We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
My-Places Serviced Apartments
Ranked #81 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Stayed here with a group of friends, excellent value for money and the city center is only approx 10 mins away, would recommend for a short stay. We were met on arrival and shown around the property and given instructions. Its a basic house with very good heating which was welcome on a cold December evening in Manchester.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeremygasson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
my-places53, Public Relations Manager at My-Places Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 18, 2012

We would like to thank you very much for staying with us and thank you very much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 54 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2012

I had a rather fantastic night with my girlies last weekend. I must say it was a great experience having my hen night in Manchester. The apartment was great meeting my high standards and the location was perfect for a night (didnt even need a taxi lol). The staff were very friendly and were quick to deal with my requests.

Room Tip: Chatsworth house is right in the heart of the City Center 'good for shopping' etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kelly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
my-places53, Public Relations Manager at My-Places Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

My-Places management would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Myself and 4 friends traveled to Manchester on Tuesday 6th November because we were going to a concert. We had originally booked an apartment with Central Apartments via booking.com. On arrival in Manchester my friend who organized everything received an email saying our apartment was no longer available and we had been upgraded and we were given directions to the new property. We arrived in Manchester at 3pm and when we got the new address it was 3.30pm.After ringing the property owners for half an hour to collect our keys we received a phone call from booking.com saying that this new apartment was now not available. Obviously we were annoyed but we understand these things happen. Booking.com advised us to make a new booking in a different apartment which did cost more but we would be refunded any extra as it was not our fault. The gentlemen we spoke to said he would email all the details straight over for our new apartment through My Places Serviced Apartments. Another 20minutes of standing in the cold we still had no email so we rang booking.com back and spoke to a women, she told us the previous member of staff actually didn't bother making the booking. This lady made our reservation and we were told to go straight to 514 Skyline Chamber Apartments. Once we got outside this new apartment we rang the office number we were told to ring so that we could make them aware we were outside. They told us that they would 10-15 minutes with the keys which we were really happy about as we had now been stood in the cold for 2 and half hours. After half an hour we rang them back as they still had not arrived... they said they needed more details from us and required us to pay a £299 deposit in case of damages in the apartment (not sure why they didn't ask for it the first time we spoke to them) anyway we payed this and the gentlemen said he was on his way... Obviously we know they probably don't get many people booking and turning up straight away but our situation was different because we had been messed around so much by Booking.com. It got to 6.30pm and we were still out in the cold and were upset, annoyed and our day and night had been ruined, we were too cold and fed up and the doors had already opened for our concert. Finally the guy turned up at 6.45 with the keys so we got in for 5 minutes and headed straight to M.E.N Arena.

This apartment had the potential to be AMAZING but unfortunately it was DISGUSTING!!!! The Bathroom and Kitchen were clean... the bedrooms still had other peoples hair on the sheets plus yellow stains... There was two double bedrooms which i slept in 1 and my friend and boyfriend slept in the other. The two other guys had the sofa beds in the living room. Duvets and Pillows were provided with no duvet cover or pillow cases, They had peoples body hair on, blood stains and what looked like sick stains too :-( The carpets had liquid stains, mud and hair all over them plus left over food from whoever stayed there previously (photos will be attached) We all went to sleep in our clothes as we didn't want anything touching us. The sofa had massive rips in too. Basically our whole stay was ruined. We were so tired and cold from being outside for nearly 4 hours we didn't enjoy our concert very much and i think what made it worse was the staff just had no sympathy or consideration... We did speak to the cleaner in the morning who was lovely but was embarrassed at the state of the apartment and admitted that the hoover does not work ( she didn't even have any cleaning products with her)

After speaking to Adrian in customer service after arriving home he made us aware that in fact it was our fault things were not done properly because we were rushing them which is why we had no bedding and why it took them 2 and a half hours to bring the keys :-( All in all i would not recommend this to anyone and i will never book with them or booking.com again. I work in a 5 gold star hotel in the Lake District and i would be sacked if i treated my customers that way. All the staff we dealt with during our stay in Manchester need to go on courses in customer service even though it is pretty much just common sense. I have noticed from other trip advisor reviews that whoever responds seems to have an answer for everything but quite frankly there is just no excuse for our apartment to be in the state it was. People don't waste your money here.. I am sure there are some very lovely places that are worth spending money to stay in.

Room Tip: Book somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mickealajn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
my-places53, Manager at My-Places Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for your review. We have noted all the points you have raised. It is considerably understandable that you would have felt frustrated in the given situation, which you experienced.

There were however, points in which you have noted that were not foreseeable and were beyond our control.

We must note that your booking came through to us last minute, there are legal and standard requirements that had to be adhered to before granting you access to the apartment. This included asking you to make a payment for the pre authorisation in accordance with our terms and conditions. This explains why you experienced some delays, and we surely do empathise with your situation, which was acknowledgeable to be beyond your control.

We must emphasise that we were working hastily towards getting you into the property away from the cold. Our cleaner did have to work quicker than usual and on such basis the maintainer was not able do the usual checks as would have done in the ordinary course of business and we do sincerely apologise for this. We are sure that one can reasonably understand from our point of view given the short time period of time and again we do understand that it was not your fault.

We do take all complaints serious and have since investigated and taken the necessary measures to deal with certain concerns risen.

The fact that you had to go through 3 different hotels prior to ours is understandably a reason for, which you may have felt discouraged but does not have anything to do with the services we provide at My-Places. This matter should have therefore been directly addressed to Booking.com

We do recognize that you may have had a bad experience based on unforeseeable circumstances, but we can assure you that this does not reflect the services we provide nor does it reflect on the nature of our business. We since brought this matter to the attention of all our staffs that are now aware of how to better deal with such unusual circumstances.

We hope to confirm this by kindly inviting you to stay at one of our properties and providing you with the luxurious experience in which we normally provide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

this was a fabulous apartment to stay in, we found everything that we needed included, it was great to have free wi-fi available, the staff were friendly & helpful, the location was fantastic, right in the heart of manchester, only minutes to walk to the shops and later to bars and clubs. we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sarah949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
my-places53, Public Relations Manager at My-Places Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded December 17, 2012

My-Places management would like to take this opportunity to thank you very much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

If you are happy to be staying in an apartment where there is no hot water and you are basically told that in order to get a refund you must leave then this is the place for you. The staff are so rude and quite literally borderline abusive that we had to ask one of them to leave the apartment when he came to look at the boiler. I will never ever stay in one of their apartments again and will listen to other travellers reviews in the future!

As far as I'm concerned no hot water makes a place unliveable, however the people at My Places would disagree.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank KerriRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
my-places53, Manager at My-Places Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Thank you for your review. We understand that there may have been unforeseeable events, which may have contributed to the unpleasant experience of your stay. We do appreciate each and every review and have reflected and acted upon such reviews.

All of our properties have constant hot water boiling systems, thus we are astonished by the fact that there was no hot water at the apartment that you stayed in. We do conduct regular checks on each and every property but there may be one off’s where inevitably things may dysfunction or a customer may not be wary of how to use a particular facility. For such instances is the reason why we have well trained staff who are always ready to assist, as evidently proved when you brought this matter to our attention.

As a company we must investigate each and every complaint thoroughly before we may issue any refunds. For the purposes of protecting our business, a refund must be reasonably warranted, which we hope you find understandable.

The staffs that dealt with you have been disciplined and are no longer work for this company as we do take such allegations seriously. Please note that we now have new well trained staffs that are qualified to provide excellent customer services. We would therefore like to kindly invite you to stay at one of our properties where we can assure you that you will be receiving a luxurious experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

The flat is very well located, right in the heart of the Northern Quarter of Manchester, but unfortunately is extraordinarily bad value for what you get. The beds were uncomfortable, the flat not as clean as it should have been, the fobs to allow access to the building were temparamental, the remote control for the television did not work, and the staff were not very helpful - and that's if they answered the phone.

They may not be as well located, but there are definitely better and more affordable alternatives in Manchester.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thetravelingwheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
my-places53, Manager at My-Places Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for your review, we have taken into account all the points that you have raised.

We work tirelessly towards maintaining our properties to a high standard and appreciate all the constructive comments, which have helped enhance the structure of our business.
You stated that the property was not clean we must note that all our properties are regularly checked and maintained by our dedicated staff prior to the arrival of guests. The staff would have certainly detected and corrected the issue if the place was not clean.

We price all our properties in accordance with the level of services and facilities we provide. For example we provide luxurious items such as flat screen televisions, docking stations and many more items. Every year there is major refurbishments and repairs to all our properties in order to keep up to do date with current trends and provide customer satisfaction.

All of our staffs are trained through our new training programme for customer services, the staff who dealt with you have been dealt with accordingly and no longer work for this company.
We would therefore like to invite you to stay at one of our properties in order for us to provide you with an impressive experience. We do hope that you choose to come and witness all the significant changes carried out thanks to some of the concerns raised on your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

We only ended up here because our preferred hotel (Roomzzz) was fully booked. There was a bit of a mix up with the check in and the additional charges seemed a little unreasonable. We seemed to be a bit of an inconvenience and the company certainly didn't seem to be happy to be running the apartment.

The place itself was big, but the furniture was cheap and the decor tatty. The plates in the cabinet were dirty, there was barely enough cutlery to service out needs and it was missing things like oven glovesm a tea towel and perhaps a baking tray to use the oven. Myself and my mother would also have appreciated a hairdryer.

The place was covered in clip frames filled with notices saying "Dont do this" and "Dont do that". The biggest was advising not to smoke, this seemed odd to me as the place smelt oddly of cigarettes when we arrived.

The greatest annoyance came from the windows which were locked OPEN!! This meant we were subjected to the full noise of Manchester Uni's Freshers Week and what appeared to be a neighbouring bus station.

We will never use again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank l0vemyh0liday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
my-places53, Manager at My-Places Serviced Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded January 21, 2013

Thank you for your review, we can assure you that all your comments have been taken into consideration. First and foremost we have acted upon the issues raised and have worked tirelessly towards improving the nature of our business.

You claimed that the additional charges were unreasonable but we must bring to your attention that any charges, which you incurred, were subject to our terms and conditions and was not something, which was so implemented at our own discretion. We did keep you well informed with the information pack that was emailed to yourself including all the necessary details including check-in procedures and any additional charges, which may be incurred.
We now have better structured check-in procedures and have new well trained staff that provide exceptional customer service skills.

All our properties go through major refurbishment and redecorating by our team of interior designers every year in order to keep up with current trends. All our properties are regularly checked and maintained had any cutlery or items been absent the maintainer would have brought this to our attention and we would have acted immediately to purchase replacements.
We must also bring to your attention that there is no obligation for us to provide things like oven gloves or baking trays nor do we need to provide hairdryers. We now do provide these luxury items in our properties due to high customer demand.

Our terms and conditions clearly stipulate that we do not tolerate smoking in our apartments we therefore apologise for the fact that a previous customer has breached this condition, which affected to enjoyment of your stay. We have implemented stricter measures to deal with customers who breach such terms and conditions.

All our cleaning staffs now have check lists, which specify the cleaning standards and processes to be satisfied in each property. As well as this, we have maintenance engineers who double check all the properties to ensure that everything is up to standard.

We highly value all reviews, which helped shape the nature of our business today and would like to kindly invite you to experience these significant changes made since your last stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
1.0 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Upper Brook Street
1.0 mi away
The Principal Manchester
The Principal Manchester
#17 of 120 in Manchester
762 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Suites
Premier Suites
#41 of 120 in Manchester
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Oxford Road House
#14 of 79 in Manchester
3 reviews
0.8 mi away
Verdene Hotel B&B
Verdene Hotel B&B
#3 of 29 in Manchester
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My-Places Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My-Places Serviced Apartments

Address: 107 Chatsworth House, Manchester M1 1BY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Price Range: $327 - $966 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — My-Places Serviced Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your My-Places Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing