We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location for shopping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #16 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin
1 review
“excellent location for shopping”
Reviewed March 3, 2010

This hotel is located just minutes from the Arndale centre and directly accross from a multi-storey car park. The hotel staff were friendly and very efficient, rooms were excellent as was the buffet breakfast. Gluten free bread was available on request even though I had forgotten to inform the hotel prior to my stay.
The only improvement that I would suggest is for the provision of cigarette disposal bins at the entrances .
Another thoroughly enjoyable stay in a city that I love, all future visits however will be to the crowne plaza.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ModieJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinFord70, Operations Manager, Robin Ford at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, March 8, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre on TripAdvisor, we appreciate you taking the time to make people aware of your experience.

We are always pleased to receive great feedback of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our teams efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire team as reinforcement to continue their efforts.

We do ordinarily have cigarette bins on the two entrances of the hotel, they are incorporated into the plant pots that are either side of the door. Currently these displays are being replaced with an alternative plant so temporary pots are in place that regrettably does not feature the bins.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Warm Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager

P: +44 161 828 8641
E: robin.ford@cpmanchester.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,295
    874
    230
    50
    25
See reviews for
352
986
101
502
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

This Crowne Plaza is easily the best I have stayed in. The hotel is very modern and contemporary. The rooms are of a good size with all the amenities you would expect from 4 star hotel. The beds are so comfy, great night's sleep! Bathrooms are lovely, there is a separate shower, which is pretty powerful.

Bar and restaurant are modern with an island bar separating the two. I had dinner in the restaurant, food was excellent and a very reasonable price for a 4 star hotel. Service in the restaurant was also very good. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice on offer.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Engadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinFord70, Operations Manager, Robin Ford at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, March 8, 2010
Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre and your TripAdvisor review.

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your stay and i will ensure your comments are communicated to all team members accordingly.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Warm Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager

P: +44 161 828 8641
E: robin.ford@cpmanchester.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

We booked this on the day of arrival as the aparthotel we were meant to stay at cancelled due to problems within the complex. On arrival we were impressed at the close proximity to the centre and the ideal car parking situated virtually opposite.
The staff were friendly when we checked in and advised that they had upgraded all 3 rooms that we had booked which was a great bonus. The upgraded rooms were beautiful with modern decor, huge bathrooms and fabulous views. We ordered room service which was delivered in a good time and tasted great. The hotel bar was nice but a little expensive which you tend to expect from city centre hotels.
After a great nights sleep we had breakfast in the restaurant which was a buffet style with a wide variety of options.
All in all a great stay from a very last minute booking!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoCalLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinFord70, Operations Manager, Robin Ford at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, March 8, 2010
Hi,

Thank you for your TripAdvisor review, its great to read you had an enjoyable stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

This is my third trip back to this hotel. I have to say it is a great hotel. Staff were very friendly, including one lady who always remembered my name. Very nice touch.

I'm a Platinum Member of Priority Club and this is one hotel that gets the program and the loyalty it brings. Others (like the Crowne Plaza Place de la Repubique in Paris don't get it and don't care about repeat business!) in the IHG group of hotels don't and that is a pity as repeat business brings extra profits.

I paid the extra for the Club room and they are reasonably spacious. If you are travelling for business, there is a decent sized desk and a great chair to work from. On top of that there are numerous, easily accessible sockets, so now struggling on the floor to plug your laptop in.

Bed and bedding was absolutely superb. Towels were just fantastic in the bathroom which does have a separate shower and are really kitted out well.

On Saturday night the Club Lounge had a real nice buzz in it as guests were enjoying the facilities and the view of the city lights.

I've stayed at the Hilton (which isn't bad - their Club Lounge has an even better view) and the Arora International, both good hotels. However, the CP has way better, friendly staff and is much, much better value.

If you get the chance, the Club Lounge is worth the extra in this hotel!

Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Frequent Traveller from Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinFord70, Operations Manager, Robin Ford at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, March 8, 2010
Thank you for your recent correspondence regarding Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre and your TripAdvisor review.

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your delightful experience during your stay and i will ensure your comments are communicated to all team members accordingly.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Warm Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager

P: +44 161 828 8641
E: robin.ford@cpmanchester.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lakes, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2010

Typical business hotel, all a bit souless and anonymous. Nothing outstanding - nothing really bad either. Rooms are modern and the bathrooms are spacious - the best thing being that they have a separate walk-in shower as well as a bath.

Good(ish) things:
Staff friendly
Spacious rooms

Average(ish) things:
Room service food (they forgot salt & pepper)
Breakfast food - the usual overcooked hot buffet
Tiny wardrobe (ok for one night only)
Location

Bad(ish) things:
Bed too soft for me
Heating not quite powerful enough (same for hot water)


That said though, it's better than some other hotels in the city like the Hilton or the Novotel so would probably go back.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwichScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinFord70, Operations Manager, Robin Ford at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, March 8, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor, i note you had an enjoyable stay but commented our product and service was soulless and average.

It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodation and your comments are very important to us, if i can ask if you would like to discuss the matter and comments further you please contact me on the details below.
Thank you for your review.

Warm Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager

P: +44 161 828 8641
E: robin.ford@cpmanchester.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2010

Spent two nights in hotel and was ideal location for attending men arenaBuilding and roms very good with big windows down to floor level.Acces difficult due to current traffic restriction and NCP car park remote and a bit expensive.Breakfast food fine although service a bit slowFound an excellant Brazilian restaurant only 5 minutes away on foot worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with OctopusTravel

Helpful?
Thank dnhGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinFord70, Operations Manager, Robin Ford at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, March 8, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre on TripAdvisor, we appreciate you taking the time to make people aware of your experience.

We are always pleased to receive great feedback of such a positive nature. It is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our teams efforts and takes the time to say thank you. Your comments will be shared with our entire team as reinforcement to continue their efforts.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments. We look forward to the opportunity of serving you in the future.

Warm Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager
P: +44 161 828 8641
E: robin.ford@cpmanchester.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ldkflower
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2010

We visited this hotel for the location close to Victoria Station and the MEN. We were attending the Stricktly Dancing Tour at the Arena and found the hotel to be a superb location. For anyone wishing to stay a comfortable affordable hotel this is the one. The Rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. Staff very friendly on the desk, and the bar is worth a visit. Unfortunately we didnt eat breakfast in the hotel, as we found it a little expensive.
Will pick this hotel again without giving it a second thought.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldkflower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 118 in Manchester
4,958 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 118 in Manchester
615 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#9 Family Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing