We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern hotel, shame about breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #16 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Modern hotel, shame about breakfast”
Reviewed June 13, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel on several occasions – it is conveniently located with shops, restaurants, Shudehill tram stop giving easy acces to the railway stations and much of the rest of Manchester all within a 5-10 minute walk. Modern rooms with very comfortable beds, contemporary bathroom with an excellent shower and generally a pleasant stay. Try to stay on a higher floor to avoid the traffic noise that isn’t too intrusive but may disturb a light sleeper.. There are a few grumbles, although so far, not major to make me want to stay elsewhere. There is no car parking available at the hotel, although discounted rates are available at the NCP 100 yards down the road. Free wifi is now only available in the public areas and despite being a Platinum member I have never been able to use the club room as offered as it is always fully booked. Breakfast isn’t anything special for this standard of hotel – the usual fare, cheap orange juice, and microwaved vegetarian sausages and pleasant but slow service for the stewed tea (not even from an individual pot).

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazyjanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinFord70, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, June 15, 2010
Thank you for your recent comments on www.tripadvisor.com regarding Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, we appreciate you taking the time to make people aware of experience during your various stays.

I will discuss your comments with our Executive Chef and Restaurant & Bar Manager, we had previously encountered some problems around breakfast but this was all corrected some months ago.

I note your comments around the Vegetarian sausages, these are in fact not cooked in the microwave but I will address accordingly none the less as your perception is certainly that the quality was not acceptable.

If you would like to discuss any part of your experience further I welcome the opportunity to discuss with you personally, please do not hesitate to contact me on my details below.

Once again, thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager

+44 (0) 161 828 8641
robin.ford@cpmanchester.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,303
    882
    231
    50
    25
See reviews for
356
991
102
506
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (443)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2010

I visited the Crowne Plaza with my partner on an overnight trip to see Jay-z. All i can say about this hotel is that it is one of the best hotels in the UK!
When we arrived, check in was speedy and we were in our room immediately. As you walk in (we had a standard double room), it is amazing. The room is well decorated, very spacious, the bed was very very comfy and the bathroom was impeccable. The was also a safe, ironing board and a mini bar in the room. The air con worked fine, we had floor to ceiling windows and although we were on the room facing the main road, you couldnt hear the traffic.
In the morning, we had breakfast as it was included in the price of the room and the food was lovely. A choice of a hot full english, cereal, fruit, personal orders (which cost more) and lots of different types of drinks.
If you are looking for a hotel for an event at the MEN arena, i would highly recommend it as it is a 5 min walk away and practically next to the arndale centre.
Overall, the best stay i have experieced in the UK and i will definitely be returning to many crowne plaza's !!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sgarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinFord70, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, June 15, 2010
Thank you for your recent review on www.tripadvisor.com with regards your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre.

We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre a leader in excellence.

We have also just received an Insider Select Award from Expedia rating our hotel in the top 10 hotels within the UK; we were also the only hotel in Manchester City Centre to be awarded.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future, if you would like to discuss your comments or experience further I welcome the opportunity on my contact details below.

Best Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager

+44 (0) 161 828 8641
robin.ford@cpmanchester.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2010

We stayed here for one night and we were lucky to be upgraded to an executive room. The rooms are big with excellent amenities, the bathroom was amazing with an excellent shower.

The beds are huge and really comfortable. The hotel is handy for all parts of Manchester and close to the Northern Quarter for an excellent night out.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MurphyCatDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinFord70, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, June 15, 2010
Thank you for your recent review on www.tripadvisor.com with regards your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre.

It’s great to receive such comments and I will ensure they are shared with all departments throughout the hotel. Only a few weeks back we received an Insider Select Award from Expedia rating our hotel in the top 10 hotels within the UK; we were also the only hotel in Manchester City Centre to be awarded, this really backs up comments like you so I am very happy to receive such praise.

I thank you for your thoughtful comments and we look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future, if you would like to discuss your comments or experience further I welcome the opportunity on my contact details below.

Best Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager

+44 (0) 161 828 8641
robin.ford@cpmanchester.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2010

Booked one night here to stay after meal out with husband for wedding anniversary.
Room nice enough. Clean. A/C OK.
Booked club room with access to exec lounge - drinks OK - manager helpful - view from hotel rubbish and canapes awful
Breakfast good
staff helpful
gym ok but very small
ncp car park just over road - ask hotel and you get discount

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen_2H20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinFord70, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, June 15, 2010
Thank you for your recent review on www.tripadvisor.com, we greatly appreciate you taking the time to alert others of your experience although on this occasion it seems we did not fully satisfy you based on reading your comments.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodation and your comments are very important to us. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future, I will ensure your comments are circulated within our management team.

I appreciate you taking the time to share your comments with us. If you would like to discuss any part of your experience further I welcome the opportunity to discuss with you personally, please do not hesitate to contact me on my details below.

Once again, thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager

+44 (0) 161 828 8641
robin.ford@cpmanchester.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

I spent quite a bit of time researching where to stay in Manchester for a gig at the MEN. Location won out in the end so we plumped for the Crowne Plaza.

Like a few others who have already reviewed, we plumped for the Club room, which got us a king size bed and access to the Club Lounge on the 8th floor. We spent a very enjoyable few hours in there on the saturday evening with drinks and nibbles before heading to the gig.

I must say I was thrilled with the level of service from the hotel. Having requested a quiet room at the time of booking online, I found that we had been given a room on the 4th floor which is the "quiet zone" - and then our room was a the furthest possible location from the lifts - and even then, the door to our room was behind an additional door on the corridor, so the level of internal hotel noise was zero. This was slightly offset by the noise from the street outside (sirens etc) but this is not the fault of the hotel.

The decor in the room was really nice, black, white and red colour scheme, great bathroom and separate shower.

My only criticism really is the time breakfast was served in the club lounge, between 6.30 - 9.30am. Even though we are qute early risers, we felt this was too early for a Sunday morning, when most people probably want a lie-in after a saturday night out. Even say 7-10 or 10.30 would be better I think.

I would definitely stay here again - the location was also really good for shops etc and parking was easy at the Printworks car park across the road - get the hotel to stamp your ticket on checking out and the parking is only £10.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronaldobiscottini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinFord70, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, June 15, 2010
Thank you for your review on www.tripadvisor.com, its great to read such positive feedback based on your recent stay.

I will ensure the feedback is circulated accordingly and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

If you would like to discuss any part of your experience further I welcome the opportunity to discuss with you personally, please do not hesitate to contact me on my details below.

Once again, thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager

+44 (0) 161 828 8641
robin.ford@cpmanchester.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2010

I stayed here for one night whilst up for a series of meetings in Manchester.

This hotel was perfectly located with super views over the city and within 10 minutes maximum walk of the main shopping area.
It is also convenient for the Shudehill tram stop and the bus interchange - also Victoria station.

Reception staff were efficient & friendly and the lifts were prompt and spacious.
My room was on the 2nd floor and I simply cannot fault it.

The bed was large (quite high) and extremely comfortable and the fitments were high quality without being overwhelming.
I'm not too keen on floor to ceiling windows and they don't open but the air conditioning is unobtrusive and efficient.

The bathroom was a delight: bathrobe, plenty of big fluffy white towels, a corner separate shower as well as a bath. The bowl was one of these trendy ones on a slab and if anything it was rather shallow but not a problem.

There was a large TV and also a hairdryer, iron & board. There was a nice kettle with facilities for tea & coffee making.
A shame there was no free wi-fi in the room. There was wi-fi in public areas but I could not get my netbook connected at all :-(

I ate in the hotel at night and the meal was excellent: rib-eye steak, pepper sauce, mushrooms & fries. Lovely! I had creme brulee for dessert which was also lovely. A good portion for hotel food and a lovely large glass of Zinfandel rose.

Breakfast was excellent too - plenty to choose from with full English (eggs any which way, sausages, bacon, mushrooms, tomatoes, beans, hash browns etc) plus full cold selection including smoked salmon and mortadella, plenty of croissants, pastries, cereals, juices, yoghourts etc. Toast making facilities etc - I really couldn't fault it.

I will definitely stay here when I need to stay over in Manchester again - if I am able! I am told it is regularly fully booked!

All in all a superb experience!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EPD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinFord70, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, June 15, 2010
Thank you for your recent comments regards your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, It’s great to receive such wonderful comments.

I will certainly ensure they are shared with all departments throughout the hotel and i know all our management team will be delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay.

Its great to recieved such praise and only a few weeks back we received an Insider Select Award from Expedia rating our hotel in the top 10 hotels within the UK; we were also the only hotel in Manchester City Centre to be awarded so this really backs up comments like yours!

If you would like to discuss your comments or experience further I welcome the opportunity on my contact details below.

Best Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager

+44 (0) 161 828 8641
robin.ford@cpmanchester.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2010

Stayed here for 1 night at end of May. We booked a standard room and was good value for money.

The location was perfect. We took the train to Manchester Victoria and took about 5 mins walk to get there. It was also perfect location for the MEN Arena, we walked there also and took about 10 mins.

The room was well equipped for a basic room. Nicely decorated and very clean.

We never ate any meals in the hotel and just had one drink. Place looked nice enough though.

Not sure if the hotel has any spa or fitness equipment as it was just a flying visit so we didnt really have time to have a look around.

Cant comment whether they have a car park or not.

The hotel is near to the shops and local supermarkets.

I would stay here again if I visited Manchester.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenhuni88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinFord70, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, June 15, 2010
Thank you for your recent review, i will ensure your comments are circulated accordingly to all of our team here at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre.

Once again, thank you for your comments.

Kind Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager

+44 (0) 161 828 8641
robin.ford@cpmanchester.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
5,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
638 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing