We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Restaurant!”
Review of Gusto Didsbury

Gusto Didsbury
Ranked #251 of 2,297 Restaurants in Manchester
Price range: $32 - $58
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Right from walking through the door the Gusto Restaurant and Bar - a vibrant and trendy New York style Italian restaurant - exudes a friendly atmosphere you can’t help but feel a part of. Taking its cues in décor from 1950s NYC but with a modern twist, the focus is on the finest freshly prepared Italian dishes from throughout the ages. A restaurant of classical elegance and glamour, Gusto’s menu offers an impressive range, from wood fired pizzas to whole lobster, salt baked sea bass and 28 day aged Premium Steaks. The children’s menu is also fun, allowing the kids to create their own pizzas.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Restaurant!”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Another amazing trip to Gusto in Didsbury. I just thought I had to leave a 5* review for this restaurant at some point, and although our last trip (of many) was in February and I can't remember what I had exactly I know that every time we have visited the service has been faultless and as has the food.

10/10 for everything! :)

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bmxjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    168
    85
    38
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Enjoyable!”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Live round the corner but first visit as boyfriend is fussy eater! Went with him and his parents on a friday night. Didnt book so waited 30 mins at bar which was fine. Food was great, he Had pizza which he enjoyed, my duck was beautiful very well cooked. Parents had lasagne which they said was very good. Prices ok for location and food. Good drinks list too

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pollyjean86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A mass of contradictions”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We've eaten here a number of times in the past few years and on the whole the experience has been fairly consistent. We like the fact you can get a pre-dinner cocktail here and the ambiance of the place is lively and interesting. Last night was one of the few times we'd been when the place was not nearly full to capacity yet it was probably the worst visit we've had. We waited 15 minutes for our table despite being on time - the reason given was they were just clearing our table after the previous customers had left. We accepted this at first but after the 15 minute wait and seeing the place was still pretty empty we had to remind the staff we were there. After being showed to our table the ordering part went pretty smoothly and the service was good, if slow. Not sure if they have the full quota of staff at the moment as they seemed short in both the front and back of the house. That said, as Gusto wasn't rocking like it normally is, we did expect to receive better service than we got. Prices can be a bit eyebrow raising for what you actually get. I had the lobster and prawn spaghetti - with precious little lobster in it! I'd assumed the price would match the quantity of lobster but it didn't. If you eat here go for the cheaper options like the pizzas which are hand-made and always look and taste delicious.
Gusto, please sort yourselves out. You have a good offering but you let yourselves down if you're not fully staffed. Maybe explain things will be a little slower than normal so your customers understand?

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Baxterdog8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LivingVentures, General Manager at Gusto Didsbury, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback on visiting Gusto Didsbury. We are sorry to hear that this visit doesn’t match your previous experience with us. We apologise for your disappointment with the lobster and prawn spaghetti and we hope that this hasn’t deterred you form visiting us in the future. We always aim to have enough staff to attend to each and every guest’s needs and on this occasion it is clear we have let you down.

We would like to discuss further so we can thoroughly investigate what went wrong and hopefully rectify so it does not happen again.

Please feel free to contact me on 07961846893.

Kind regards,

James Rafferty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fine but”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

After eating here last night , the evening was spoilt by woeful understaffing. The staff did a fine job, but It is difficult to enjoy a meal when the staff are literally running all over the place.

This is NOT a criticism of the staff , just the management I should imagine cutting costs. We have always enjoyed eating here but will not be returning for a while , it is not a relaxing atmosphere to eat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy_Ellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LivingVentures, General Manager at Gusto Didsbury, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Firstly let me thank you for feedback from your previous meal at Gusto in Didsbury. We en-devour to ensure we have the right amount of staff to attend to all of our guest needs and on this occasion it is clear we let you down.

I would like to discuss your visit in more detail, if you would like to also please feel free to contact me anytime on 07961846893.

Many Thanks

James Rafferty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Of a consistantly good standard”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Tasty food, attentive staff, clean tidy surroundings. the only thing i would baulk at is being shown to a table towards the rear of the restaurant when front tables are vacant and unreserved. Nearer the kitchen I suppose, saves the waitresses legs.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BuckleeSalop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gusto Didsbury also viewed

Greater Manchester, England
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Gusto Didsbury? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing