and good location.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DecaturTraveler_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

My husband booked this hotel for our trip to Manchester last weekend to celebrate my birthday and it was definitely the right choice. It is in a great location facing the canal, just a 2 minute walk from the train station and about 10 minutes to shopping... The decor in the bedroom was stunning from the vintage style bed and furniture to the gorgeous chandeliers. We stayed in a balcony king room facing Canal Street so it was lovely to sit outside and see/hear the hustle and bustle from the neighbouring bars.

Now, I never complain about anything and I am a very frequent traveller having stayed in many 4 and 5 star hotels both in the UK and abroad but we did find the lady at reception to be a tad rude. Bearing in mind we'd been on a 3 hour train journey to get there and we have never visited Manchester before, we were hoping for a slightly friendlier greeting. We were a tad dismayed by this as it wasn't the best first impression; we barely got a 'hello' and she couldn't even manage a smile let alone any chit-chat. We were a couple of hours early, for which we apologised and we totally understood that our room would not be ready (we were not expecting it to be ready, we just thought we could leave our bags and explore the city whilst we waited). She barely spoke to us and didn't even offer us a map or any suggestions as to where we could or should go in the vicinity. Naturally, we found our own way into town with the help of iPhone Maps(!), but it would've just been a bit nicer to have a warmer welcoming.

Having said that, upon our return to the hotel to check-in later, there was a wonderful and extremely helpful young gentleman who escorted us to our beautiful room. I really must give him credit because had it not been for him, we would not have been too impressed with the staff. He even brought up 2 large glasses of sparkling wine for us, which I thought was a lovely touch as we were about to start getting ready for our evening out.

All in all a great experience but a little more friendliness at reception wouldn't go amiss.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rockstar1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#5 of 120 in Manchester
1,463 reviews
0.4 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
737 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#38 of 120 in Manchester
2,625 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.8 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 120 in Manchester
1,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Velvet Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Velvet Hotel

Address: 2 Canal Street, Manchester M1 3HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Manchester
#2 Business Hotel in Manchester
#5 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#8 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $101 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Velvet Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The chic Velvet Hotel on Canal Street opened in April 2009. It has 19 air-conditioned, decadent boudoirs with free Wi-Fi access and distinctive, modern designs. Velvet Manchester is well connected to Canal Street's Cafe Society. It is a premiere venue in which to eat and drink, relax or party, and has friendly, discreet service.The individual, stylish rooms have digital TV, an iPod docking station, Burt’s Bees toiletries and an in-room 'cocktail and canapé' packages, and more.Continental and full English breakfasts feature locally sourced ingredients and are served in the basement-level Velvet Restaurant (at an additional cost). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Velvet Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Velvet Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing