We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will definitely come back!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Light ApartHotel
Certificate of Excellence
Hanoi, Vietnam
1 review
“Will definitely come back!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

The room and facilities are absolutely excellent. I stayed for 1 night with my boyfriend in a 2 double bedroom apartment and it cost me only 95 pounds. Check in was good but the receptionist didn't seem really friendly and welcome. Right at city center, 500m from Picadilly station, bus stop some steps away, shopping centers a just a corner away, all three metrolink lines nearby.. Tesco and M&S Food are around the corner, so I went down and bought all the things I need for a delicious self cook dinner. Perfect for staying in Manchester. Will definitely come back!

Room Tip: Book well in advance to get a good price
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HangNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for your positive review here on Tripadvisor.

I was delighted to read that your stay was so ideal for your needs.
We always endeavor to ensure our guests have the best possible stay and am glad this was such on this occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    202
    99
    51
    32
See reviews for
108
199
27
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barnoldswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

Me and my Mum stayed here Wednesday 20th November for 1 night. On arrival we were greeted by very friendly reception staff who were so genuine and polite. When we entered our apartment ... OH MY WORD, it was incredible. I think we may have been upgraded as we were expecting to stay in a one bedroom apartment. The apartment was huge, very clean and homely. We both wished we had come for longer than just one night. We paid an extra £10 for city views, which i would definitely recommend. And at a bargain price of £98 for the night it definitely exceeded our expectations. I would definitely come again, it is so close to the city centre. On Thursday as we were leaving for a full day of Christmas shopping, we asked the man on reception if there was anywhere we could leave our bags until we travelled home later that day, He very kindly stored our luggage away for us, free of charge, Great service, as it saved a lot of stress and pain carting bags around the shops with us, This young man was very helpful, unfortunately we didn't catch his name but he was definitely worth a mention, Overall, fantastic night away for me and my mum after a relaxing spa day in the city. Cannot wait to come again :) thank you!!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Dear Rachel

Thank you for your review and for the 5 stars.
We were thrilled to read that you and your mum enjoyed yourselves so much, we continue to strive to be the best we can be and work hard in all departments to make this happen.

We cant wait to welcome you back and hopefully for more than one night next time.

Once again thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

Stayed here several times now, and its now under new management that have attempted to refurbish rooms but paid more attention to the reception.

Check in was good, very friendly and welcoming.

When looking at the pictures on the website it appears that the apartments have had a total refresh, but the apartment we got needed allot of work, not just some wallpaper. On previous stays here the welcome hamper was such a great addition, now thats gone and replaced with an insult - Free bottled water!

The bathroom probably had more cracked floor tiles than full 1s, when walking on them you can feel them move and at 1 point I could lift 1 piece of 1 out - health & safety if someone cuts their foot? Most of the tiles no longer had grout and if they did it was dirty and discoloured.

Good views from the living area, though the windows could do with a good clean.

On the Friday night there was quite a bit of noise from neighbouring apartments and people in & out of the lift which was directly opposite the bedroom of the apartment. The room keycard wouldn't work on the second day so after getting to the 13th floor we had to go back down to come back up again which was annoying.

If you don't like to sleep in after 9am then stay here, the cleaners will wake you up. The cleaner which was obviously a male was hoovering the apartment next door banging the hoover around off the walls/furniture - which probably explains why the table in the living area was all chipped and battered!

It's ideal for the Arndale and The Printworks, though now it seems to be attracting more stag/hen parties than anything.

Overall; I think the apartments need some minor repair work doing to them and to reflect the name 'boutique' the furniture in the apartments could be changed to match the style of the reception area.
I would definitely stay again but the prices don't reflect the quality of rooms. The reception looks a 4* boutique but the rooms don't.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_guest1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
The team here has now been with us here just shy of 2 years, were we have been conducting a gradual refurbishment of the property.
This is still ongoing and i will ensure that the issues you raised are given priority in fixing.
I am sorry that you experienced a few noise issues and a key card problem whilst you were here, reception are on hand 24 hours a day and are always willing to help.
Our client base is diverse as is the same with any hotel or Aparthotel, these will include groups of people celebrating an occasion but is certainly not the only base for our business.
After doing an extensive feedback exercise with our guests and taking into consideration wastage and our city center location with Tesco situated right next door, the consensus was that the breakfast items was not what our guests were looking for but if you did still wish to have the items supplied by us these can be booked and arranged as an upgrade hamper prior to arrival.
I was pleased to read however that you felt the team here friendly and that you would stay with us again on your next visit to Manchester and we look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

Paid nearly £250 for an apartment arrived at 6pm ish even though the apartment is supposed to be ready for you any time after 3pm but yet when we arrived we had to wait for our room because I member of staff was in there fixing a light bulb.... Surely this should of been done before 3pm? The toilet roll was on the roll practically at the end, the remote for the tv didn't work, the shower head was broken and squirting water out from where it attaches to the shower head, but the biggest problem of all was that there was only 1 mirror in the whole apartment, which meant 3 girls getting ready in one bathroom which we thought was absolutely ridiculous so I would no recommend anybody to stay here if you are planning a night out in manchester unless u have enough money to pay for an executive apartment which we were told had more than one mirror because of the mirror problems which resulted in 3 girls getting ready in the bathroom there was no access to plugs which meant we had to ring reception.. Tried to ring off the apartment phone, this was also not working so we had to ring reception on our mobiles to get an extension lead. Would definatley not stay here again it's not worth the money like I said unless you can afford the prices of the executive apartments.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucyrebeccabuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your review.
I was sorry that you felt disappointed that you had to wait a few minutes for your apartment on your arrival at around 18:00
As explained, as you were a late arrival we went to your reserved apartment to turn on the heating and lights to make a cosy arrival, on switching on the bedroom light, the bulb blew so the team member from reception changed the bulb. In this time you arrived but we merely didn't want you to be disappointed that it was not working on arrival and was trying to provide the best customer service we could.
I have taken on board your comment re the mirrors and this can be addressed if it causes such distress to our guests to avoid future problems but please do speak to the 24 hour reception as I am sure some resolution could have been found.
Spare toilet rolls are left on the vanity shelf in the apartment for guest use if needed and maintenance has resolved the leaking shower hose.

Once again, we are sorry to have caused distress on arrival but I hope what has been re iterated above goes someway towards your opinion of us.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed the weekend just past. We where there 2 nights! The reception area is very nice and modern! When we arrived the man at reception said check in time was at 3 but it was only 1, he said he would try get us into our room and he did. He also told us that we had been upgraded to a 2 bedroom apartment instead of 1 bedroom so meant there was more room! So we where very happy about this. Inside the apartment is beautiful! A lot of room and really comfortable. Everything about the apartment was great! Arndale is literally 1 minute away! So central but was still quiet at night which was good for when we where trying to get to sleep! Piccadilly gardens is few minutes walk so meant we where able to get trams and buses very quickly which was handy! I would definitely recommend the light! And I myself will definitely be back! :)

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chloethompson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for your review and for taking the time to do so.
We were thrilled to read your feedback and so delighted that your stay was so memorable.
We hope to be able to have you back in Manchester and staying with again soon

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2013

I havent wrote a trip advisor review for a while - but after staying here on Saturday 2nd November I just had to dig out my login details to tell everyone about it!!
On arrival the staff were extremely warm and welcoming, its always good to see a genuine smile as you burst through the door from a wet and rainy Manchester!
The apartment - wow!!! Beautiful! It was clean and modern, with excellent views from the balcony (we stayed in suite 65 on the 10th floor). It had everything you could want - indulgent verbena spa toiletries and fluffy bath towels. Oh and the shower - perfection.
Absolutely cannot wait to go back, this was booked as a treat for my best friend - who has never stayed in a hotel before. The Light has definitely set the highest of standard for anywhere else she may stay in future, although I know where her first choice will be :)
Thank you!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Higher floors for the views!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank page1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review on Tripadvisor
It was truly a pleasure to read and we were so happy that you and your friend enjoyed your stay so much.
We too can not wait to welcome you back for your next stay in Manchester.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caithness
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We were lucky enough to stay here for two nights when going to watch a show at the phones4u arena. I had been emailing the hotel and was very grateful for all their help prior to arriving. On arrival we were greeted with very friendly staff and a reception area that had a big wow factor. The reception staff were very friendly and knew the surrounding area very well which was helpful. We were fortunate enough to have the penthouse suite for two nights which was absolutely stunning. Amazing views from the apartment and ultimate indulgent luxury throughout. The hotel is very secure and the rooms are quite sound proof. The beds are mega comfy and the furnishings are of a very high standard. You can see why there was a photoshoot with a major BBC star going on in the room next door to us. The hotel is kept very clean and has a prime location opposite the arndale centre and very close to the printworks, phones4u arena and you could see the emirates stadium from our room. The surrounding area of the northern quarter/deansgate are cool areas with some lovely bars and restaurants. When mentioning the hotel to residents of Manchester they all explained it has a good reputation for quality.

The hotel truly helped make our weekend unforgettable!

I have to also say that although all the staff were exceptional the Manager, Lynda Kaur, went above and beyond to help us out. She was friendly, insightful and incredibly professional. A true gem and real asset to the hotel.

Adam shone

Room Tip: Penthouse suite 100 is truly breathtaking
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mre1053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
Dear Adam

Thank you so much for this outstanding review.

It truly was a pleasure to have you and your friends stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.
I will also pass on your special thanks to Lynda .

Take care and see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,302 reviews
0.3 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.3 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Light ApartHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Light ApartHotel

Property: The Light ApartHotel
Address: Pall Mall House 20 Church Street, Manchester M4 1PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Light ApartHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Light ApartHotel is the first true ApartHotel in Manchester, occupying a prime city centre location on the fringe of the Trendy Northern Quarter. Our guests enjoy the flexibility of serviced apartment living with hotel-style accommodation, appealing to both the business and leisure traveller, The Light ApartHotel consists of 60 fully equipped and beautifully furnished studios, one and two bedroom apartments and a range of penthouse suites. The Light ApartHotel is a true alternative to top-end hotels and gives flexibility for families whose kids aren't quite independent, but too old to share a room. Once you've tried it, we know you'll come back for more." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Light ApartHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Light Boutique Apart Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing