We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Light ApartHotel
Nearby Hotels
$87
$72
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$85
$71
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$111
$100
Hilton
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$87
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$212
$197
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$138
$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$107
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Midland(Manchester)
$130
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$105
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (929)
Filter reviews
929 results
Traveler rating
505
223
109
52
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
505
223
109
52
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousebed apartmenthot tubtesco express next doortesco metronorthern quarterwashing machinehen partyon arrivalgreat apartmentliving areathese apartmentsarndale centredining tablecar parkcomplimentary upgradefloor to ceiling windows
Filter
Updating list...
579 - 584 of 929 reviews
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night and have to say that this apartment is in a first class location in the centre of Manchester. The apartment we were given was on the 7th floor away from the main road so reasonably quiet and although clean and spacious it lacked something - windows!!
The lounge /kitchen area had a large patio window leading onto a small balcony and that was it - no windows in either of the 2 very small bedrooms or bathroom which gave the apartment a slightly claustrophobic feel. The apartment was very clean but not that comfortable and the reception staff were lacking in any sort of organisation. There are only two lifts for 19 floors of apratments so you need to be patient. We believe there is parking on site but we parked in the car park across the road - £15 for 24 hours. Would we stay here again - probably not as we like to be able to see out of our bedroom which here you cannot!!

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment away from the main road and preferably with windows in the bedroom!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidaysabroad100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
Being once a textile warehouse and converted in 2009, many apartments are variable to the other.

Please do speak to reception when you stay again as requests are always aimed to be met.

Thank you though for the overall positive review and we hope to welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is a nice place to stay in central Manchester. Reception staff on initial arrival were very friendly, offering to take care of my bags and call when the room was ready. When I returned the service was less friendly, though this was not a problem.

My apartment was big, clean and well appointed. I heard very little noise from the street or from inside the hotel. The price was very good, booked in advance through a third party, maybe £10 more expensive than a simple downtown hotel.

A couple few gripes: one of the (two) lifts was out-of-order, which on a block of this size is not ideal. The common landing areas are not particularly pretty; purple plastic floors v's the much nicer receiption area. I would also note that the description of the room stated there was a TV in the bedroom (there wasn't) and that it had city views (not really sure the buildings across the street counts as a city view).

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnRPearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear John

Thank you for your comments and kind words for the aparthotel.

Being in the center of Manchester, some rooms on the lower floors have a more limited view than those higher up but when you stay again please add this request to your reservation and we will endeavor to meet it.
I have also noted your other comments for the maintenance team but i thank you for your overall positive review and 4 stars given.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

After meeting lots of friends here, we were staying in room 107 19th floor..penthouse! All seemed ok till we asked for late checkout.. paying £55 for an extra two hours not too bad between a few of us.. although when talking to are neighbours 'who went to the same event as us the night before..very friendly people' they had paid £55 for an extra 4 hours. On ringing the reception to find out if we could extend we were very rudely told no.. not understanding how we paid for the same amount for less time the reception girl bluntly told us we should not of been speaking to our neighbours anyway! We would of understood if someone else was waiting for the room but this was not the case.... overall very nice place... shame about the one rule for one and another rule for another.. no explanation an very rude!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jess89p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
I apologize for the confusion in relation to the late check out fee.
The amount you were charged for your late check out fee was correct, there was some mitigating circumstances that led your neighbour to have an extended length of time, to which i cant go into detail with but again apologies for this not being explained correctly.
Thank you however for the 4 stars and kind comments on the property and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We had a two bedroom apartment. Very clean and modern. Close to all the action in the heart of the shopping area. Really pleased with this place as it is the first time we have stayed there. Good value for 2 single travellers , although it was cheaper to book through one of the web sites rather than direct with the place itself.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Adrian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Adrian,

Thank you for your comments on Tripadvisor.

I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay and that you would come back to us again in the future.
The our website and the team here should always be the most competitive rate and if it wasn't i apologize.
If ever any queries such as this are found please call the hotel, where we can look at matching the rate for you.

We look forward to welcoming you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was a wonderful experience. Our stay was full of good service and friendly, professional staff. The hotel is nice and clean and we would definitely return here.

Would recommend this highly. I will tell all my friends about this hotel :-)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann-kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Thank you so much for your review on Tripadvisor,
We hope to welcome you and everyone you tell, to the hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews