We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Light ApartHotel
Nearby Hotels
$203
$170
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$158
$115
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$223
$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$249
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$241
$201
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$209
$197
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$262
$163
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$159
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
The Midland(Manchester)
$209
$177
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$140
$131
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (929)
Filter reviews
929 results
Traveler rating
505
223
109
52
40
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
505
223
109
52
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe penthousebed apartmenthot tubtesco express next doortesco metronorthern quarterwashing machinehen partyon arrivalgreat apartmentliving areathese apartmentsarndale centredining tablecar parkcomplimentary upgradefloor to ceiling windows
Filter
Updating list...
853 - 858 of 929 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Great hotel, superb city centre location, lovely modern decor, great views, really helpful, friendly and knowledgeable staff.

Would recommend and wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria770770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, General Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2011

Hi Maria770770, thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your very kind comments about our staff. I hope you will choose to stay with us next time you visit Manchester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Clean tidy and friendly staff but bad customer service from the manager

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonesy560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2011

Thank you for your review, we always appreciate feedback both good and bad, so we know when we are getting things right or wrong. Please accept my sincere apologies about the stuck balcony door, the fitments on most of these will be replaced in the near future, however
we accept we let you down on the night and this was unacceptable. Finally we thank you for your kind comments about our staff, and hope that your experience that night has not put you off staying with us in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2011

Located right next to the main Arndale shopping centre, a short walk from the train station and trams. Lovely clean and bright apartment with great views over town. Perfectly quiet considering its central location. Decent sized kitchen and work area. TV in kitchen and bedroom. I tired the adjacent restaurant - really good quality pub type food at sensible price, good atmosphere and quick service.
Stronly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkLemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2011

Thank you for your kind response - we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2011

stayed for a pleasure trip even enjoyed the shopping haha-
staff where great loved watching the telly in bed

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trueblue48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2011

Thank you for your review, I am pleased your stay with us was an enjoyable one.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Stayed here for a girlie weekend in October.
I booked 2 apartments, sleeping 4 people per apartment and requested prior to check in that the rooms be close together. I also requested a DVD player and were told both were no problem.
Upon check in I was faced with the 200pound deposit that was not really made clear before arrival. Along with other reviewers, the way in which this was done was not the best and did put a black mark on the check in experience.
When we got up to the rooms, we found that one of the rooms that had been assigned to us was not ready and that housekeeping were still in the room. We decided to go into the 2nd room and found some items missing and also a dirty sock in the 2nd bedroom (bonus?!?)
Considering I had just been asked for 200pounds as a deposit my first impressions were not great. I headed back to reception and was then allocated another room (along with an apology) however this room was on a different floor so made it challenging when sharing items in the group.
After asking for the DVD player, one of the staff brought it up to the room and made sure it worked for us. The apartment itself was clean, spacious and also had a fantastic view of the city. There were a few items missing in the kitchen which did worry me considering the breakage deposit.
The breakfast pack was a nice bonus and was a nice touch. I was also lucky to get a really competitive rate from a third party booking site so value for money was excellent!

It took over a week to get the 200pound deposit back on to my card which was a little frustrating as you can imagine. If the premises got this right, made sure the rooms were ready on arrival and also checked and also made sure the apartment supplies were complete I'm sure I would have awarded this 5 stars as the place itself is great!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thelight20, Manager at The Light ApartHotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experiences at The Light. We do try to take on board feedback from our guests, and to address the situation regarding the security deposits, we have made some changes following your review. Many Aparthotels insist on a deposit there will always be some guests who cause damage to rooms, spoiling it for the rest. We will look at making the wording clearer on the booking websites, and for those guests who hold credit cards, we now simply pre-authorise the amount, much the same as most other hotels do, removing the need to charge and refund money. Secondly, since your stay, we have had several changes to our housekeeping & cleaning service and a new quality control system has been introduced. Finally, I would like to thank you for the other compliments and would hope you would consider staying with again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews