We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Manchester Over-night Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Light ApartHotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We booked a two bedroom apartment at The Light for one night. The rooms were well equipped with a great view of the city. It's just around the corner from Piccadilly so really easy to get around the city centre.

We would definitely use The Light Boutique Apartment Hotel again :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamSq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Sam,

Thank you for your recent review of our ApartHotel.
It’s always a pleasure hearing guest’s positive feedback about our apartments.

When you are next planning a trip to Manchester remember to contact our reservations team direct who will offer the best available rates to returning guests.

Once again Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (904)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

594 - 600 of 904 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We arrived here as a result of a botched booking at another hotel see terrible review of The Works, boy were we more than happy that we landed on our feet at this amazing aparthotel. Stunning apartment, amazing views and location and extremely helpful staff and management who quickly realised we were so exasperated from our bad experience at The Works that they welcomed is and made booking in easy and simple. A really beautiful place in Manchester think we may start to save for a stay in the penthouse :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LesleyAnne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2013

Dear Lesley Anne,

Thank you for taking the time to review and comment on our ApartHotel.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your unintended visit to The Light and would love to welcome you and your party back in the future.

Remeber to book direct with us for best rates too

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hotel staff was very helpful. The room I booked was nice and had a great view, but smelled of fresh paint fumes. Eventually when I returned later than night the staff placed my in a one-bedroom apartment which was even nicer and an even greater view. The stay was very pleasant. Just a block away from the mall, and minutes away from many resturaunts and the nightlife.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Thank you for your review.

I am sorry there was a smell of paint in your apartment, we do always strive to provide the best accomodation, decor and soft furnishings we can and i was thrilled to read that our efforts to resolve resulted in you feeling satisfied with the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Kate T
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We hired the 2 bedroomed apartment on floor 15 with rooftop terrace and "private" hot tub. The room cost £849 which for a 5* apartment we thought was fairly good value. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The location was great with a fantastic restaurant next door and within walking distance of the city centre. However, the additional charge of £150 for use of the hot tub does not make this apartment value for money, especially as the apartments on floors 16-19 overlook your private rooftop terrace (the windows of the apartment on the floor above were directly over the hot tub so we had 6 lads staring at us at close proximity). This could easily be solved by simply installing some kind of canopy. The phones didn't work, to dial reception you had to dial the external number. I could get petty over minor things that were not to standard for a 5* hotel/apartment. On the plus side, very clean and tidy and lush shower and bath. Beds very comfy. Great views.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lozandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our penthouse suite and will pass on your kind comments to our housekeeping and reception team. I have informed our maintenance team to investigate the suites internal phone line.

We believe that the hot tubs are a great addition to our two platinum penthouse suites and here at The Light we realise all too well that this is the North of England and our summers are short and sweet with a little ray of sunshine if we’re lucky. For that reason the use of the hot tubs on our private roof terrace are not included in the cost of the suite as it is personal preference if you wish to have this facility.

For those who wish to experience our six seater hot tub, 15 stories above the heart of Manchester the cost is made very clear on our booking website and our third party suppliers when you select this extra feature.

Once again thank you for tour review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were there for a day, staying to recuperate after a long flight from Singapore before heading out into the country.

The staff were very friendly throughout, though one of the night staff didnt even know of god nearby pubs which I thought strange for a young man :) The manager and his staff helped carry our many luggage up to the rooms.

We took 2 x 2-bedroom apartments, and they were nicely appointed. Nothing broken fortunately for us, as some other reviews said they encountered this.

But it's in a fantastic location, right across from Arndale Centre with its shopping and market, and just beside Church Street market. So if you're here at a service apartment to cook, then it's the ideal place.

Will definitely stay here if we come back to Manchester

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Etonian8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the ApartHotel. I will pass your comments to the team and I'm glad we were able to make you and your guests feel welcome in Manchester. Unfortunately the downside to working late at night doesn’t always enable you to sample Manchester vibrant night life.

For future visits you are guaranteed the best rate booking direct with the ApartHotel, were prices are up to 10% cheaper than on price comparison sites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The staff are all very friendly and helpful. However the apartment we stayed in was suffering from lack of maintenance. In particular the kitchen was in a pretty bad state of repair, a door was missing from the washing machine, the dish washer was pretty much falling apart, but just about useable, and a kick board kept falling off. (They are quite heavy, so we had to watch our toes!). Only four of each kitchen item (cutlery, plates etc) was a bit difficult with children, but we made do, something I don't expect to do in a boutique hotel!
Being right in the centre of town, the apartments are quite noisy at night, but the double glazed doors and windows do shut out most of the noise. However, there is no air conditioning, and the rooms can get quite stuffy. I asked for a couple of fans, which were delivered to our apartment within half an hour. On the up side, everything is on your doorstep! Trams, the arndale centre, and even a Tesco metro directly underneath!
Another noteworthy point, is the underground car park is very tight, so if you have a large car or 4x4 you may struggle.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, or a penthouse. However, beware! this hotel advertises as a "Hen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Guest Relations Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Claire,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the ApartHotel and thank you for your kind words about the team.

I have passed over your comments regarding your apartment to our maintenance department for investigation. As you had booked one of our two bedroom apartments which sleep up to four persons then of course the apartment will have four of the basic kitchen items you would need so I am at a loss why you thought you “made do” but we do have extra stock, so if you were struggling just ask and we can help

Once again thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Light.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
679 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,368 reviews
0.7 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 120 in Manchester
1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 120 in Manchester
1,380 reviews
0.4 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#9 of 120 in Manchester
1,792 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Light ApartHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Light ApartHotel

Address: Pall Mall House 20 Church Street, Manchester M4 1PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Manchester
Price Range: $96 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Light ApartHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Light ApartHotel is the first true ApartHotel in Manchester, occupying a prime city centre location on the fringe of the Trendy Northern Quarter. Our guests enjoy the flexibility of serviced apartment living with hotel-style accommodation, appealing to both the business and leisure traveller, The Light ApartHotel consists of 60 fully equipped and beautifully furnished studios, one and two bedroom apartments and a range of penthouse suites. The Light ApartHotel is a true alternative to top-end hotels and gives flexibility for families whose kids aren't quite independent, but too old to share a room. Once you've tried it, we know you'll come back for more." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Light ApartHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Light Boutique Apart Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing