We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills but does the job”
Review of Weston Hall

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Weston Hall
Ranked #89 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed July 27, 2011

It's a hall of residence - if you've been a student yourself or visited this sort of flat style hall before then you know the drill. A compact room with lots of storage and an ensuite pod-style shower room, toilet and basin. My room was a little rough around the edges with curtains that didn't quite meet, a missing drawer handle on the bedside cupboard and a stain on the industrial style carpet but it has students living in it for most of the year and it was just cosmetics really. It was cheap, in a good location and I just needed somewhere to crash that wasn't a room with ten other people sleeping in it! A got a night's sleep and privacy and would happily stay again.

Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
1  Thank alocin42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraws, General Manager at Weston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2011

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. Can I ask you to advise me which room you were in whilst here, we can then have a look at the cosmetic issues you encountered in the room, however, I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to the hall when you next visit Manchester.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 69 of 82 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

If you're a solo traveller looking for cheap overnight accommodation close to the centre of the city then this is the place for you. Based in student accommodation and part of Manchester Uni, these rooms are used by students for most of the year. They are basic, but are en-suite and very comfortable. Single bed, desk, wardrobe and a bathroom with a shower, sink and toilet. Towels and basic toiletries are provided, as are tea and coffee making facilities. If you are planning to visit the gay village they are perfect as it's literally 5 mins up the road. There is a car park literally 2 mins away which appears secure and only costs £2 per day at the weekend, if you know Manchester parking you will know this is an absolute bargain. You enter the halls via the Days Inn hotel and the reception area is very welcoming and posh considering we only paid £28 for the room. We stayed on a Saturday night and the halls were fully booked but we heard very little noise from the corridors despite being fairly close to a dividing door. Overall I had a very positive experience of this accommodation and would recommend it to anyone needing a budget room.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire_Lancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraws, General Manager at Weston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We endeavour to offer good value accommodation through the Weston with the add on of good service delivered from the Days Hotel next door.

I'll pass on your comments to the staff.

Thank you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights in July. It's close to the City Centre, and about 5 min walk to Manchester Piccadilly station.

The rooms are single study bedrooms - single bed with a small bathroom with shower/wc/washbasin. There's a big desk to spread your stuff out, and wardrobe & cupboards if you want to unpack your clothes etc. Nice clean linen provided including nice fluffy towels. There's also a kettle and tea/coffee making stuff provided. No TV though and I found that a radio comes in handy!

I had a problem with the toilet in my room and it was sorted out during the day so that I did not have to move rooms. Cost was £28/night - booked via the Days Inn next door - you can use their bar and restaurant. Full breakfast is £7.50 - cheaper if you just have continental.

Definite recommend for travellers who want cheap, but reliable quality accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PicnMix_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraws, General Manager at Weston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave such pleasant comments. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to Weston in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2011

Stayed here for a second time last week and was even more impressed than last year. The room I had was slightly larger with a proper shower room, rather than the pod I got last year (which was fine, incidentally). It was in a different zone, and I found it less of a maze. Make use of the communal facilities this time. The kitchen and fridge were very clean. Staff are very welcoming and helpful and you're treated no differently to those staying in the Days Hotel proper. Recommend it to everyone I know who needs a place to stay in Manchester. There were others in the same flat as me last time, so it was a bit noisier and took me longer to get to sleep, but it wasn't a major problem.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barbaraws, General Manager at Weston Hall, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2011

Thank you for your comments, I will pass them on to the staff, it is always nice to pass on positive feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

... this is part of the days hotel complex, and manchester confrerence centre -basically student dorms that are out of use in the summer months etc.

I payed direct, at £24 a night, in ths large complex. Expect a basic, but clean single room within 5mins of the station/trams. take a pocket radio, as there are no tv's. Hot drinks and kettle provided. Corridors are noisy. I stayed 3 nights, and my room was serviced every day. I really have no problem recomending this complex, which also had food and drink offers and a helpfull staff information centre when i checked in at peak hours ( one member of staff guided me directly to my room )
I will stay here again, as i can explore more of manchester at a cheap rate.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 95Paul95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Reception staff were friendly, welcoming and helpful. The room was alittle difficult to find, as the signs in the corridor were not clear. The accommodation was clean. I had expected no frills for the price, so was surprised to find towels, soap and shampoo provided, though the towels did shed fluff. Tea and coffee were also provided, and a little pack of biscuits. The temperature of the shower fluctuated, but it was bearable. The bed was comfortable, the linen clean and I slept very well. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2009

I've stayed at this hotel several times & never had cause to complain.
The Weston Hall is part of the Days Hotel/Conference Centre. It's in a prime location & offers an excellent buffet breakfast. The rooms at the Weston are used for student accomodation, therefore fairly basic & only available part of the year but for the price, I think you'd be hard to find anything better.
The hotel's very clean, in a quiet location, the staff are very helpful & it's in easy walking distance of Piccadilly Station & the city centre shops, bars, restaurants etc.
It also has an unusual centrepiece!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel
2  Thank HarleeShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
The Pendulum Hotel
The Pendulum Hotel
#45 of 120 in Manchester
1,703 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.1 mi away
New Union Hotel
New Union Hotel
#78 of 120 in Manchester
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester CC-Oxford Road
0.1 mi away
Le Ville Hotel
Le Ville Hotel
#62 of 120 in Manchester
755 reviews
0.2 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weston Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weston Hall

Address: Weston Hall of Residence Sackville Street, Manchester M1 3BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Hotel Class:2 star — Weston Hall 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Weston Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Weston Hall Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing