We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positive Crowne Plaza experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #16 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Lahti, Finland
Level Contributor
313 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Positive Crowne Plaza experience”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

During the last year I have had many hotel nights but this was my first Crowne Plaza experience. I spent one night in this modern hotel, and had a nicely decorated Clubroom with lounge access. The location of the hotel is good, and you can even have a walk to Piccadilly railway station. My room was spacious, clean and very nice bathroom with high quality amenities. Also staff in the reception was very professional and polite, and almost friendly. I paid my invoice in advance and for this first time I was asked to have 50 pound extra to cover potential costs of drinks and food during my stay in hotel. This was new for me. Free WiFi was rather slow, and unfortunately I did not received promised continental breakfast in the lounge although promised and included in the room rate. Maybe I was too early bird but this important service did not reached me. However, the room itself was very comfortable and I was happy to stay there

Room Tip: Club rooms are very high in their quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OPP_lahti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind comments following your most recent visit to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre. We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable stay and I am sorry to hear you did not have breakfast as it was included in your room rate.

We look forward to welcoming you back where a warm welcome will await you.

Best regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,450 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,283
    865
    227
    50
    25
See reviews for
350
979
97
494
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

Brilliant experience, lovely staff, good location, stayed for a concert and was not disappointed, only a short walk to the phones for you arena, rooms soacios and modern, would definitely return for another concert

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank alex t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay here at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre. We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable visit and intend to return in the future.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here while watching a show at the arena - great location for this and in walking distance. The hotel itself was beautiful and became my favourite hotel because of its modern luxurious feel and decor. Our room also had an amazing view over the city. Can't wait to stop here again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bobsqueak8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
What a lovely review - I am glad that you chose to stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre when going for a show at the Phones 4 You Arena, and that your visit lived up to expectations. Your comments about the hotel are very kind - thank you.

Kind regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014 via mobile

My friend booked two rooms here for two couples for one night. We'd chose Manchester for one reason, to go out for drinks. This hotel was perfect, it's location gave us a 5 minute walk to the shopping centre and also to the bars and restaurants.
Staff were all very friendly, they gave us advice on becoming a member of the crowne plaza (which is free) and totally worth it, gave us discounts and the best part... A later check out of 2pm.
The room itself was very modern, tidy and clean. Couldn't fault the room.
Prices for the restaurant and bar were a tad pricey so we decided to go out for food.
Slept brilliantly and really didn't want to leave.
On our way to check out we were offered the choice of leaving our bags there Incase we wanted to go out for the day which was very ideal as we'd been worried earlier about walking round shops with all our overnight bags.
It's just the little things really that make it.
Really enjoyed my stay, would return for sure and word of advice: become a member! It's free and worth it.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Chloe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
I'm delighted to hear that your weekend at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre was a success - and that the rooms impressed! Thank you so much for your lovely comments, which I'll be sure to pass on to the team. Also, thank you for becoming a member of IHG.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
307 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2014

The hotel is easy to find - and the recommended NCP car park is only a few yards away.
Perhaps just outside the really prime area of the City - but walk a couple of hundred yards and you are there.
The A/C in our room had been turned off (it doesn't work on the room key device - this just turns the lights on and off) and the room had been in strong sun all day. It took several hours for the A/C to take control, but after this it worked efficiently.
Good bathroom and I think the rooms must have all been refurbished reasonably recently. we didn't have to queue for breakfast - but the table and chairs had been rammed in to the extent that it was sometimes hard to walk from the table to the buffet area. They need to remove one line of tables so that there is a walkway!
Efficient, quick reception. Better than the average "business" hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnGerrardsCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to communicate your concerns and compliments regarding our hotel. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide. Thank you for staying with us and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here three times on recent visits to my home city of Manchester. Good value, great service, nice rooms, excellent location, lovely food. Well worth a visit. Parking allowed in large car park opposite hotel. Nice little lounge that serves cocktails and a very nice Bellini! Enjoy!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SuzieL25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Dear Guest,
thank you very much for your kind comments. I am really happy to hear that you choose us when staying in Manchester.
The whole team here at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre will be looking forward to welcoming you soon when your travel plans bring you to Manchester again.

Kind regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Whether for business or pleasuere this Hotel is a must visit. Situated on the fringe of the vibrant Manchester City Centre this Hotel offers all you could possibly need. Close to major attractions yet within easy reach of the Motorway Network, Victoria Station and either Old Trafford or The Etihad Stadium.
The hotel itself offers no parking but there are plenty parking facilities mere yards from the Hotel.
Inside the Hotel the staff are very special and make your stay so memorable - especially Joel in Hostpitality Lounge - A Club Lounge on the Eight Floor is a delight for Executive Club Members.
A great place to relax after a long day in the office. Must visit!

Quality Food and Beverage at reasonable rates for a quality Hotel make this a delight to stay in.

Special thanks also to Miguel, forever helpful and Lauren the delightful Receptionist.

I have no hesitation in recommending this Hotel be it for Business or undoubted Pleasure.

My sincere thanks.

Room Tip: I have stayed in a number of rooms and all were delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
My sincere thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre. Needless to say, I was delighted to read your comments about the staff, the service and the food, and I look forward to sharing this great feedback with all of the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon at the hotel.

Kind regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4,875 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
584 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing