We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value in nice surroundings”
Review of Panama Hatty's

Panama Hatty's
Ranked #94 of 2,252 Restaurants in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $23
Cuisines: International, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: We are an independently owned restaurant group that prides itself on style, value-for-money, fresh ingredients, exciting cocktails & beers and attentive service in a warm and welcoming atmosphere. We believe that our menu is an interesting mix of popular and tasty dishes with influences from the Latin countries, the Caribbean, the American South West and a few other exotic places to spice things up.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great value in nice surroundings”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I visit this restaurant with my partner and another couple, taking a gamble having never visited before.

The website describes it as "value for money, dining experience in opulent and relaxing surroundings" and I would not disagree with any of that; the layout of the restaurant was very impressive, with a large cocktail bar at front-of-house. The atmosphere was relaxed, but had the right amount of sophistication.

One may think that this is a South American restaurant, it is not. I would say it is South American inspired but the menu does include from Malaysia and Italy for example - in short, varied and something for everyone across all courses. The desert menu is a little weak and plain however.

The meals themselves were presented well, were tasty and portions (if that is a factor for you) were generous.

We all enjoyed a 3 course meal with 3 rounds of drinks and cocktails and paid £110 which presents extremely good value for money.

Service was a little patchy at times - there was a marked difference between the managers and some of the waiters/waitresses, which ultimately results in inconsistency.

Panama Hatty's is great, but it just lacks that 'special something' to make it fantastic. Similar restaurants such as Grill on New York Street offer similar surroundings, similar food, but the service and 'ambience' felt a little classier without losing that relaxed atmosphere.

Immeasurable? Yes. Snobby? A little. Would I visit again? Maybe...... I enjoyed my visit very much, however, there is nothing trully compelling to make me do so as there are simply LOTS of well priced restaurant, offering good food in nice surroundings in Manchester.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MattfromBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    235
    98
    35
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mangalore
Level Contributor
188 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Fast Food in a restaurant”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Starters Nachos were good. Dips were tasty. Mains took some time to appear but everyone was pleased. Cocktails were reasonable. Its a good place to try the Mexican/ Spanish cuisine. May not return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good food, let down by service”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We enjoyed a nice lunchtime meal - very tasty half rack of ribs and the Rio Frio chicken from the lunch menu. The food was great, as were the (very strong) cocktails. Everything was going well so we ordered some deserts, which also went down very well, though they were huge portions and we couldn't quite finish them.

Then we were sat for 20-25 minutes with our dirty desert plates in front of us while we were trying to get the waitresses attention, who had been very attentive up to now. It was a real shame and bad end to the overall experience. We ended up getting up and asking to pay at the front desk - we also made a point about the length of time we had been waiting but no money was knocked off our bill. Safe to say that they did not receive a tip!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
121 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good food; Poor service”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Ate here for a Xmas meal with friends in December. Booked well in advance and also placed orders in advance (which I always think is a biut strange for a resturant which should have a well organised kitchen capable of taking orders on the night). I have to say the food was lovely - very tasty and well presented. However the service was very slow - to be fair after we complained we were offered a free bottle of wine, but nonetheless it was disappointing and I would not return.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gegster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester,UK
Level Contributor
77 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great food eventually.”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Having partaken of the Christmas menu here three times before a table was duly booked for sixteen.

We were kept waiting for our pre-booked table and with cider at £4.95 a bottle, this proved an expensive wait. Eventually we were seated at our table and we waited for our starters which like everything else had been pre-ordered weeks in advance. We waited and waited and our starters were thrown at us after an hours wait. Again we waited for about an hour for our main course, which was delivered with equal contempt.

OK food but especially poor service on a night where everything was pre-booked and service should have run smoothly.

We wont be back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank FussyTraveller39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Panama Hatty's also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Panama Hatty's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing