We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Light ApartHotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed here with my girlfriends for a night out in Manchester. The rooms are huge & have incredible views over Manchester City centre. The location of the apartments is fantastic with a tesco just downstairs next door which is great for stocking up on supplies. The rooms have everything you could need & are very clean & tidy. The beds are comfortable although a little small for two sharing but that didn't put us off. The rooms are great & I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleSweetpea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback.
It was an absolute pleasure to read and we are thrilled your stay was so well received.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, hopefully.

Take Care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (927)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

536 - 542 of 927 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2014

Supposed to be 4 star accommodation but more like 2/3. At first glance the 2 bed apartment looked good, spacious and well equipped but the fitments were of poor quality and starting to become tired. The beds however were excellent very comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Grahame W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Grahame

Thank you for your comments via TripAdvisor.

I have emailed you separately to ascertain the issues you had with your apartment and attempt resolution.
Thank you for the feedback on the beds and apartment size also.

Speak soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with 18 of my friends for New Year's Eve. We stayed for 2 nights which we got a really good price on.

There was 4 in a room and 5 in ours which we had a camp bed( was very small and thin and not good if your a big fella sleeping on it)
The rooms are basic it's a very modern apartment with one on suite to one of the rooms, big kitchen an dining area with balcony.

We had a few others meet us and wasn't staying at our hot but was allowed to walk straight in to our room which was a good thing for is. Also had a hairdresser walk straight in with reception not asking questions.

I would defiantly stay here again in a perfect location right near print works and back of arndale.

Reception very friendly and polite

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Louise C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Hi Louise,

Thank you for your feedback and we were thrilled to read that you had such a good time.
I have passed your comments on to our Housekeeping Manager in relation to the extra bed, to see if we can improve on that.
I was also pleased to read that our flexibility impressed you, prior notification and arrangements as you did just aid us to be able to meet your needs.

Thank you again and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the light aparthotel. It is in a great location in Manchester & our 2 bedroom suite was lovely. The decor was very modern. I Would definatly recommend the lighthouse apartment as a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cedmnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

It was a pleasure to read your comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed for a week. Everything was clean and felt very homely. It is definitely worth paying that little bit extra for a room with a balcony. The gym was an added bonus, good basic cardio machines and a decent free weights and kettle bell area.
Only quibbles would be that as a business stayer the table could be a bit bigger so I could work in comfort. The kitchen needs more than one knife for preparing food and having some basics in there such as salt, pepper, oil, tinfoil etc would also be a huge help. I felt a little bit annoyed that I needed to buy these for a 5 day stay. Sort out the little things and it would have been perfect

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charleysumnall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear Charley,

Thank you for taking the time to review the property and your stay with us.

We were pleased to read that you liked the layout of the apartment and that it felt homely but i am sorry that the dining table size was not to your liking.
If table size is important to you, try one of executive or penthouse apartments as these increased sized layouts allow for the bigger table.
I apologize also about the knife situation, i shall follow this up with our housekeeping team but reception are on hand 24 hours a day if you ever require any further or additional kitchen items.
Unfortunately due to health and safety we can not leave items such as tin foil, oil etc in the apartments for continuous guest use as this breaks hygiene practices and so on.

Thank you for reviewing the fitness facilities too and we hope to welcome you back to The Light soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

A rather brilliant first stay at the light . I will be back soon . Particularly good front of house service, friendly staff . Easy access to parking and other Central Manchester facilities . All in all a super Monday night stay .

Room Tip: Look online if mid week for the best choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear Christopher,

What an absolute delight it was to read your review and that your birthday trip was everything you wanted it to be and thank you so much for your praise of the team too.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2014

Very nice spacious apartments in a fantastic location. Close to plenty of shops and bars. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Staff friendly. We had to check out quite early which was a shame and late checkout was not an option due to a busy weekend. Despite this the only real disappointment was not being able to stay any longer!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karl K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear Karl

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that the apartments were to your liking.
We always try to accommodate where possible a late check out request past our 11am checkout time but sometimes due to busy demands, this isn't possible.
Thank you also for your kind words about the team, to which i shall forward on.

We hope to see you back at The Light soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Velvet Hotel
#9 of 120 in Manchester
1,814 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,461 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
737 reviews
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.4 mi away
Staycity Aparthotels Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Light ApartHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Light ApartHotel

Address: Pall Mall House 20 Church Street, Manchester M4 1PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Manchester
Price Range: $102 - $470 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Light ApartHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Light ApartHotel is the first true ApartHotel in Manchester, occupying a prime city centre location on the fringe of the Trendy Northern Quarter. Our guests enjoy the flexibility of serviced apartment living with hotel-style accommodation, appealing to both the business and leisure traveller, The Light ApartHotel consists of 60 fully equipped and beautifully furnished studios, one and two bedroom apartments and a range of penthouse suites. The Light ApartHotel is a true alternative to top-end hotels and gives flexibility for families whose kids aren't quite independent, but too old to share a room. Once you've tried it, we know you'll come back for more." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Light ApartHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Light Boutique Apart Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing