We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent venue, Fantastic Bar staff and Professional Door team”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lammars - CLOSED

Lammars
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent venue, Fantastic Bar staff and Professional Door team”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Whenever i get the chance to go for a night out (4 kids means not very often lol) Lammars is the place i choose to go due to the unique music mix and brilliant atmosphere (can get really busy on a weekend)

The bar staff are always smiling and willing to go that extra mile for you. Serving you reasonably priced and wide variety of drinks, no more expensive than anywhere in town (other than student clubs obviously)

I would also suggest you ignore previous reviews of the bouncers, they are a great down to earth bunch, always welcoming and up for a laugh while remaining professional throughout the night, i guess you just can not please everybody.

Moral of the story when it comes to the bouncers, As long as you follow the rules you will have a good night, think you are above the rules and you will be asked to leave, simple!

Overall if you want something completely unique, Lammars is the place to go. You will NOT be disappointed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Leah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    20
    13
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Heavy Handed Bounce - AVOID THIS BAR”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

I was here on Saturday night the 5 July 2014 and was celebrating my 28th birthday with my friends mix of boys and girls, who were between the ages 25 and 37 and are all professionals. Looking at our group you can tell we are not trouble makers we are either accountants or architects. Unfortunately for one of my friends there was a heavy handed bouncer who was looking for trouble. My friend was not happy that they did not have the beer he wanted and said to the bouncer it was a "stupid bar policy". As my friend did the outrageous thing to answer back the bouncer with those words he was kicked out. There was no need for this course of action from the door staff. I can understand if someone is being violent they should be throw out but if someone is making a comment in a non threatening manner then I feel it was over the top. After this happened the bouncer then came back to watch my friends waiting to find a reason to chuck the rest of us out which never happened. He just stood staring at us for the whole evening. Clearly he had a chip on his shoulder and enjoys abusing his position of power!!! DO NOT GO HERE - there are nicer bars in town without bouncers who want to pick on the easy targets and without attitude problems.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Heavy Handed Bouncer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Whatever you do, don't get tired in this place and for a moment choose to relax and lay down..... If you do, let me tell you from first hand experience, you'll be Man Handled and thrown out like a thug.

Watch out for the BOY in Hi Viz jackets who exerted his position as Security, Door Person or Bouncer....Call yourself what you like, you're a dangerous man to the Lammars business. Where we had already spent over £200 and would have spent more if this foolishness didn't happen.

If management were ignorant like this particular person, I would have called the Police. Thankfully, the CCTV was reviewed with one of my friends present and there was no evidence seen that warranted his heavy hand approach......

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
232 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Terrible attitude from bouncer”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

Beware the 1:30am rule. Once you step out, you're not allowed back in. Despite the stamp they give you on your hand, and bouncers on hand. They were warning people heading out for a smoke but my friend wasn't informed. So, if she couldn't come back in, we had no choice but to all leave.
My friend tried to ask if she could come back but the bouncer ws extremely rude, dismissive and unnecessarily exaggerating the complaint with saying she had been' passive aggressively talking for over 20 minutes'. This was not the case. Another friend had to be escorted off the premises, which wasn't warranted. This was a sour end to the night. Bouncers were the worst we've ever encountered. Will not visit again.

Helpful?
Thank NinjaS84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tacky, Over Priced and in The Dark Ages”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

Over priced drinks for what's dressed out like a tacky Blackpool venue. Bar staff ok only plus. Music too out of date and sound system rattles a bit when on too loud, which it generally is as you can't hear people next to you. Music's flamboyant at best. Bouncers very scruffy and act like they've been pulled in from job centre to have a go at it. Rude, obnoxious, uncaring. Like a throw back to 1980s ITV wrestlers on a power trip. 1 looks and acts like Gisnt Haystacks. We attended for a reunion in a group of 10 professionals male and female. Entered bar about 8pm. A couple of us exited for a cigarette on way back in got stopped by staff to pay 2 pound as now after 9. Explained was in previously as did other members of our group. Wouldn't be believed. Bouncers said 'we're not here to baby sit you, ha, now pay'. Owner was very weak and said nothing he would do. They lost circa 500 pound revenue, future and existing customers for a power trip and a 2 pound entry. Believe me this place is a step back  into the dark ages in terms of management, decor and music. Poor attendance is leading to over pricing, charging to get in, cheap seemingly untrained door staff. Avoid or you risk people trying to give you a poor night. Bar around corner, think called Lolas, was far superior. Great door staff, atmosphere, music, drinks, the lot. We had a great night in the end but no thanks to the out dated Lammars. Will be sure never to return again. Fu Fu would not be pleased.

Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lammars also viewed

Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 
Manchester, Greater Manchester
Manchester, Greater Manchester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing