We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location but not 5 Star”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Light ApartHotel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I booked The Light for a hen weekend to make it a bit more special than a bog standard hotel. We arrived around 5pm and it took about 30 minutes for us to check into 3 apartments! I was expecting an open plan space with wow factor and what I got was a two bedroom flat in need of a clean and general upgrade. There was no working telephone, so if we needed to speak to reception which we did on several occasions (key card stopped working, DVD player which had been booked in advance wasn't rigged up and when it was it wouldn't work) we had to wait for the VERY SLOW lifts to take us down 11 floors. Most of our Friday evening was spent faffing about checking in, paying on arrival - weird - and sorting out problems. Basically, in my book a 5 star apartment does not have a mouldy bathroom, broken toilet seat, iron burn in carpet, broken light fittings, and blinds which do not cover the window let alone block out the light. Overall, very disappointing. The only saving grace was the refund we received.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo_HenOrganiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (896)
There are newer reviews for The Light ApartHotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

787 - 793 of 896 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2011

My friends and I stayed at the Light when we went to see Take That so was only there a night but it was brilliant. The facilities were a high standard, the location was perfect (5 minutes walk from the Arndale centre shopping!!)

Staff were friendly and helpful and we honesly felt like we were celebs staying in this place. So much nicer than a hotel when you have all of your friends in an apartment and have your own kitchen space ... would stay again!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockk1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2011

We've just got home from staying at The Light Boutique ApartHotel and absolutely loved it! On arrival we were warmly greeted by the friendly reception staff who checked us into our room and then informed us that we had been given a free upgrade to the Penthouse suite! The hotel is out of this world and the Penthouse suite is on two floors with beautifully furnished rooms with amazing views of the city. The hotel is immaculate and would recommend anyone to stay here. We had planned on going out in the night into the city but the room was so amazing that we decided to order food to the suite from the restaurant downstairs. We will definitely be coming back, it was the perfect stay to celebrate my boyfriends graduation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rach067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We were moved here after originally booking at the Premier Apartments. Five days before our trip we were told that the existing tenants wanted to extend their stay and we were asked to move to The Light. At first I was angry but on reading reviews realised that this place actually had better reviews!
We parked at the NCP which was just opposite. The young man at the desk was really friendly and helpful. It was our first trip to Manchester and he gave us a map and clear directions to where we wanted to go. We were also upgraded which was a lovely surprise.
The apartment was amazing, we were on the 13th floor and had fantastic views across Manchester. When we got back from our night out I sat on the balcony with my glass of wine and just watched the big wheel!
I cannot fault the apartment at all, it was well equipped and perfect for shopping as it was a short walk to the Arndale shopping mall and it would be my place of choice next time I am in Manchester. I have also recommended it to all my friends.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maewe5t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

The service we received at this fabulous hotel was excellant. On our arrival which was early our room was ready and we were upgraded to the Penthouse on the 19th floor.
The room was luxourious and the views of Manchester were amazing. If you book this room do not go out, stay in and enjoy all it has to offer.
The hotel is right in the city centre in the Northern Quater with it many quirky and trendy bars and restaurants.
The whole experience was wonderful and the best hotel I have stayed in Manchester.
The car park is very reasonable at £10.00 per night but, only suitable for small cars, however there are 2 NCP carparks next door and acroos the road. The hotel also gives you a 20% discount off parking in the NCP.
We didnt eat in the Restaurant or go in the Spa so I cannot comment on these.

Room Tip: The Penthouse 19th floor, we were upgraded as we paid the most on that particular night, just lucky...
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank troffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We had a one night stay on a Take That concert night. The reception staff were particularly pleasant and helpful. The apartment was great with 2 double bedrooms, bathroom. lounge area and fully equipped kitchen. There was also a balcony with great views over the city of Manchester. It was very useful to have the fridge stocked with a complimentary welcome pack including bread, milk, orange juice etc. Also a bottle of white wine chilling in the fridge at only £9.50 a bottle. This would be very good value for 2 couples wanting a night out in Manchester.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandajz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2011

The Light is The best place I have stayed in Manchester.

Booking for 4 of us for a stay over to see Take That we stumbled over this aparthotel by accident and now I will never stay anywhere else when I come to Manchester. The apartment was huge with many gadgets we never had chance to use as we had only booked for one night (£140 for all 4 of us from laterooms).

Our apartment had a large kitchen/dining room/lounge plus 2 double rooms one with en suite shower room and a separate bathroom adjacent to the other bedroom. We found everything clean and the bath sheets were bath sheets not the exaggerated hand towels normally found in hotels. The large windows allowed us to view Manchester from 3 sides. It was well equipped and ample breakfast hamper contents supplied, the staff were friendly and helpful allowing us to leave our bags while we visited the Arndale centre which was at the end of the road. The station, City Stadium and the Arena all within walking distance although we did find buses a couple of streets away for our event.

Time beat us and unfortunately we never got to use the spa or gym – this time!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoPattern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.3 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
656 reviews
0.4 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 120 in Manchester
1,362 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#4 of 120 in Manchester
1,347 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,051 reviews
0.7 mi away
Great John Street Hotel
Great John Street Hotel
#2 of 120 in Manchester
1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Light ApartHotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Light ApartHotel

Address: Pall Mall House 20 Church Street, Manchester M4 1PN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Manchester
Price Range: $92 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Light ApartHotel 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"The Light ApartHotel is the first true ApartHotel in Manchester, occupying a prime city centre location on the fringe of the Trendy Northern Quarter. Our guests enjoy the flexibility of serviced apartment living with hotel-style accommodation, appealing to both the business and leisure traveller, The Light ApartHotel consists of 60 fully equipped and beautifully furnished studios, one and two bedroom apartments and a range of penthouse suites. The Light ApartHotel is a true alternative to top-end hotels and gives flexibility for families whose kids aren't quite independent, but too old to share a room. Once you've tried it, we know you'll come back for more." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Light ApartHotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Light Boutique Apart Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing