We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with a friend”
Review of Panama Hatty's

Panama Hatty's
Ranked #89 of 2,261 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $23
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: We are an independently owned restaurant group that prides itself on style, value-for-money, fresh ingredients, exciting cocktails & beers and attentive service in a warm and welcoming atmosphere. We believe that our menu is an interesting mix of popular and tasty dishes with influences from the Latin countries, the Caribbean, the American South West and a few other exotic places to spice things up.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lunch with a friend”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Thai sizzlers for 2 ..but lots of others to tempt us next time we visit, a bottle of wine which was not overpriced..and with a tastecard even better value

the impression from outside is very misleading, once you have gone down a flight of steps the surroundings are very pleasant indeed

Service was excellent, quite busy on a Wednesday lunchtime, no pressure to vacate the table as we lingered over coffee

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    241
    99
    35
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
Level Contributor
115 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“When is a bar not a bar ?”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

It would appear the answer is...."when you are in Panama Hatty's Manchester" !.......the sign above the door clearly states 'Restaurant and Bar'. My wife and I thought we'd pop in for a drink....as it was a bar !......asked if we could get a drink sitting at the bar which had bar stools only to be told it's not really a bar ! I'm afraid we didn't get chance to sample any drinks or food ( which may have followed had we been able to get some drinks !) so can't comment on those points. Needless to say we left Panama Hatty's and found a bar that had 'Bar' written above the door and guess what....they served drinks !

  • Visited October 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lewisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent food terrible service”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We booked a table at Panama Hatty’s for a birthday meal. The menu lends itself to groups as it is so varied and having eaten here before I thought that the restaurant would be perfect.
We had a table booked for 18 on a Saturday evening, the staff were friendly and welcoming upon arrival. Our orders were taken fairly promptly and the starters came out at about the right time, I had the crayfish and prawn cocktail which was delicious.
It was after this that things started to take a turn for the worst. All of the staff seemed to disappear, we managed to attract the attention of one waitress and ordered some drinks, but some 30mins later there were no signs of the drinks or the mains. Again we asked for the drinks and eventually they arrived.
When the mains eventually came out there were things missing off plates, the food hadn’t been cooked to order, and there were long waits between people in the group being served. One of our group had asked for pepper source which hadn’t arrived, on three occasions when the waitress was returning to the kitchen we mentioned this, however it seemed that we were being ignored. When we asked for the fourth time, the waitress shouted across the restaurant saying that she was ‘too busy’ and ‘to be more patient’! two meals had been completely missed and had to be re ordered, one, a rare steak arrived well done and once everybody else had finished their meals. However It has to be said though that the majority of the group really enjoyed the food once they received it.
We pointed out the rudeness of the staff and catalogue of errors to the management, the manager seemed genuinely concerned and said that he would ensure that the issues were followed up with the head chef, whom he levied the blame on for the evenings errors and took £150 off our bill.
We arrived at the restaurant at 6pm and managed to get out at 9:30pm feeling stressed and tired, certainly not like celebrating!

I would recommend dining here in groups no bigger than 6 heads as it would seem that they just can’t cope with large parties.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamie123s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben P, Manager at Panama Hatty's, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Hi Jamie,

Like all good restaurants we at Panama Hatty’s take negative feedback extremely seriously and endeavour to correct all issues that are raised with us. We admit that we are not perfect on every occasion and whenever we have let our guests down we invariably hold our hands up, admit responsibility and take steps to ensure, as much as possible, such failings don’t happen again.

However, when criticism is selective and creates a perception of our restaurant that is both damaging and untrue, we have no option but to comment and defend ourselves. It is in this spirit which I respond to your review.

As the restaurant management explained to you on the evening, when a table of 18 books with us at 6.00, we generally expect the group to gather shortly before the booking time. In this instance, your group was not fully assembled until some fifty minutes later.

We of course realise that sometimes unforeseen delays can leave people running late. Generally speaking, restaurant policies give management the right to cancel a booking if guests do not arrive in say a 15 to 30 minute window of the scheduled booking time. We did not apply this right as the consequences for you may have been very difficult to deal with.

It is reasonable to expect that a group of 18 people, arriving nearly an hour late at a key time on a Saturday evening, will have a significant impact on our resources and affect the experience for themselves and more importantly others guests.

Given the difficulty, if not impossibility, of securing a booking for 18 people on a Saturday evening in many Manchester restaurants, we are surprised at your reaction and disappointed that we have not received any credit for our patience and understanding of your self imposed predicament.

Bearing this in mind, I would like to address some of the specific complaints in your review.

Firstly, to say that ‘all of the staff seemed to disappear’ gives a completely unfair and misleading impression of the front of house team. I would not term 9 waiters/waitresses running around at peak time serving 130 people in 45 minutes, as well as now being forced to serve an extra twenty people at the worst possible time, as ‘disappearing.’

I would again wish to point out that;

You were advised repeatedly by the management that some delay might now be experienced

We did not cancel the booking as you had no options elsewhere and this would have left you with next to no chance of eating that evening.

We did our utmost to serve you as quickly as possible

Additionally, as you decided to order your starters first and then order mains after finishing your starters, a longer wait between courses was simply inevitable.

I would also like to point out that of the 300 other diners served that evening, only you have complained and no one else from your table has submitted a negative comment.

We accept that one or two members of your party may not have been entirely happy with certain aspects of the service but we remain confident that this was dealt with to their satisfaction at the time.

As you know, as a goodwill gesture we deducted £150 from your bill for certain errors made by us, something which I suspect the vast majority of other restaurants would find perplexing considering the circumstances.

We trust that you find the above a fair and reasonable response.

Panama Hatty’s Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padiham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fab place for a girly meal”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I went here whilst on a hen do weekend recently. I ordered the pan fired salmon rissotto and we go sharer plates to start! The food was absolutely delicious. I found the menu to be interesting as there was lots of different random choices. It honestly took me a long time to choose what I wanted!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank princess_lealea22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Absolutely fabulous for ladies that lunch!”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My friend and I loved everything about this place and had a lovely lunch along with cocktails! Definately going back for more!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ali-mojo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panama Hatty's also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Panama Hatty's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing