We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“could of been better stay elsewhere” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fresh Apartments Manchester

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manchester
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fresh Apartments Manchester
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“could of been better stay elsewhere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

Outside of apartment:
In a dodgy street not in city centre, short cab ride new apartments so address and what is aroud the apartments is good to know! although taxi cheap enough fiver to get into town, Door area Fresh looking light glass windows.Only one key for apartment??

Lift area:
Smell made me feel sick,no maitenance done sice last reveiw obviously still letter boxes broken etc.

Apartment:
First impressions not bad, bathrooms clean,nice decor,

Stains on carpets was first when began to notice the cracks in such a fresh apartment.

Three double rooms, Third room could only just fit bed in with a wardrobe, (hinges on wardrobe broken) not suitble for seven people,luckily everyone getting ready at different times!

Kichen area clean and nice although dining table only had three chairs (meant to have four)

Corner sofa that was meant to be a sofa bed was broken so three in a bed it was !!!! looking at how laterooms describe this I would not even bother wasting time reading the reviews as they seem a joke!!

Bars and clubs:

Printworks seems the place to be for a good night ! comdey store and gays bars did also get recommended by taxi driver?

Shopping:
Plenty of shops to keep you going in city centre

Taxis:
Good prices although Be carefull after midnight tried to rip us off, one taxi said a tenner while we refused this one we got in another taxi only £6 .

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank pinkichelsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    3
    1
    3
See reviews for
1
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

Where do I start, we booked the apartment for my friend birthday with 6 other friends, when we arrived wayne showed us to our so called city centre apartment (more like salford than city centre, very dodgy location) at first glance the apartment looked nice and wayne was more than helpful. Things went down hill fast from here, on a closer look there were sick stains on the bedroom carpets, a large burn in the panel on the side of the fridge, the sofa had collasped at one end leaving metal protruding and the beds were an absolute disgrace even a tramp would have found them uncomfy.
Just before wayne left he just dropped into conversation that basically we had drawn the short straw as we had been put in an apartment adjacent to residential ones, soon we were to meet our neighbours at 8.30pm they put a note through the door saying please keep the noise down, wayne then called to mention the complaint , he was aware of the noise problems as it had been going on for weeks and they were more than aware it wasn't us !! I can assure there was no excessive noise, just sensitive neighbours. When we spoke to other residents they said it's so noisey at weekends in the apartments so not to worry. At 11.30ish when were now all in bed as the evening had the dampners put on it by waynes call, we recieved another call to say they were coming to through us out !!! As the one of the girls was heavily pregnant and everyone else was in bed this was totally unbelieveable.. Wayne let him self into the apartment with some young lad teling us to leave and we could always go the Salvation Army, as we were packing our bags a stream of policemen arrived 15 to be exact to throw us out. As we were leaving it came to light the young lad had made slanderous comments to other residents saying "we had totally trashed the apartments"! This whole experience was absolutley dreadful, intimerdating, upsetting,and disturbing, not only were we just thrown into the seedy streets of salford but no thought was given to our safety at any point. If you are considering stay here think again, the whole package including the apartment and the management are a disgrace to the city of Manchester.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank springo____11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

The whole experiance was a joke from start to finish.These flats are advertised as luxury apartments in manchester city centre when in reality they are unkept student flats that are more or less in salford.I booked the apartment for my birthday with 6 other girls, On arrival at these" apartments" the enterance hall was littered with junk mail and most of the mail boxes were smashed open.when we entered the flat on first look they seemed ok but on closer inspection with the help of the "wonderful"( and please when i say wonderful know that I am being sarcastic) duty manger wayne we saw there was sick stains on the carpets in the bedrooms where it looked liked someone had just lent out of the bed and thrown up, there was a big burn on the side of the fridge and there was a sharp piece of mental sticking out from the broken settee which later on one of my friends cut themselves on but we put this to the side.The real problems started at 8.30pm when we got our first complaint from our neighbours about the noise telling us if we didnt shut up they would get our power turned off this was followed by several phone calls to and from wayne about the noise level who told us that people had complained about us running up and down the corridors,I am 33 not 12 my days of running up and down corridors like a delinquent are long gone, no one had even left the apartment at this point when i told wayne this he said it had been happening for weeks so he knew it wasnt us so im still puzzled as to why he rang me up to tell me about it maybe he was just bored as he obviously didnt do any real work around the place.anyway to cut a long story short at 11.30 I had a phone call to inform me that the bulidings manager was on his way over to tell us to leave, at this point all but 2 of us had gone to bed as we were too scared to make any noise.when wayne let himself into the apartment with some very young looking lad that no one including laterooms seems to know who it was.wayne told me to wake everyone up and go when i said asked where we were supose to go his answer was" the salvation army is down the road" !!!!!!.I asked him to let us stay until the morning as everyone was in bed and he said no the next thing we knew 15 police officers entered the apartment and told us to leave.Not one of the 17 men in the apartment seem to care that they were throwning 7 women on to the streets of Manchester/ Salford at 12.30 at night with no where to go. I dread to think what would have happened if there had been a serious incident in manchester that night that required police assistance as most of the police department seemed to be crammed in to my apartment.We asked them all to give us some time to get our selves together as one of my friends who was dragged from her bed is heavily pregnant and was very shaken up but again we were told to go.Needless to say we were thrown out in to the streets to try and get a taxi home.The whole experiance was not only very intimidating and stressful it was also very frightening to us.I have tried to complain to late rooms but of course they are not interested.We spoke to alot of the students on the night that live there and belive me its nearly all students and they all said that the nosie at the apartment was always the same so they didnt understand why we had been thrown out.so take my advise do not stay here unless you want a low rate student flat and dont intend to speak for the duration of your stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rachel_brownhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2011

Apartment was ok...you get what you pay for. But on check out the cleaner was very rude! told us we had to take our rubish with us! i never stayed in any property (hotel, B&B or self cartered aprtment) were you have to take the contence of your bin with you on departure!!! and instructed to in such a rude manor!

The internet advertises the property as 4/5 * .... i work in the idustry myself and i would pearsonly rate it as a 1/2 *

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lydnsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2010

We stayed here when going a concert at the MEN. The apartments are close to the MEN arena (walkable 5-10 mins) but are located in what looks like a dodgy part of town so i would advise getting a taxi in the dark. The apartment was good value in one way as 3 of us stayed for £69 and the apartment could have slept another 5 so for large groups would make a really cheap way of staying in Manchester. However, the lounge rug was filthy, all the glasses in the cupboard still had lipstick marks around them, bed sheets didn't look clean etc. If you're fussy about cleanliness this is not the place for you. Also as the apartments are right by a railway line you can hear trains arriving and departing which is abit noisy. To make matters worse, the night we stayed a load of lads were causing trouble in the hallway and let off a fire extinguisher in a resident's face we found out the next morning when she asked them to be quiet. The police were called so the next morning the apartment block owner had to knock on everyone's doors trying to find out who the culprits were..... This place is not the place to go for luxury or a romantic stay but if you literally want somewhere to put your head down for the night you might be alright here. If a group of us came to Manchester again I would consider staying in an apartment again, but not this block.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CatFarrell01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed here as a family of 6 and apart from a few minor faults with the apartment, these are good value for money. If you walk down the side of The Lowry Hotel and over the bridge you are on Deansgate. The parking is £10 a night and right next door. The bedrooms are small but we only wanted somewhere to rest our heads. Can't say much about the kitchen as we ate out, but the kitchen has the basics in it bread, milk, tea coffee etc, which is really handy. All in all a good find.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Morecambians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2009

Me and five girls friends stayed here last night and were really impressed. Nothing too much trouble for staff and appts clean and modern. Good location for shopping and MEN arena. Highly recommended

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanandCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
1.3 mi away
Innkeeper's Lodge Stockport, Heaton Chapel
1.5 mi away
Trivelles Mayfair
Trivelles Mayfair
#13 of 15 in Stockport
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
1.2 mi away
Chancellors Hotel
Chancellors Hotel
#72 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Diamond Lodge
Diamond Lodge
#65 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
3.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fresh Apartments Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fresh Apartments Manchester

Property: Fresh Apartments Manchester
Address: Fresh 138 Chapel Street, Manchester M3 6DE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 135
Also Known As:
Five Star Apartment Hotels Ltd Fresh Luxury Apartments Hotel Manchester
5 Star Apartment Hotels Ltd Fresh Luxury Apartments

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing