We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, reasonably priced, good menu”

The Northern Quarter Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #47 of 2,261 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $44
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Shudehill Tram and Bus, Picadilly Gardens, Picadilly Train Station
Kirton in Lindsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great service, reasonably priced, good menu”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Good friendly efficient service. Well put together menu with good choice of meat, fish and veggie. Minor gripe- would have preferred a lighter option on the dessert menu, although what we had was lovely - just too rich with 3 courses. Good choice of wines. All the dishes were tasty and well presented. Lovely overlooking the old market frontage and lively area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveLuxury2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

728 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    371
    233
    79
    27
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Uniquely impressed”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

MY first review....I walked past this place twice and in chose based upon 'wanting somewhere nice and chilled' to eat. What a gem. The food is stunning...brilliantly seasoned and so light and tender on the palate...the wine is such a brilliant compliment - it is not a case of let's have lots and lots...

Go...............

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Damian A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We had the three courses plus unlimited wine offer which is valid on a Thursday evening, you need to book a table in advance. All the food was excellent, we were happy to pay a £2 supplement, for cheese, taking our bill to £30 each. Service was superb and the waiter was very friendly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great service!”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

Really enjoyed our food here, my steak was slightly too rare but everything else was fine!
Biscotti with the creme brulee was unecessary but if that's all I have to complain about it's pretty good really! Scottish waiter lovely, really great. We were sat by the door though which was a bit annoying but not a huge issue as I've said. Overall, recommended :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick UK
Level Contributor
108 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Ambience, service and food a delight.”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Especially if you book for the Monday and Thursday offer - three courses AND wine for £25 per head - and all just as it would be off a la carte.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank PT167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Northern Quarter Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to The Northern Quarter Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing