We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice enough hotel, pleasant one-night stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #16 of 117 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Meols, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice enough hotel, pleasant one-night stay.”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Booked some months in advance, we stayed for one night only as to save us driving home after attending an event at the MEN. Because of this, we didn't really use the hotel's facilities to the full and can only review based on our short period of time in the hotel.

Booking in was straightforward. My wife did this while I drove to the Print Works multi-story parking garage where the car would be left overnight for a total charge of £15. Reasonable enough for city centre parking I thought.

Our room was on the third floor. Small, but not too small, with two double beds. The 'city view' was sufficient for us to keep the blinds closed! But we weren't bothered about that. The room was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was pristine with the usual accessories one would expect in a Crowne. The a/c worked fine, as did all the other electrical bits in the room.

The foyer and lobby were also very pleasant. However, as soon as one exited the hotel, there were a number of individuals in the vicinity - even on the actual steps of the hotel - who were clearly 'non-residents', clearly in need of a good wash and brush up, and taking full advantage of the local off-license takeout service! This was even more prolific on our return to the hotel after our evening out at a show at the MEN arena. I'm not overly bothered with this myself, but others may well be. I did not feel unsafe in the area at any time.

Arriving back at the hotel, we retired to our room around 11pm. The hotel was nice and quiet, a subtle hum from the bar area was very low key and in no way objectionable. Back in our room, lights out by midnight, we had an exceptionally comfortable, quiet and undisturbed night's sleep.

Breakfast the next morning was very good. Buffet-style with all the usual full-English, through to lightweight fare for those who couldn't manage a proper breakfast(!). My only gripe he was the absence of staff once we were seated who would replenish our tea and coffee - had to do this myself (the coffee and tea jugs were right next to me, so not a big deal really).

Checkout was very straightforward and hassle-free. Notably, we were asked if we need a hand with our bags. I declined - but it was nice to be asked.

Overall - a very pleasant stay, as one would expect of this hotel chain. I use them regularly (worldwide, business and leisure) and have little to complain about - ever. I'll continue to use them (already booked in at London City) Crowne Plaza on June 14th. Be interesting to compare the standards of a hotel in the 'smoke' with this one!

Room Tip: Give them plenty of notice and let them know what you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WolStyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you taking the time to write such a detailled review, we greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps us to maintain our standards.

I hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards
Bob Fairweather

M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,274
    860
    225
    49
    25
See reviews for
347
975
97
487
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
wigan lancs
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Hotel in ideal location for Men Arena Arndale etc -- Rooms excellent, comfortable and well furnished Only stayed for one night so cannot comment about most of the hotel has to offer - Hotel let down somewhat by average service from some of the staff

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john-n-mand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I was extremely concerned to read that you found the staff service at the hotel to be average, I am very sorry for this as it is not representative of the usual high standard we pride ourselves on.

If you would like to discuss your feedback in further detail, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly at guest.relations@cpmanchester.com. I look forward to hearing from you soon,

Kind Regards,

Bob Fairweather
General Manager – Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night in march for a shopping trip. Arrival was easy, there is a car park over the road which offers 24hours parking for £10. BE WARNED if using this car park you need the terrific in coins. We didn't have the counts but popped into the hotel to change a £10 note and they were more than happy to do so.

Check in was very efficient and rooms were easy to locate. The first impression of the hotel is brilliant, appearance is very clean and welcoming. The rooms are the same, very modern, maybe lacking a bit of light but not a big issue. We were in a room with 2 double beds which were very comfortable. I think the pillows and duvet were duck and down, which could be an issue as some people don't always like this. I'm sure the hotel would be able to accommodate otherwise.

The bathroom had a separate bath and shower, complimentary toiletries and a large sink.

Overall the location of the hotel for the purpose of our trip was fantastic, 5 mins from the Arndale centre and easy driving distance to the Trafford Centre. It also looked like there was a bus station opposite the hotel. There were a variety of restaurants close to the hotel, we ate in the English lounge which was beautiful.

Check out in the hotel was efficient and would definitely recommend and probably visit again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank RachaelMurrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your very kind feedback and completing this review. I am delighted that you had a great stay with us and thank you for recommending the hotel. Your kind comments will be shared with the team.

I hope you can visit us again soon.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night in March. Upon check-in my Priority status was recognised and I was upgraded to a Club Room. Fantastic! A really lovely room with far reaching views, super comfy bed and a modern, well-equipped and, most importantly, clean bathroom.

The menu looked interesting and very reasonably priced for this kind of hotel. I did not eat there, however, but this was only due to meeting clients elsewhere.

José In the Club Lounge is to be commended. He was super friendly and attentive to all in the lounge at all times, often stopping to have a chat with regulars. He was also on duty at breakfast and nothing was too much trouble.

I will definitely stay here again the next time I'm in Manchester.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Lexxxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the hotel, we greatly appreciate your feedback as it helps us to maintain our standards. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments about our Club Lounge host Jose, I will ensure your kind comments are passed on.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre in the future.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for business for 3 nights.

Pluses:

- great location near the arnedale centre
- upgrades - better room, club lounge, free movie, free Internet.
- in room dining- the sea bass with beet root risotto I had was the best room service I have ever had.
- value for money - lots of rates under £130
- room and bed - just lovely. I would compare the bed to 4 seasons hotels...

Negatives:

- none! When have I ever said that?

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank GroundedKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Crowne Plaza for your visit to Manchester. I was delighted to read your review. We very much appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback on www.tripadvisor.com and I was so pleased that you enjoyed your experience with us.
We very much hope to welcome you back next time you visit the city.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We have just got home from a wonderful 2 night stay in the club room. When we arrived a little over midday our room was not ready, but the very pleasant lady (tied up blond hair, Eastern European) took our bags for us so we could go for lunch. Only a 5 minute walk to the Printworks & manchester arena where we watched Olly Murs :) and a 10 minute walk from the train station.

Our room was very clean, with all club rooms on one level with designated club lounge. Room was very clean, modern and a very large comfy bed! Bathroom was beautiful too! The club lounge had a great selection of drinks and nibbles and breakfast was lovely too. You can upgrade to a hot buffet breakfast for an extra £5. 1st night & morning was a gentleman working very friendly & kept our drinks topped up. Then the following morning a young lady who was very kind and checked the train disruptions for us. :)

Can't wait to return to this hotel. Such a perfect weekend :)

If you are going to stay in manchester this is your hotel!

Room Tip: Club rooms are great!! Lovely spacious rooms with designated lounge with soft drinks & coffee al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anna g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review. I am delighted to read that the staff looked after you well, your comments will be shared with all the team here.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather

M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We booked into the hotel for our wedding night and things just got better and better! Lovely welcome, upgrade to a suite, cocktails and the most pleasant staff you could ever wish to meet! Food superb, room fab, everything was first class, if you are ever going to stay in Manchester for any reason, stay here!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Congratulations on your recent wedding. I am delighted that you chose to stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre for such a special occasion and that you enjoyed your experience.

We wish you and your new wife a lifetime of happiness together and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Bob Fairweather

M
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 117 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,794 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 117 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing