We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always reliable - excellent staff, excellent rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #16 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Just a short review to recommend the Crowne Plaza in Manchester City Centre. I have stayed here on numerous occasions and have never had any cause for complaint.

The staff are friendly, and efficient (even the trainees!) and the rooms are light, airy and spacious, with very comfortable beds and the usual amenities. My only complaint would be that it takes ages to fill the bath, but that's hardly a show-stopper and there's always the separate shower if you're in a rush.

Breakfast is expensive (surprise...) but for those in the know there is a cafe/coffee shop next door that does excellent breakfasts for about half the price.

The hotel is very conveniently located in the Northern Quarter, within easy walking distance of the Arndale Centre, Printworks and the MEN Arena (or whatever it's called this week).

This hotel is a member of the IHG (Holiday Inn) chain and I'm pleased to say that they always recognise their frequent guests - I have "platinum elite" status in their rewards programme and every time I've stayed here I've been upgraded to a better room (usually with access to the club lounge) and have been offered either extra points or a free drink and snack from the bar. It's nice to have loyalty rewarded for once :-)

Room Tip: No complaints with any of the rooms I've stayed in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Mark T,

Thank you for such a lovely review. I really appreciate the time you have taken to share your feedback and I am thrilled that you continue to enjoy your experiences at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre.

All staff is looking forward to seeing you again at the hotel very soon.

Kind Regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,573)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,506 - 1,512 of 2,573 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

If first impressions are anything to go by then this place scores high. Arrived early morning for a 4 night stay, pulled up outside and walked in to enquire about parking - the concierge (Kevin?) directs me to hotel carpark opposite (a pay and display but all sorted from his desk). so whilst i'm parking he has me checked in and case and coat taken to room, coat even hung up in wardrobe, just that little bit of extra service i wasn't expecting. Hotel is very clean and fresh, reception staff where great as well. Room was perfect, a twin double with a lot of space, and beds to die for - very comfy. Breakfast was ok - standard hotel breakfast and the one room service meal i had was hot and tasty (Thai green curry). The one thing that stops this getting 5 star review would be housekeeping - a little random in replacing items like towels, bath mats and water - it became a guessing came of how many towels, would i have a bath mat and in what form and how many bottles would be awaiting me on my return. Also they left one of their dirty cleaning cloths in the bathroom - next to a sign that says "it's the little things that matter" which i found kind of funny. Also the free wifi is rubbish.
Overall though a great hotel and exceptionally good value. Upon leaving i did recieve a parking ticket, but all sorted by hotel so a big thumbs up.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UK_Fell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear UK_Fell,

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the hotel, we greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps us to maintain our standards. I am sorry about the issues you have encountered with regards to housekeeping and car parking, I will ensure your comments are shared with our teams in order to improve the experience of the hotel.

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre in the future.

Kind Regards,
Bob Fairweather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The hotel is centrally located in the city centre and a short walk from the Arndale Shopping Centre. The staff were pleasant and helpful and took time to assist in relation to questions about the city and surrounding areas. Rooms are spacious and well equipped with a modern decor that is bright but not gaudy. My room was on the 5th floor and was very comfortable, especially the pillows and mattress which appeared to be of a very high quality. If I was visiting Manchester again I would not hesitate to stay here - the rate I got for bed and breakfast was a bargain.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the higher floors. A colleague (on the fist floor) stated that there was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baylander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the TripAdvisor website following your stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre. I was delighted to read you enjoyed your stay, we do receive a lot of compliments regarding our beds and I was pleased you like them too.

Thank you once again and hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

This place might be a tad expensive but the rooms are perfect and everything in them is great,the views the tv and ensuite were perfect and the bed was just unreal I wish I knew what mattress that was because I would definitely like to own one

Thank you to the staff and everyone at the plaza for giving me a great night

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wesley r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Dear Wesley R,

I would like to personally thank you for this great review on Tripadvisor. All staff at the Crowne Plaza always strives to perfection.

Also I am pleased to learn that you've spent such a peceful and restful night. Our Guest Relations team is available at the following email address guest.relations@cpmanchester.com for any information you might require in regards to the mattress we have in our rooms.

Thanking you once again.

Kindest Regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Our overnight stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre was great! The reception and welcome was first rate, very helpful. We were pleasantly surprised with an upgrade. The rooms were modern, clean and of a good size. Could say rooms were a bit dark but it really was not an issue for us. The location was another pleasant surprise. We were attending a wedding in the centre of Manchester, Crowne Plaza was within few minutes walking distance of every where...great shopping and not to mention the trendy eateries and bars frequented by locals in the Northern Quarter. Good value for money and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cosmopolitanedutaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you very much for sharing your kind review following your experience of the hotel. I am pleased you had such an enjoyable stay. I hope the wedding day went well! Please be assured your kind comments will be shared with the team. Many thanks for the recommendation. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Bob Fairweather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is my favourite place to stay in the city centre, great staff throughout the hotel and fantastic drinks in the bar. Rooms are a little on the small side but great views. Perfectly placed for shopping the printworks and generally wondering around this great city. Valet parking is 6 pounds more than standard park yourself and for me definitely worth it. Cant wait to go back
clean tidy quiet comfortable and great staff you couldn't ask for more

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jellatots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Thank you very much indeed for sharing your kind comments following your stay. I am happy to read that you have named us your favourite place to stay in Manchester. We very much appreciate your review and our team will be happy learn they helped you enjoy your experience. We too can't wait till you can visit us again soon.

Kind regards
Bob Fairweather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

This modern hotel looks newer than its 5 years. The decor is clean and fresh, even a bit funky. I had a Club room with access to the Club Lounge which was pleasant and quiet as, in my opinion, it should be. See my previous report on club lounge at CP Leeds. The service was attentive but not intrusive. The breakfast buffet was a but limited, best described as adequate.
Service of my in-room dinner was prompt and the food was piping hot. To say it was plentiful would be an understatement. The portion of new potatoes would feed a family of five. Car parking is over the road opposite the hotel and is no problem unless you forget to notify reception when checking in. Failure to do so will cost you more if you pay at the kiosk on exit and as there is no barrier if you forget to pay you are liable for a fine on £100.
I will certainly stay here again when in Manchester

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDG424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 120 in Manchester
2,617 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#34 of 120 in Manchester
2,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#9 Family Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $108 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, IHG, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing