We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do you enjoy being treated like a criminal?”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
My-Places Serviced Apartments
Ranked #80 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Do you enjoy being treated like a criminal?”
Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

Do you enjoy being treated like a criminal? If you do, then this is the place for you! You can be verbally assaulted and slandered by management and pay for the pleasure! You can have the management illegally take 400 pounds from your account in the disguise of a never mentioned before deposit to which they will hold you randsom too. You can enjoy the agreed upon price be magically increased at a moments notice.

In all seriousness, the flat was incredibly overpriced but fine but the management were so incredibly awful you wouldn't even wish them on your enemies. They raised the price of the flat at a moments noticed despite the agreed price and backed us into a corner about paying it. They were rude and abusive on the telephone towards us. There was items stolen from the apartment and the police were called and a report was filled. We informed the management about this. We then got a phone call about this from management a couple of hours later. They called us liars and a few extra charmers and claimed that they had rung the police who had no recorded of the thief (lies - we have the report number as proof). And the deposit! This was never ever mentioned. It was just taken from an account. And we were held randsom to it. And despite the fact we were paying an eye watering and not worth it 700 for 2 nights they expected us to clean the bloody flat as well.

If you want your holiday or trip ruined by foul people stay here.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Aisling O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyPlacesManchester, Manager at My-Places Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
The guests booked to stay with us in April, 2014 for 20 people. We booked her 3 city centre apartments which she agreed to after viewing links to all three apartments. Initially the booking was for our largest townhouse but unfortunately was booked at the same time as another booking came thru. We immediately told the guest about this and after viewing the link to the other three properties agreed to be moved at NO EXTRA COST. The price of the booking was NEVER increased. She was made aware that we would need a 30% deposit to guarantee her booking and if she preferred she could send her credit card details in order for payment to be taken or pay the deposit by Bank transfer/ Paypal and her booking would then be confirmed in writing once this payment was received. She sent her credit card details and the deposit was taken. The guest then called the following day querying the payment taken and we again explained that it was the deposit for her booking but if she wished to pay by another payment method, we would be happy to refund the card. She declined and said it was OK, she simply did not understand.
Confirmation was then sent out which outlined the payment we already received, outstanding balance and also the fact that a security deposit of £399.99 would be taken a day prior to arrival for her booking, from the card she supplied. When we tried to take the security deposit a day prior to arrival, the card declined. The guest was called and made aware that we were unable to hold the security deposit and said she would deal with it on check in, which she did and was happy for us to hold. She was advised that this would be held against her card but not taken and could take up to 7 working days to be returned by her bank to the card used. The guests had clearly not read the emailed confirmation sent months prior to their arrival date or had overlooked the paragraph referring to the security deposit.
The guests had a successful check in and when our colleague left the group they were happy with the apartments and had no complaints. Approximately, 2 and ½ hours later, we received a call to say one of the three apartments was burgled and that it was reported to the police. The guest said that the apartment was left opened even though we had supplied two sets of keys for each apartment which also has a fob to allow one to get into the building itself. Due to this security measure, we do not expect anyone without a fob to gain access to the building or any apartments. We also took it upon ourselves to report the crime to the police and made a log of all the details as reported by the guest.
A senior manager also called the guest who she told that the crime had been reported and the police are now dealing with the matter. The guest has reported that she has asked several tenants of the building and the police who verified that several apartments have been burgled in this complex but at no time has any such crime been reported or made aware to us, hence the shock of having this happen to one of our valued guests. We did everything we could to make sure the guest and her party were comfortable and safe whilst staying with us.
All our apartments are fully furnished and all beddings are provided, including extra bedding for the sofa beds. All our furnishings are kept up to quality standards with no broken or wobbly tables and all carpets are vacuumed and kept looking almost brand new with no stains. The apartments are painted on a regular basis and touched up each week as a booking departs, ready for our next valued guests. We frequently update the decor of the apartments along with beddings, towels and accessories to keep them modernised.
Whilst the guests were in the apartment, we were not made aware that the hot water was not working properly and they stayed for two days without any such complaints being reported. We have since then tested the hot water in all three apartments and have noted that this works perfectly fine.
We have no expectations or make no demands for the apartments to be cleaned by our guests before they depart as we have a housekeeping department which deals with this. What we do ask, is that the apartments be left in a satisfactory condition and their furnishings be left in the same condition as they were found in. At no time would any member of staff advise guests to clean the apartment before they leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    12
    2
    2
    13
See reviews for
7
Couples
0
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

There were a group of 20 of us staying in 3 flats for a hen weekend, the staff dealing with us were rude and aggressive. They took money from our accounts without telling us and tried to rip us off at a number of points. The worst part is we had no idea about the reputation of this place. Within 10 minutes of arriving one of the flats was BURGLED! Phones, ipads, cameras, purses the LOT! Out of the flat for 10 minutes and they cleared us out! Spoke to residents, apparently the entire 3rd floor were robbed the previous week! When we spoke to the management company about what happened they were unhelpful and left us to call the police and deal with the fall out. The only good thing was the police were quick and polite, they had clearly been to these flats a number of times - we now know of it's reputation.

On top of that the flats were small, dated and the floors clearly hadn't been hoovered in weeks! There was 1 bathroom for 7 people and at £700 for 2 nights we could have stayed in a much nicer place. Lesson learned the hard way!

DO NOT USE this company. Save the money, go to a nice place for half the price and don't get robbed (by the thieves that took our valuables and by the guy that owns this sham of a company)

Room Tip: Avoid this place at all costs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank combels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MyPlacesManchester, Manager at My-Places Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
The guests booked to stay with us in April, 2014 for 20 people. We booked her 3 city centre apartments which she agreed to after viewing links to all three apartments. Initially the booking was for our largest townhouse but unfortunately was booked at the same time as another booking came thru. We immediately told the guest about this and after viewing the link to the other three properties agreed to be moved at NO EXTRA COST. The price of the booking was NEVER increased. She was made aware that we would need a 30% deposit to guarantee her booking and if she preferred she could send her credit card details in order for payment to be taken or pay the deposit by Bank transfer/ Paypal and her booking would then be confirmed in writing once this payment was received. She sent her credit card details and the deposit was taken. The guest then called the following day querying the payment taken and we again explained that it was the deposit for her booking but if she wished to pay by another payment method, we would be happy to refund the card. She declined and said it was OK, she simply did not understand.
Confirmation was then sent out which outlined the payment we already received, outstanding balance and also the fact that a security deposit of £399.99 would be taken a day prior to arrival for her booking, from the card she supplied. When we tried to take the security deposit a day prior to arrival, the card declined. The guest was called and made aware that we were unable to hold the security deposit and said she would deal with it on check in, which she did and was happy for us to hold. She was advised that this would be held against her card but not taken and could take up to 7 working days to be returned by her bank to the card used. The guests had clearly not read the emailed confirmation sent months prior to their arrival date or had overlooked the paragraph referring to the security deposit.
The guests had a successful check in and when our colleague left the group they were happy with the apartments and had no complaints. Approximately, 2 and ½ hours later, we received a call to say one of the three apartments was burgled and that it was reported to the police. The guest said that the apartment was left opened even though we had supplied two sets of keys for each apartment which also has a fob to allow one to get into the building itself. Due to this security measure, we do not expect anyone without a fob to gain access to the building or any apartments. We also took it upon ourselves to report the crime to the police and made a log of all the details as reported by the guest.
A senior manager also called the guest who she told that the crime had been reported and the police are now dealing with the matter. The guest has reported that she has asked several tenants of the building and the police who verified that several apartments have been burgled in this complex but at no time has any such crime been reported or made aware to us, hence the shock of having this happen to one of our valued guests. We did everything we could to make sure the guest and her party were comfortable and safe whilst staying with us.
All our apartments are fully furnished and all beddings are provided, including extra bedding for the sofa beds. All our furnishings are kept up to quality standards with no broken or wobbly tables and all carpets are vacuumed and kept looking almost brand new with no stains. The apartments are painted on a regular basis and touched up each week as a booking departs, ready for our next valued guests. We frequently update the decor of the apartments along with beddings, towels and accessories to keep them modernised.
Whilst the guests were in the apartment, we were not made aware that the hot water was not working properly and they stayed for two days without any such complaints being reported. We have since then tested the hot water in all three apartments and have noted that this works perfectly fine.
We have no expectations or make no demands for the apartments to be cleaned by our guests before they depart as we have a housekeeping department which deals with this. What we do ask, is that the apartments be left in a satisfactory condition and their furnishings be left in the same condition as they were found in. At no time would any member of staff advise guests to clean the apartment before they leave.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Me and 9 friends stayed in a 10 bed townhouse in Abbotsfield Court, Manchester. The house met all of our needs and was a short drive to the arena. Communication from my places was excellent in the build up to the stay and someone was waiting to meet us on arrival. Would definitely recommend for price, convenience, and service.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonnyshields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
my-places53, Public Relations Manager at My-Places Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, August 27, 2015
Thank you for your review although this review related to another of our properties we thank you very much for stating you would recommend us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

Very good service from the staff, clean, nicely decorated and extremely well located (nice freebies too!). When I originally booked 6 of my friends were coming (making it £60 per person per night) but one dropped out at the last second leaving me to cough up £120 for my night. So I would say as long as you have reliable friends, with one who doesn't mind sleeping in the lounge and two who don't mind sharing a double bed in the same room as a single bed then it's great.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yesitsjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
my-places53, Public Relations Manager at My-Places Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, August 27, 2015
Hi, we are sorry you feel you had to pay more than necessary for your stay with us, as with any company we do have terms and conditions that we adhere to which has caused your issues, we cannot factor in issues with friends, our property sleeping arrangements are detailed everywhere where you can make a booking and we can only state that whilst every care is taken to make our clients happy on this occasion the client was not happy with the bed configuration.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We were a stag party of 19 guys, having the stag celebration in Manchester. After struggling to find an apartment for us to stop in I luckily stumbled across Elizabeth Street Townhouse provided through MyPlaces. It was fantastic. I paid a deposit and paid the rest on the day with cash (although it could have been paid with card) which suited us fine! It was clean, spacious, with wi-fi, sky, heating (essential as we stopped end of November!) and even some biscuits waiting for us. There was plenty of sleeping space for everyone, three bathrooms and a conservatory. It was only 2 miles from town, which was 6 to 7 quid in a taxi, or, if walked in would take about 20 mins. Overall I was completely satisfied with the house and the service received from the staff at MyPlaces. I'll definitely be using them again in the future.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
my-places53, Public Relations Manager at My-Places Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, August 27, 2015
We thank you very much for your review although the property in the review relates to one of our other properties we think your comments were spot on and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlensee, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This was my third stay with My Places. I can't think of staying with somebody else when I travel to Manchester. You have all you need in the Apartment. The locations are very central. We get everything you want. Very good service.
Looking forward next year to stay again !!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xairoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
my-places53, Public Relations Manager at My-Places Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, August 27, 2015
Thank you for your review we enjoy the fact you enjoy your stay we look forward to seeing again every year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

My apartment slept 7, was well stocked, with biscuits etc as freebies. Fully equipped kitchen, could easily have stayed for a few days. Wifi included. Immaculately clean, the staff were brilliant from start to finish. It doesn't have a concierge so its a 'meet and greet' with the keys which most of the good apartments are. Hallway clean and foyer modern. You are within a stones throw of everything Manchester has to offer. I stayed there when the football was on, the conservative party conference and Fleetwood mac playing at MEN. Everywhere else to stay was either sold out or extortionate, however my-places were very reasonably priced. I am already planning on staying again next month when I have another conference. On the down side, I will be requesting an apartment at the back as even though 5 floors up, I could hear the buses running all night!

Room Tip: Stay at the back of the apartment. There is a supermarket directly under for all your amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesLes71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
my-places53, Public Relations Manager at My-Places Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, August 27, 2015
We are very happy this client enjoyed their stay and also was very impressed with the property, although not fully satisfied we do have to highlight that our property is very centrally located within the city centre and is ideal for everything nearby, all our properties have double glazed windows and we are sorry to hear that this particular client although 5 floors up could hear traffic which is out of our control. We are very happy the client seemed in the most part happy. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
Chancellors Hotel
#64 of 118 in Manchester
42 reviews
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 118 in Manchester
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#71 of 118 in Manchester
819 reviews
Velvet
#10 of 118 in Manchester
1,775 reviews
Didsbury
Eleven Didsbury Park
Eleven Didsbury Park
#9 of 118 in Manchester
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My-Places Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My-Places Serviced Apartments

Property: My-Places Serviced Apartments
Address: 107 Chatsworth House, Manchester M1 1BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — My-Places Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your My-Places Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing