We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #16 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Very nice hotel, superb location in the city center, a bit hard to find if you are not from Man city, but when you finally did, you realize how good location is. Efficient check in and check out, room service order was delivered in 10 min. Glasshouse bar on the ground floor is open late hours. And has good selection. Simply all that you need this hotel has! Great!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Darya Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. I was delighted to read your positive comments about your experiences at the hotel.

We hope to welcomine you back to the hotel in the future where a warm welcome will await you.

Kind Regards

Bob Fairweather

M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,517)
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,485 - 1,491 of 2,517 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

Not much to say, great hotel with lovely views, good food in the restaurant and a very pleasant staff. Location is ideal, just a quick shot to Shudhill tram line and the Arndale Market. The only somewhat negative thing I could say would be the price which is a little high when you factor in the Holiday Inn Express right next door.

Overall however, I highly recommend this hotel to couples or business travelers in particular. The only caution I would have for travelers is that the fancy restaurant might not be the best selection for families with small children as it is a little more high end. That said, there are lots of family options in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the new "spaceship" building are particularly nice as the building glows a ne...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg_Newfoundland_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you had a great stay with us and that you were able to appreciate the views of the Manchester skyline from your room.

I do hope you enjoyed your experience in the restaurant if you did dine with us, familes are very welcome in the restaurant and bar, in fact children eat for free throughout the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Bob Fairweather

M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

My fiance brought me here for a night away from home for my birthday :) we was put on the 2nd floor at the front & the noise from traffic was terrible!! So my fiance went downstairs to explain to the staff on the front desk & they was soo helpful, moved us right away without question & upgraded us(bonus) to a room at the back on the 5th floor!
Room was beautiful & clean, couldnt fault it! Stayed in the hilton before but do prefer this hotel...it was beautiful! Comfy beds tooo x

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mlrs2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

I am so pleased to hear that you had a memorable birthday with us! Thank you so much for sharing your experiences on tripdavisor.com.

I am pleased that we were able to provide a room that was to your liking and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Bob Fairweather.

M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

It was lovely and quiet at the top (it may have been quiet on the lower floors !! I don't know). Fantastic Black out curtains. Good location. No character obviously but excellent sleep and room. That is what you want in a city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon_Draper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the hotel, we greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps us to maintain our standards. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre in the future.

Kind Regards

Bob Fairweather

M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Modern, clean hotel within a short walk to the city centre. Booked a club room which has its own lounge and dedicated top floor rooms. Breakfast good and the evening food served in the bar was very good. Bar area could be described as a little soulless but plenty of choice nearby if it is not to your liking. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin186361
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com. I am pleased that you had a great stay with us and that you have been able to appreciate the facilities in the exclusive Club Lounge.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Bob Fairweather

M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Stayed here for one night as part of a friends Hen Night. This hotel was chosen for it's proximity to the city centre and it was absolutely perfect, the Northern Quarter being a short walk away and plenty of bars and restaurants in the surrounding area. The hotel itself was lovely, modern and clean. Rooms are large with a large bathroom which even had a seperate bath and shower! I was a bit dubious about the bed as the mattress seemed incredibly soft and I usually prefer a firm mattress but in fact I slept wonderfully and considering that this is a city centre hotel from our room on the 2nd floor there was absolutely no noise from outside. We had breakfast included in the price which was a small but good selection of normal english breakfast plus a few pastries/fruit/cereal. The only slight issue with this hotel is arriving and parking, it is a bit of a mare to navigate Manchester to actually arrive in the first place and there are 2 carparks opposite. We didn't know until we checked out but the hotel has a deal with one carpark to offer reduced rate parking for guests, this wasn't clear and we parked in the wrong carpark (the paintworks NCP) which cost us £15 instead of the £9 it would have in the other carpark. However, the NCP is secure and covered, the carpark the hotel uses is an unsecured pay and display so might be worth the extra £6!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beem10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I hope your friends hen party was a success.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather

M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Our room on a high floor (sweetly given by the desk clerk) was a soothing oasis on a very hot Manchester day. The room was spotless and the bathroom more than adequate with both a huge shower and a separate deep bathtub. The location is grand--within walking distance of most of the interesting sites--and a 5 minute cab ride to Piccadilly Station where you catch the train for the airport. Didn't visit the bar or the restaurant but the public spaces are very attractive.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flatlander39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your experience at the hotel and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Bob Fairweather
M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 120 in Manchester
5,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 120 in Manchester
661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $110 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, IHG, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing