We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Light ApartHotel
Certificate of Excellence
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night with friends and the staff are really friendly. We arrived at 1.30 and as our room was ready there was no problem with checking in early. The apartment was clean and modern with great views of Manchester. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Jenny,

Thank you for your recent review.

I’m thrilled that you and your friends enjoyed your stay with us and we cant wait to welcome you back again.

Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    472
    206
    103
    52
    32
See reviews for
109
208
28
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Staff very helpful on booking in, apartment clean and facilities were brill. Just a little too warm in the bedroom for me and no way of opening the window!!! Car park next door which was perfect distance for dragging cases!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank CKisbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of our ApartHotel.
It’s always a pleasure hearing guest’s positive feedback about our staff and facilities.
I’m sorry that you could not open your bedroom window, I’m unsure which apartment type you have stayed in and we do have a range of varying styles, however for future visits if you inform reception upon arrival that you prefer an apartment with an external bedroom window - which can be opened, then we can look at actioning any requests for you.

Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We booked a two bedroom apartment at The Light for one night. The rooms were well equipped with a great view of the city. It's just around the corner from Piccadilly so really easy to get around the city centre.

We would definitely use The Light Boutique Apartment Hotel again :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamSq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Sam,

Thank you for your recent review of our ApartHotel.
It’s always a pleasure hearing guest’s positive feedback about our apartments.

When you are next planning a trip to Manchester remember to contact our reservations team direct who will offer the best available rates to returning guests.

Once again Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We arrived here as a result of a botched booking at another hotel see terrible review of The Works, boy were we more than happy that we landed on our feet at this amazing aparthotel. Stunning apartment, amazing views and location and extremely helpful staff and management who quickly realised we were so exasperated from our bad experience at The Works that they welcomed is and made booking in easy and simple. A really beautiful place in Manchester think we may start to save for a stay in the penthouse :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LesleyAnne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Lesley Anne,

Thank you for taking the time to review and comment on our ApartHotel.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your unintended visit to The Light and would love to welcome you and your party back in the future.

Remeber to book direct with us for best rates too
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hotel staff was very helpful. The room I booked was nice and had a great view, but smelled of fresh paint fumes. Eventually when I returned later than night the staff placed my in a one-bedroom apartment which was even nicer and an even greater view. The stay was very pleasant. Just a block away from the mall, and minutes away from many resturaunts and the nightlife.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I am sorry there was a smell of paint in your apartment, we do always strive to provide the best accomodation, decor and soft furnishings we can and i was thrilled to read that our efforts to resolve resulted in you feeling satisfied with the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We hired the 2 bedroomed apartment on floor 15 with rooftop terrace and "private" hot tub. The room cost £849 which for a 5* apartment we thought was fairly good value. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The location was great with a fantastic restaurant next door and within walking distance of the city centre. However, the additional charge of £150 for use of the hot tub does not make this apartment value for money, especially as the apartments on floors 16-19 overlook your private rooftop terrace (the windows of the apartment on the floor above were directly over the hot tub so we had 6 lads staring at us at close proximity). This could easily be solved by simply installing some kind of canopy. The phones didn't work, to dial reception you had to dial the external number. I could get petty over minor things that were not to standard for a 5* hotel/apartment. On the plus side, very clean and tidy and lush shower and bath. Beds very comfy. Great views.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lozandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our penthouse suite and will pass on your kind comments to our housekeeping and reception team. I have informed our maintenance team to investigate the suites internal phone line.

We believe that the hot tubs are a great addition to our two platinum penthouse suites and here at The Light we realise all too well that this is the North of England and our summers are short and sweet with a little ray of sunshine if we’re lucky. For that reason the use of the hot tubs on our private roof terrace are not included in the cost of the suite as it is personal preference if you wish to have this facility.

For those who wish to experience our six seater hot tub, 15 stories above the heart of Manchester the cost is made very clear on our booking website and our third party suppliers when you select this extra feature.

Once again thank you for tour review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 116 in Manchester
1,330 reviews
0.3 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
586 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#6 of 116 in Manchester
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4,876 reviews
0.7 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 116 in Manchester
1,281 reviews
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Light ApartHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Light ApartHotel

Property: The Light ApartHotel
Address: Pall Mall House 20 Church Street, Manchester M4 1PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 77 Specialty Lodging in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Light ApartHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Light ApartHotel is the first true ApartHotel in Manchester, occupying a prime city centre location on the fringe of the Trendy Northern Quarter. Our guests enjoy the flexibility of serviced apartment living with hotel-style accommodation, appealing to both the business and leisure traveller, The Light ApartHotel consists of 60 fully equipped and beautifully furnished studios, one and two bedroom apartments and a range of penthouse suites. The Light ApartHotel is a true alternative to top-end hotels and gives flexibility for families whose kids aren't quite independent, but too old to share a room. Once you've tried it, we know you'll come back for more." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Light ApartHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Light Boutique Apart Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing