We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Light ApartHotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2013

With a wide choice of 'apartment hotels' in Manchester you would expect the standard to be high and the customer service even higher to win back repeat business, not at The Light.

Crammed full of stags and hens this isn't the place to get a nights sleep. The staff do very little to make the situation any better.

Loud and uncomfortable are two words which don't feature on their website but its the lasting impression I will take with me from my stay!

Room Tip: Keep looking, loads of other hotels and apartments in Manchester.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Andrew,
Thank you for taking the time to comment and review The Light.
We welcome all feedback, without candid reviews of the products and services which we offer we cannot highlight areas of excellence and areas in need of improvement to move forward with our goals of providing the very best and most unique Apartment Hotel in Manchester.
As said on the phone prior to you posting this, I cannot apologise enough if you feel you had a disturbed night during your visit at the hands of other guests staying with us.
As addressed, your main point is not factual, like any city center property we have an eclectic range of guests and are not crammed with hen and stags as suggested and We do allow groups to stay with us overnight .
As discussed we also provide a 24 hour manned reception that is here to provide any and all assistance which may be during your stay. During the day time and especially at night regular security walks are carried out of all public, communal and restricted areas of the property. If noise levels are deemed inappropriate for the time of day/night then the guests are requested to reduce the level of noise and in extreme circumstances evicted from the property.
We always aim to provide the best customer service experience we can and i am truly sorry if you felt this was not received in relation to your stay.
I do hope that with the above in mind you would reconsider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (896)
There are newer reviews for The Light ApartHotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

576 - 582 of 897 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I wee looking for a decent quality, centrally located hotel, with on site parking.
The Light ticked all the boxes, and more beside. Oceans of space, a balcony, great for having your coffee and end of evening glass of wine, and fully fitted kitchen with generous sized table. With a Tesco Extra ten paces from the entrance, we were able to have fresh fruit, orange juice and croissants on the balcony for.less than most hotels charge for two coffees.
Say goodbye to stuffy , compact hotel rooms, and enjoy spacious luxury for the same price.

Room Tip: Would suggest the highest floors for great city views and reduced traffic noise
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear David,
Thank you for taking the time to post such a glowing review of The Light on Tripadvisor.
I’m so excited that we managed to make you and your wife so happy during your stay.
We look very much forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We booked a two bedroom apartment for a week for £1100. The bedrooms are nice but one was much bigger than the other. The living area was small but we had a dishwasher and washing machine and there was plenty of cupboard space, with basic kitchen utensils supplied. The bathroom was fine but the fan didn't work. It did have a small balcony, which was great! Out main problem was that the apartment was only serviced every four days- so the bins were overflowing- that's just not good enough for the price. When I asked about this at reception, they looked at me as if I was being unreasonable! It's clearly done so that a week's visit only occasions one clean. Verdict? Ok, but we will look elsewhere for an apartment for next year's work.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacinta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Dear Jacinta,
Thank you for taking the time to review and comment on The Light Aparthotel.
I am glad that you were happy with the apartment and amenities, With regards to the bedroom sizes like most apartments or even your own home the master bedroom is always larger or has an identifying feature which marks that particular room as the master bedroom.
The bathrooms are not equipped with extractor fans so I can only assume you have confused this with the circular ventilation shaft which circulates fresh air into our apartments, they also run silently.
As with any other serviced apartments all prices include a weekly service by the housekeeping team, unlike other serviced apartments we also include an interim clean part way through the week, typically the 4th day after arrival. We also provide cleaning equipment and refuse bags in all of the apartments and there is a bin store located on each floor for you to deposit any rubbish which is removed daily.
I am sorry if you felt reception did not assist, as you felt right but in light of the above, i do hope that you would consider The Light for any future visits.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed with four friends in June 2013 and we were lucky enough to be upgraded to one of the penthouse apartments situated on the 19th floor!

If it wasn't enough that the apartment itself was beautiful, really modern and clean with a living area upstairs and bedrooms and bathrooms below, we also had floor to ceiling windows looking out over Manchester!

As there was five of us the staff had set up an extra bed in the master bedroom, with an open bathroom, and the second bedroom had a balcony. We really felt like we were living in luxury for an evening!

The location is fantastic and you can easily walk for shopping and drinks! We were staying over as we were seeing Rihanna at the MEN and had it not been raining it would have only been a short walk away!

I would definitely recommend The Light and I would most definitely stay again. It is great value for money but do be aware a safety deposit is reserved on a card upon checking in so it is maybe best to discuss with a member of staff before booking. We did not know prior to arrival and it wasn't a problem but it is always better to be prepared!

Room Tip: Ask for deposit details prior to booking/arrival. If a large group be cheeky and try for an upgrade...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louisebunny166
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
It was a pleasure to read your lovely comments and we were thrilled that you appreciated the upgrade so much from your family apartment.

In relation to the security deposit this is documented on all booking websites, you booked direct with us and a confirmation was sent at the time of booking with this detailed on there along with a pre arrival email prior to your stay where it was again noted.
I think from reading your comments in realtion to the deposit that there may be some crossed communication with the email address and if you do wish to discusss anything further please do not hesitate to come back to me.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We has a 2 bedroomed apartment on the 3rd floor. The apartment was spacious, modern and had everything we needed - also liked the extra touches such as supplying a few tea bags. Having two bathrooms was great too. Overall we were really happy. The lifts are a bit temperamental so we were glad to be on the 3rd so we could walk down when they stopped working (management did get them working again quickly so not a big issue). Would definitely book again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UkMo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the ApartHotel on tripadvisor.

We are glad that your weekend was so good and we are pleased we could be a part of it.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We checked into the Light for a three night stay over a weekend having needed to find somewhere in Manchester City Centre for both a brief business meeting and a weekend away. What can I say! On the mark!!.
From the check in to the amazing room,what more could you need in this location, the feeling you get of the bustle of city life whilst your apartment is stylish, quiet and perfectly kitted out,
The reviews on here sometimes go on about noise but over a hectic weekend in Manchester it was a busy city but no nosier than the average hotel, but this is no average hotel.
To top things off its the little things that make The Light something special, the wife enjoyed the bathroom toiletries whilst I loved the view over the city.
The staff were extremely helpful, not like many UK hotels, they could not do enough for us without being invasive and intruding.
I would recommend The Light to anyone, there were hen parties, group of people, couples and individual travellers who all seemed to communicate and smile at each other. You don't get that in a Holiday Inn!

Room Tip: Ours was amazing and didn't have to do anything to get it!!
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Mark,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and your kind comments towards our property and team members here at The Light.
We will make sure the comments are passed to them.

We’re so thrilled you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us and please let us know when you are next in Manchester, we guarantee our return guests the best rates available when booking direct

Once again Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed here for just one night for a hen party. It was very easy to find, and just a short walk from piccadily station, and to all the bars and restaurants we wanted to go to. Prior to arriving, they were very helpful and accommodating, asking if we needed any info on area, taxis booking etc. One week before we were due to stay, I got a phone call saying that we were getting a free upgrade to one of the penthouse suites! This was an amazing surprise, and the apartment itself was fantastic. Stunning views, very clean, slept all of us together, and was very modern. We wished we had actually had more time to just spend in the apartment, as it was so amazing! On arrival, we found a bottle of wine, hen balloons and banners, and a card for the bride waiting on the dining table. This was such a nice surprise, and personal touch. I would definitely recommend these apartments for short stay in Manchester.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Emma,

Thank you for such a glowing review on tripadvisor.

I am so please that we managed to make yours and your parties stay so memorable.

We would love to welcome you all back again, if your in Manchester in the near future just give us a call and we’ll make sure you have the best available rates.

Once again

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#5 of 120 in Manchester
1,362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 120 in Manchester
1,359 reviews
0.7 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 120 in Manchester
1,324 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 120 in Manchester
5,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Light ApartHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Light ApartHotel

Address: Pall Mall House 20 Church Street, Manchester M4 1PN, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Manchester
Price Range: $99 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Light ApartHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Light ApartHotel is the first true ApartHotel in Manchester, occupying a prime city centre location on the fringe of the Trendy Northern Quarter. Our guests enjoy the flexibility of serviced apartment living with hotel-style accommodation, appealing to both the business and leisure traveller, The Light ApartHotel consists of 60 fully equipped and beautifully furnished studios, one and two bedroom apartments and a range of penthouse suites. The Light ApartHotel is a true alternative to top-end hotels and gives flexibility for families whose kids aren't quite independent, but too old to share a room. Once you've tried it, we know you'll come back for more." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Light ApartHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Light Boutique Apart Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing