We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Airport stopover hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Ranked #24 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
117 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent Airport stopover hotel”
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this Premier Inn the night before an early morning flight. For the price, there are no better options at Manchester Airport.

Located next to the freight terminal this hotel is only a minutes drive from the airport. Just off the M56 motorway it is easy to find and get to. Once into the hotel it is very much one of the better Premier Inn's. Reception is spacious, also on the ground floor is the bar and restaurant. We dined at the restaurant and had some good quality food. It can get busy so it is worth booking a table. Also by reception were a few computers with paid access to the internet.

Our room was large and the usual Premier Inn standard. So you get a large bed, table, and TV housed in a multi purpose unit with a mirror and kettle. The en-suite bathroom had the toilet and shower but the sink was separate and in the bedroom.

Check out was easy as was the transfer to the airport. The hotel has a regularly timed bus transfer to the airport for a few pounds. You could also arrange a taxi but that would cost more.

If you are used to Premier Inn's this hotel will not dissapoint and for the price, you would be hard pressed to beat it!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view of the airport. This will keep you away from the motorway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coyotes_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,274
    881
    304
    99
    58
See reviews for
788
1,082
191
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We use Premier Inns a lot, especially for those occasions when my partner is going to Triathlon events. They are usually very clean, friendly, no-nonsense places with excellent beds.

We booked for one night at this particular Premier Inn as we had an early flight the next morning. The bonus we expected was that we would get to eat in the Thyme restaurant - usually something we really look forward to as they are way better than the Brewer's Fayre (in our experience). However. We did not have our usual stress-free and pleasant stay.

1. For some reason, sat-navs seem to place the Premier Inn Runger Lane South far away from Premier Inn Runger Lane North - this is innacurate, as they are essentially on the same plot.
2. There is a charge to use the car park unless you are disabled. £5 per night, which seems a bit cheeky as it was not mentioned at the time of booking.
3. The Thyme restaurant waiters do not write the orders down, and so consequently there was a misunderstanding that had to be rectified at the end of the meal. If the order had been written down, we could have got that sorted out from the off.
4. The carpet under our table in the restaurant looked as if the vacuum cleaner bag had exploded all over, and no-one could be bothered to sort it out. The mess was sticking to my shoes!
5. The room (328?) has two double beds. No problem with that. But if it was meant to be a family room, it had a ridiculous arrangement of a tiny little toilet and shower room with the sink outside. A family room really needs a bath if there are young children involved, and the sliding door bangs badly. Hardly a good feature to have if there is supposed to be a quiet night initiative! There was a lot of dead space in that room, such that creating a complete bathroom would have made far more sense, with the sink inside and a proper bath. This would also have made room for a proper door opening, which in turn would allow for a dampener on the closing mechanism. We have been to plenty of Premier Inns before, and never seen such a poor use of space.
6. The heated towel rail did not work. On closer inspection, this is probably because the control dial cap is completely missing, and only the screws remain. Being able to see the earth bond post does not add to confidence!

Altogether, it seemed as though Premier Inn somewhat rests on its laurels here, exploiting the fact that customers need the convenience of being so near to the airport. Charging for car parking and not maintaining the rooms and restaurant properly are not good signs.

Room Tip: 328, for all its niggles is a big family-sized room on the "good" side of the hotel, away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YorksClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

stayed here as had early morning flight from Manchester airport. the staff are extremely helpful and pleasant, even ordered our taxi for 5am, which was waiting for us. had excellent meal in the comfortable restaurant, and the rooms were perfect. Premier inn have listened to their customers and they have thought of everything.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz248
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We chose this hotel at a really good price and we made a good choice. We stayed in the hotel as we were travelling from Manchester Airport. The rooms were large and very clean and nicely decorated. The room was very quiet and we slept well, refreshed ready for our 8.10 am flight the next day. The bathroom was very clean and modern. The reception and restaurant staff where exceptional and very friendly. We had a meal in the restaurant in the evening and it was freshly cooked and first rate. The soup was gorgeous and my husband's steak cooked to perfection. I had a curry that was very good. We will be using the hotel again next January when we travel from Manchester again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank denise384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

Excellent service. Good evening meal. Excellent breakfast. Clean and modern room with all facilities. Shame the wifi is only available free for half an hour. Other disappointment was paying £5 extra for parking overnight, would have expected free parking? Would recommend staying for convenience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WilliamsLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

Chose this hotel purely on price - the room was clean and comfortable, shower was spot on and yes the motorway is there but we were warned about in when booking, and the cost of the room made the noise seem quieter. Certainly would use this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peewee In Uk
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This was meant to be an overnight stay as we had an early flight and as we live about 2 hours from the airport we mistakenly thought we could get a good nights sleep as we had a 11 hour flight to face so it was going to be a very long day how wrong we were the hotel is right on the side of the motorway and the constant roar of the traffic and the not so comfortable bed we got no sleep at all and there dinners are twice the price of there brewers fare restaurants for the same meals

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jamie1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhitbreadHotels, Online Customer Service at Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. At Premier Inn we endeavour to ensure all our guests have a quiet stay in a comfortable environment and do apologise that on this occasion we failed to provide this. Please email your booking details including your reservation number to talktous@premierinn.com and we will follow this up with the Management Team. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manchester
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane North
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester Airport
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Manchester Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Manchester Airport
1.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester Airport
0.2 mi away
Manchester Airport Marriott Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South

Property: Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South
Address: Wilmslow Road Runger Lane | Manchester Airport, Manchester M90 5DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Manchester
#14 Family Hotel in Manchester
#21 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#34 Business Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South 3*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the airport's doorstep, you couldn't be closer to take off - perfect for early morning starts ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Premier Inn and Evoline ltd so you can book your Premier Inn Manchester Airport (M56/J6) Runger Lane South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Manchester Airport Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing