We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Sunday roast in a chilled relaxed atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Deaf Institute

The Deaf Institute
Ranked #274 of 2,184 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Drinks, Late Night, Buffet, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious Sunday roast in a chilled relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

Read the reviews on Trip advisor and headed over with high expectations. Much smaller and not so atmospheric as its parent in the Northern quarter but service and food quality did not disappoint the pork and crackling melted in the mouth and the roast beef was lean and tasty, gorgeous!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    45
    8
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great food & great atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We stopped by here for some food before a gig upstairs and were rather nicely surprised. Yes, it's not MacDonald's prices but I though the food was excellent. I had the Trof Dog and my other half had the chilli burger. Both were really generous portions with lots of amazing fries. I had a sticky toffee pudding for dessert which was delicious and free, as it had taken a little while to arrive. We both thought the table service was great, the staff attentive and friendly without being overbearing. It was a really busy night but we did not feel like we were left waiting for anything (apart from the dessert, which I wasn't bothered about having to wait for anyway!) Will definitely be going back again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JennieRen22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Runcorn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great brekkies”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2014

Went to the theatre with the family, stayed over and needed that kick-start you can only get form the full English, A big brekkie was about £10...a bit over priced but was just what I needed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank phill b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
486 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 290 helpful votes
“Well cooked local sourced food and a range of specials, pricey tho”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Had the world-class trof burger advertised as local ingredients (cheshire aged beef, cheshire cheese and fresh bread). The burger was amazing, the bun the best and the fries yummy. Good value. Great atmosphere and fab beer choice.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jh6056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
500 reviews
287 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Overpriced pub-style grub in a noisy venue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

I had lunch here very recently, the rather grandly named Royal vegetarian breakfast, and rather grandly priced for what it was for a tenner. It was OK but way overpriced for what it was, basically pub grub (nice idea to put some other veggies with the mushrooms though). My friends mainly chose some form of burger with chips (are you getting the idea?) and to be honest the chips looked absolutely dire, and were commented on as such. They sell a whole shed load of silly named and priced beers here if that's your thing. But the whole place was just far too noisy for lunch for me, and the food prices are as cranked up as the music, perhaps in an effort to impress upon you what a really cool and hip joint this is for lunch, not.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nimitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Deaf Institute also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Deaf Institute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing