We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Nearby Hotels
$87
$72
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$85
$71
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$87
$72
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$111
$100
Hilton
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$138
$119
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$107
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Midland(Manchester)
$130
$92
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$105
$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$212
$197
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,700)
Filter reviews
2,700 results
Traveler rating
1,400
946
259
58
37
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,400
946
259
58
37
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe club loungenorthern quartercity centrebooked a club roommen arenabath and separate showertwo double bedsprint worksfloor to ceiling windowscar parkcontinental breakfastlovely hotelbars and restaurantsvictoria stationstandard roomfew minutes walkmini bar
Filter
Updating list...
2,537 - 2,542 of 2,700 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2009

We had a nice relaxing time in this hotel after a long busy day in Manchester. Check-in was fast, the staff are helpful and efficient and the rooms are modern and well-designed but there are a couple of things that could be better.
The rooms: some contractors marks still left on the walls, only 1 small bottle of water for 2 people. There were no snacks in the mini-bar which meant a trip to the convenience shop. It is just across the street and this did save us a fortune on minibar prices but I would have prefered not to go out!
Location: it's convenient for shopping and the Printworks but this area around Shudehill is a bit shabby.
Room service: Expensive (over £20 for a burger and an omelette) but the food was really good.
Breakfast: I like to have bread and cheese for breakfast but the cheese was rock hard!! It must have been out for days! Some of the bread was also stale. (This is why I have given 3 stars for cleanliness as the hotel itself seemed very clean)
This is not the best hotel in Manchester but for the price it's good value for money. I recommend the hotel, but not the breakfast!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19katy80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2009

Stayed just Friday night after attending show at MEN. We couldn't haven chosen a better hotel. The hotel has an excellent location and is modern, clean and comfortable. We managed to get a very good rate of £64/room only and went to Cafe North for breakfast - next door!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starrynights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinFord70, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2009

Dear starrynights,

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.com regarding Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience.

I will be sure that your comments are shared with the team as reinforcement to continue our efforts to make the hotel a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments and thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager
robin.ford@cpmanchester.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2009

My Partner and I decided to stay at the Crowne Plaza hotel for 2 nights as a treat as its slightly more expensive that other hotels we stay in, but I am so glad we stayed there and we will be returning again for other stays.
The room was very clean and large enough to have 2large single/small double beds in the room,a table area, wardrobe etc. The bathroom very clean and well thought out, the only downfall was with the shower cubical being quite cramped and limited space to move but good to have the bath seperate. Dressing gowns on the door said extra large but seamed quite small. A good supply of towels, flannels ans soaps.
Complementary water and chocolate was a nice welcome after a few hours of travelling. I thought they could of been a bit better with tea and milk with only having 2 teabags for the night.
Hairdryer, ironing board and iron were all in the room so you didnt need to go and ask which is good as its a bit of a trek to the lift and down to reception.
We didnt have breakfast as it was about £15 each per day but there is a very nice, smart cafe next to the hotel where we ate both mornings but it was very busy one day with people from the hotel!
The location is good with only 5 mins max to the printworks and the centre, we used the train but the is a NCP carpark opposite.
All the staff were very friendly and welcoming and I cant wait to stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsmuggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinFord70, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2009

Dear Mrsmuggles,

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.com regarding Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience.

I will be sure that your comments are shared with the team as reinforcement to continue our efforts to make the hotel a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments and thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager
robin.ford@cpmanchester.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2009

Great location for a concert at the MEN but not the best Manchester hotel I've stayed at. We were upgraded to an 'executive' room at check in but, to be honest, there was no evidence of that in the room - also no tea and very little milk, no complimentary water,
only one bathrobe (for two guests) and no slippers and very limited toiletries.
The bedroom itself was dominated by an enourmous (very comfortable) bed which did not leave much space for the rest of the furniture making it feel cramped and overcrowded. The lighting was inadequate and the wardrobe space was barely big enough to hang our coats and a few items of clothing. If shiny black plastic and Habitat circa 1985 are your thing then you'll love it! The bathroom was a complete contrast in muted browns and stone and well lit. We had a couple of drinks in the bar (late Saturday night) and watched one bloke stand at the bar for nearly twenty minutes waiting for two cocktails even though it was not especially busy. We went down to breakfast quite early (for a Sunday) as the reception staff said it got very busy after ten. The food was good with plenty of choice but I would prefer a pot of tea or coffee rather than have to rely on catching the eye of the waitress.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boxmt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinFord70, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2009

Dear boxmt,

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.com regarding Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience.

I will be sure that your comments are shared with the team as reinforcement to continue our efforts to make the hotel a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments and thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager
robin.ford@cpmanchester.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2009

Just returned from our second break at the crowne plaza, excellent location 5 min walk to all the shops and over the road from the print works.

Our room was on the first floor at the front and there was no noise at all even though the hotel is so close to the clubs of the Printworks.The rooms are very trendy with a lovely bathroom with loads of large fluffy towels and two bathrobes.

This stay our price did not include breakfast which did not bother us as we were not impressed on our last visit. We found a Gem of a Cafe next door called North cafe that serves fantastic breakfast from 9am on a Sunday, great food in a relaxed atmosphere at a fraction of the price charged in the hotel.

Planning our next trip soon as our Daughter is at manchester uni so great excuse for weekend away.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobinFord70, Operations Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2009

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.com regarding Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, We appreciate you taking the time to make us aware of your experience.

I will be sure that your comments are shared with the team as reinforcement to continue our efforts to make the hotel a leader in excellence.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments and thank you for choosing Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Robin Ford
Operations Manager
robin.ford@cpmanchester.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews