We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hen-tastic!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Light ApartHotel
Certificate of Excellence
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hen-tastic!!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

I booked the Glitz hen package for a group of 17 travelling up from London to Manchester for the weekend. The package included one 10 person penthouse and then other luxury apartments. On the week of arrival I was contacted by the hotel to be informed of how our group would be split. I informed the hen group of accommodation arrangements only to find when we were checking in that this had been changed again; our 10 person penthouse had been split into a 6 and 4. I was a bit disappointed that I had not been informed of this before we arrived at the check in desk, especially as communication to this point had been fantastic. Every time I phoned the hotel to check details everyone I spoke to was so helpful. This is probably the only small disappointment of the stay.

The apartments were well decorated and clean and airy. The base penthouse had been decorated with hen banners and balloons and this was a really nice touch as the group arrived together and we had no time to pre decorate before the bride to be arrived. We were provided with wine as part of our hen package and also complimentary sparkling wine was included. Again, it's things like these and the l'occitane gift bags we were all provided with which all add to the stay.

The apartment is very centrally located with a Tesco express just next door and also cafés nearby for late breakfast/lunch.

I would definitely return to Manchester and definitely recommend the Light to a group who are looking for good value, well located, good standard of apartments. Thanks again to all of the staff at The Light who I spoke to in the run up to our stay.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simone W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Hi Simone

Thank you for your lovely review of the ApartHotel via Tripadvisor, we were really pleased to see that all the girls enjoyed a fabulous weekend.

We have tried to contact you regarding the complimentary upgrade to 2 Penthouses rather than 1, but have been unable to get hold of you. We hope that this surprise would have added extra comfort to the special occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Light in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    206
    103
    52
    32
See reviews for
109
208
28
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Came here as a group of 18 for a Hen weekend. From all accounts everyone seemed to be really happy with the apartments we were given.

The one I stayed in in particular was on the 14th floor so we had a great view. Decor was really modern & the apartment itself was spotlessly clean. Came with great amenities such as washer/dryer, ironing board, safe in the bedroom etc.

Reception had a drinks area which we loved. You could help yourself to tea, coffee, hot chocolate or juice as well as yogurts too-a godsend coming home from a night out or even the morning after.

Apartments themselves are in a fab location-we walked to the train station home, about a 10min walk & we were close to the shops too.

Would definitely stay again & recommend to others. A great time was had by all.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Mairead F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for placing your feedback through TripAdvisor.

It was a pleasure to read your comments and we are so glad that the hen weekend was everything you wanted it to be.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I booked an apartment through Expedia, which had been cancelled... I got moved to the Light... Wow! As you walk through the door it oozes class, it's like walking in to a boutique hotel... I explained to Stephen who checked me in that it was my best friends 30th birthday and we were having some friends over before we went out and was it ok for me to decorate the apartment... He mentioned that there might be chance of an upgrade as they'd had a cancellation... But I had to wait for half an hour... I went to the apartment, which was lovely and waited... I received a phone call after a short wait telling me we had been upgraded to the penthouse!!! We were over the moon, this made our stay extra special... The original 2 bed apartment was fantastic, en suite to the master bedroom and a huge main bathroom... The living space was great and it even had a balcony. The penthouse was incredible, floor to ceiling windows 2 good sized bedrooms, MASSIVE living space, which was great for drinks before we went out, it has everything you could ask for, even a coffee machine with real coffee beans! I would like to say a huge thank you to Stephen, thanks to him we had an amazing night... And I will certainly be re-booking in the future, although this time it will be direct with the hotel... I have stayed in many hotels and apartments around the globe and the light is definitely up there in my top five!!! Thank you so so much I look forward to coming back in the near future.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Jen

Thank you for your amazing review of the Aparthotel.

We were so pleased to read your comments, when we heard how your online booking company had messed you around with your original booking in another property and had out booked you, we just wanted to ensure that your evening with us was the best it could be and to make sure your friend had a fantastic birthday.

Once again thank you for the glowing review and we hope to see you again very soon.

Take Care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2014

I found the Light Aparthotel for my best friends Hen Party & spoke to Nicola on a regular basis regarding details for our booking. Nicola was absolutely fantastic & she really could not do enough for us to ensure our stay was perfect.

When we arrived Nicola surprised us & informed us that she had managed to upgrade our apartment to a Penthouse suite, complete with roof terrace. We couldn't actually believe it when she showed us into the room. It was AMAZING!!!

We really cannot thank the Light Aparthotel enough for everything that they did for us because we really did have the time of our lives.

All of the staff were extremely professional, friendly & helpful...They could not do enough for us.

We wil definitely will be returning to the hotel & will continue to spread the word about just how brilliant they are.

Room Tip: I can't imagine that it would be possible to get a bad room to be honest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2014
Dear Jen

Thank you for your feedback and kind comments, which we will make sure Nicola see's.

She was so excited for your arrival, to be able to give you the news after working so closely with you on your arrangements for the weekend and we are so pleased your weekend was everything you wanted it to be.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and we hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2014

What might be your reason for staying here? Relatively inexpensive, city centre location, simple, no faff apart-hotel. In that respect it ticks the boxes. Otherwise, it is missing a few finishing touches, at least Studio 5 was, but it's comfortable, pretty quiet and had what we needed (iron, hair dryer, kitchen, er, washing machine, are all present and correct, no bath), even if the room shape is a bit odd. Parking next door for £15 seemed a bit steep,

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dogwipebeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

We were pleased to read that the Aparthotel met your expectations and that you felt it chic.
We always aim to meet standards and finishing touches, so if there is any further feedback you wish to provide, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Thanks once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Couldn't ask for anything more. Maybe just real milk instead of uht in rooms but that's just picky! Lovely toiletries. Comfiest bed I've ever slept in! Very helpful and friendly staff. Brilliant location and plenty of shops for food
close by.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Hi Emma

Thank you for your review.

We were thrilled to read that you not only enjoyed the location but the Aparthotel and team here too.

For your next stay, bear in mind we have fresh milk at reception as part of our complimentary Monday to Friday grab and go breakfast offering, so help yourself.

Thanks again and hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Ive stayed in a few apartments on business to Manchester and the Light was definately to my taste! It was centrally located for bars and restaurants and the room itself was modern, clean and comfortable. I had a 2 bed, 2 bath but the only reason I havent marked as excellent as if there was 4 people staying here the living area would be a bit of a squeeze, sofa only really seats 2-3 but dont let you put that off! The area is pretty lively and no fault of the apartments but the neighbours were a bit noisey which did wake me up.

The reception area is stunning, would recommend and return if I was with friends as opposed to a business trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Gemma

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Tripadvisor and for saying that it was to your taste and that you would return to stay with us again.

Reception are on hand 24 hours a day should you need anything and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,330 reviews
0.3 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
587 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#6 of 116 in Manchester
1,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4,879 reviews
0.7 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 116 in Manchester
1,281 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Light ApartHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Light ApartHotel

Property: The Light ApartHotel
Address: Pall Mall House 20 Church Street, Manchester M4 1PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Light ApartHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Light ApartHotel is the first true ApartHotel in Manchester, occupying a prime city centre location on the fringe of the Trendy Northern Quarter. Our guests enjoy the flexibility of serviced apartment living with hotel-style accommodation, appealing to both the business and leisure traveller, The Light ApartHotel consists of 60 fully equipped and beautifully furnished studios, one and two bedroom apartments and a range of penthouse suites. The Light ApartHotel is a true alternative to top-end hotels and gives flexibility for families whose kids aren't quite independent, but too old to share a room. Once you've tried it, we know you'll come back for more." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your The Light ApartHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Light Boutique Apart Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing