We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Persian food”
Review of Alborz Restaurant

Alborz Restaurant
Ranked #191 of 2,261 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $28
Cuisines: Persian
Description: Located in the Levenshulme area of Manchester, Alborz Restaurant offers quality traditional Persian cuisine. From Freshly baked Nan bread to delicious Persian Kebabs.
Restaurant details
Description: Located in the Levenshulme area of Manchester, Alborz Restaurant offers quality traditional Persian cuisine. From Freshly baked Nan bread to delicious Persian Kebabs.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Authentic Persian food”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Been here a good few times. Love the kashk benajoon and zeresk polow. The food is amazing and service incredible the staff are so friendly and welcoming. Really love it here

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Qwerty0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    11
    2
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Persian restaurant around!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Have just left the restaurant now, food outstanding and all cooked fresh! I ordered kaskebadamjan and I saw the chef peeling the auberjine for my dish (it may take longer but well worth the wait) staff very welcoming the true Iranian way! I come here from Wigan often and it's worth the drive!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leixlip
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I visited this tiny restaurant for a meal last night, having been here the last time we were in Manchester 2 years ago. It was still really good food for really good value. They serve Persian cuisine, so lots of lamb, herbs, kebabs. The food was all so fresh and full of flavour! And the best, thinnest naan bread I've ever had. They don't have an alcohol license but they are happy for you to bring your own bottle and even supplied a cork screw and glasses complete with a smile. We both had 2 courses served with a lovely big dish of basmati rice. I had a lamb stew rich with herbs and my husband had lamb with lentils and a choice of chips or aubergine. He went for the aubergine and it was beautiful, good enough to eat as an extra side dish. Sadly they don't offer desserts but we were able to buy a small selection of pastries to have at home. For the 2 of us the bill was only £24. We'll definitely eat there again, just wish we got here more often!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly, authentic, child-friendly eating place”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We don't really go for pretentious-feeling eateries and pretentious this certainly isn't. Iranian pop-videos in the background strangely don't distract from the friendly owners' attention and the fantastic food. This really is the real deal with extraordinary textures and flavours, all freshly made and at an incredibly low price. Don't go there if you like ordinary food! They're happy to teach you how to use the strange paraphernalia which comes with some of the dishes. Also, being able to take your own alcohol without (as far as I can tell) a corking charge is really generous

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mohalom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Authentic Persian food”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

One of the best places i ate in, food was great, the real thing plus it was HALAL.

Helpful?
2 Thank BigMo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alborz Restaurant also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Alborz Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing