We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some good, mostly poor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #16 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Some good, mostly poor”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

We arrived on Saturday the 23rd at 13:40 to be welcomed by lady, who was a trainee. She was smiley and friendly and informed us that the room was not ready until 14:00. No problem we waited in the bar and had a drink. The bar was very nicely decorated and the Guinness was great. We went back to check in at about 14:10 with the same lady. She did not ask how long we were staying, what type of room we were in or if we wished to leave a credit card for extras. She was too busy upselling breakfast to us. This she did for only one morning even though we were staying two nights. We got to the room and found it was a double bed when we booked a twin. We rang back down to the reception and they said that we should wait in the room and we would be downgraded to a standard twin but could still use the club lounge. We were OK with this and two minutes later we had a knock at the door. A housekeeping porter asked if we were moving and we assumed he would be assisting us. We walked out of the room and he went back to work. We informed him we had been told to wait in the room but he said no we should go downstairs to reception. We did this while a lady was on her way up to give us our new keys. She then came back downstairs and we received the keys to a Club twin room!?!
The receptionist also explained about the use of the club lounge, breakfast times etc.
We had room service that afternoon and the food was very good. Many compliments to the chef. We took a beer and a water from the minibar when we first got in the room and then the minibar was locked. If the receptionist had asked for a pre authorisation on check in we wouldn't have had the issue.
The housekeeping maids we met on the floor were also very friendly.
The room was a bit stuffy and lacked ventilation. It would have been nice to open a window just a tiny bit. The shower cubicle was small and not great for two 6'4" well built blokes. The grout in the shower had black stains on it and there were leak marks on the ceiling by the spotlights. The beds were extremely comfortable.
The breakfast was great with a good variety of cooked items. The supervisor there was very helpful as were the serving staff.
The bar staff on Sunday evening were like chalk and cheese. The blonde gentleman was very friendly. The black haired gentleman acted as if I was a nuisance to him and didn't say please or thank you. If you don't like to serve people don't work in hospitality!
I had breakfast in the Club Lounge on Monday morning and the gentleman working in there was very helpful and friendly. The girl who checked us out was not. Monday morning blues probably.
The hotel was in a great location for the City of Manchester stadium but that is one of only a couple of pluses. I would not chose to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
We really appreciate receiving such a detailed review following your experience at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre. I would like to sincerely apologise for any problems you encountered with regards to your stay. Please rest assure this is not the normal high levels of service the hotel wishes to prevail. It is our aim to continue to improve upon the service we provide. Therefore your comments are extremely important to us. The feedback we receive from valued guests like yourself, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary steps to ensure similar situations are avoided in the future. We appreciate your candid feedback and welcome any opportunity to make improvements. I am most keen for us to discuss the details with you further if you are happy to. Please could you contact us at guest.relations@cpmanchester.com.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
We look forward to hearing from you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,292
    873
    229
    50
    25
See reviews for
352
983
100
502
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (441)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013 via mobile

A shopping weekend visit. Rooms were stylish and had comfy beds. The reception were helpful and any communications with the hotel prior to our arrival were dealt with.

We used the valet service as we weren't sure about parking in the city. Had to leave car outside the hotel on double yellow lines with hazards on due to a bus being parked in the small bay (also marked with double yellows), but there's plenty of room on the road to allow other users to pass. Valet service was efficient and we were happy. Maybe the option to extend parking by the hour after the first 24 hours could be considered by the hotel for the future? If you don't want to use valet parking there are car parks in the immediate vicinity of the hotel.

We ate in the hotel restaurant in the evening and thoroughly enjoyed a tasty meal, made even better by the excellent value as we had the set 3 course menu with wine.

The fitness room is a cv fitness room with a couple of resistance machines and no free weights. But it was clean and not busy so we had a good session for what we wanted.

We would definitely stay and eat here again in the future. I really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rachael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write this great review - I am delighted that you had a great shopping weekend at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre. Your comments about the hotel are most kind, and I'll be sure to pass them on to the team.

I hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you all back soon.

Kind regards
Bob Fairweather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

i had dinner with my wife on 22nd of this month, would like to thanks for the excellent service i received in the restaurant specially by the host explaining the menu and suggesting the wine for me. The food was really of high standard and would recommend this hotel for dinning to my friends.

Room Tip: Beautiful restaurant and great service
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Price W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for your very kind feedback. I am delighted you enjoyed your experience of our hotel and restaurant. I will certainly forward your compliments to the restaurant manager and his team. I hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Room was clean, spacious and light, bathroom was big with a shower and a bath. The bed was very comfortable.
Check in and out was quick and easy, and staff were friendly and helpful.
The location was great for my trip, and I walked into the city centre in about 20 minutes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilPatel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

My sincere thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review of your stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre. Needless to say, I was delighted to read your comments about the staff, the room facilities, and I look forward to sharing this great feedback with all of the team.

Thank you again.

Best Regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed here mid week for business. Good hotel with excellent facilities, handy location for all the major city attractions/tram line. Good size rooms with all mod cons, free wifi throughout and a nice restaurant and bar. Check in, service and check out all very helpful. Would deco stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian_ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your review. I was delighted to read your positive comments about your experience at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, especially around the excellent service that you encountered.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Bob Fairweather
General manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

Chose the hotel based primarily on the location and easy access to the Arena and shopping in Manchester City Centre. Having stayed at a number of Crowne Plaza Hotels in the past, I knew the quality and was not disappointed. We chose a Queen double room, which was spacious with very good bathroom facilities. The room was well presented and of a very good standard of cleanliness. The staff were very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The hotel is within a 5 minute walk of the Phones4U Arena and 2 minutes walk to the Arndale Centre and the nightlife of the bars in the Printworks. I would not hesitate using this hotel again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dak3931
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your very kind feedback and completing this review.
We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com.

I am thrilled that you had a great stay with us and that you were able to enjoy the surroundings of the Crowne Plaza as well.

Your comments will certainly be passed on to all the staff here at the hotel.

Kind regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

Superb 5th floor "Club" room ....2 double beds. Clean,hygienic with modern decor.

Use of 8th floor club lounge for drinks, canapes (disappointing) and continental breakfast (pedestrian and unimaginative).

All in all it's conveniently located for the city centre, suitable for overnight stays.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your candid feedback. I am grateful for your compliments on our Club room and constructive feedback.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any short comings you encountered during your stay and thanks to your comments these have been shared with the management team and have been reviewed and actions have been taken to improve upon the areas highlighted.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit the city.

Kind Regards,

Bob Fairweather
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4,938 reviews
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
606 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing