We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel perfect for a night in Manchester”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #17 of 121 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed Sunday 10th February for a family outing. 4 couples. Rooms are really, really nice and plush. Excellent spacious bathrooms with great shower (seperate to bath). Nice decor, really comfy bed and nice furnishing. Big floor to ceiling windows, but not much to see!!!! My parents had a club room which was even nicer. But all rooms were really nice and a much better standard than usual city centre hotels. The breakfast was also really, really nice and good value.

The location is good but the area direct around the hotel is a little grim, so recommend a taxi in the evening, but we all enjoyed our stay. Staff friendly, lots of parking available.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NushKoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you liked the hotel and I hope you and your party had an enjoyable time in Manchester.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Bob Fairweather
M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,637)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,774 - 1,780 of 2,637 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have stayed here at least 5 times in the past two years. Club rooms are not very big but beds are very comfortable. Bathroom very clean and powerful showers. Couldn't care less about the views from the 8th floor as the surrounding area is pretty grim. The hotel is nicely decorated and breakfast is always very good. However, my biggest gripe with the hotel is the lack of WiFi in the rooms. You only have wired Internet and is charged at £7.99 for 24hr. (There is a very slow, free connection.) The TV service was probably top of the range 10 years ago. Flat screen but really bad quality. Certainly not HD. Plus, very limited number of channels and the TV interface is very clumsy and slow.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank Voodoo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

We very much appriciate your feedback. We do listen to comments from guests such as yourself and implement changes accordingly. Thus I am delighted to advise you that we are currently at the final stage of installation of wireless internet. We will have wi-fi throughout the entire hotel very soon.

I hope to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester in the near future.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather.
M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have stayed here on business throughout January and into February 2013. I have been made to feel at home by the friendly staff throughout my stay, which is a great bonus if you have to stay away from home a lot. The hotel rooms are all pretty much the same, which doesn't really appeal to me, but at least you know what you are getting. The rooms are large (compared to other UK hotels) and clean, beds are very comfortable and bathrooms have a good separate shower and bath. The decor throughout the hotel is generally dark and 'modern' in its style - chrome, dark reds, angular, black walls, creams. It's not to everybody's taste but it will defiantly appeal to some. Meals are generally quite good - well prepared, reasonable menu and good portions - although breakfast offers a limited spread compared to other similar hotels. I did have a few minor problems - for example nearly every room I had had a basin that didn't drain properly. We did also use the conference facilities at the hotel - these were very good and value for money. I wouldn't hesitate to go back.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
Thank BradTheLad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you very much for your reveiw, I am delighted that you have been warmly welcomed to the hotel and made to feel at home.

With regards to breakfast, I would be very grateful if at your conveinience you could please email guest.relations@cpmanchester.com with any requests of anything you would like to see added to the breakfast buffet. We would really appriciate your suggestions.

Many Thanks
Bob Fairweather
M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Spent the evening in a queen room whilst at the hotel for a conference. Had an evening meal, chose dishes from the three courses for £20. Word of warning, the drinks are pricey. £7.80 for a large glass if pinot noir (one if the cheapest options!) Otherwise a fantastic hotel with helpful staff. Just to note, I was on the third floor at the front of the hotel, you can hear road noise, but this did not stop me sleeping at all.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phineasandferb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments following your recent visit to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre. We really appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome to the hotel again soon.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We have stayed in Manchester many times but never at this side of the city centre. We were in the city to see a concert and decided to spend two nights at the Crowne Plaza.

The hotel is ideally situated for the MEN Arena, Arndale shopping centre and the Print Works are all a 2 minute walk away. We arrived by train into Victoria Station and walked up the hill to the hotel.

Check in was the quickest I have ever experience with no fuss and a helpful member of staff.

We were in room 410. Which is modern and decorated in black, red and white. Plenty of mirrors, excellent large comfy bed and a bathroom with a bath and separate shower. The rooms are peaceful with a good view over the city, mostly the new Co-operative building which is impressive, no city traffic noise. We had excellent nights sleep. There are also robe and slippers as standard and a very good hair dryer.

Breakfast was buffet style and I have to say the only hotel I have stayed in which actually cooks the bacon so it is crispy - just how I like it.

I can not find any fault with this hotel. Ideally situated for a city break, modern and a good nights sleep. You couldn't ask for more.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RaewynLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

On behalf of all the team at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre I would like to thank you for your lovely review.

I hope that we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I was with my girlfriend in this hotel one weekend, and this hotel is fantastic and very well located, close to Northen Quarter...well... close to everything.
Very beuatiful and clean rooms and comfortable beds.
Breakfast very complete with a lot of food, hot and cold and good quality.
Staff very efficient and a sympathy, always helpful assistant.
We decided to dine at the restaurant, was served good food and good quality for the price we pay for set menu, £ 20 per person. The gentleman who served us a fantastic friendliness and professionalism, Mr. Antonio, my sincere congratulations, and ofcourse to the other elements of Staff as well. We will certainly return to this hotel and city.

Room Tip: Enjoy the fantastic beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stefano D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to write this great review - I am delighted that you and your girlfriend had a good time at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre. Your comments about the staff are most kind, and I'll be sure to pass them on to the team.

We hope to welcome you back to Manchester in the future.
Kind regards
Bob Fairweather.
M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Had 3 nights as another return visit, having been several times before.

Room was as expected, clean, tidy and roomy, being an executive king club. Housekeeping however was very lax compared to previous visits. Bedding not changed on any days, toiletries not replenished, signature sleep/relax smellies not provided, despite being club room, complimentary water not replenished on next to last day and room not serviced until late afternoon.

Club lounge was also disappointing compared to previous visits. However some of the changes are no doubt a result of earlier guests abusing the facilities. Drinks are no longer out for self service as before, but rather waiter/waitress service. This does though prevent abuse of the facilities. Unfortunately as only one waiter/waitress being appointed to the lounge, service is slow and canapés not replenished as they should be. This is though not the fault of the very busy waiting staff, there is only so many things they can do at once. This is definitely something management should address at busy periods.

Overall the hotel is well situated for Manchester sights and attractions and this will remain it's selling point.

One further thing to think about if considering booking and driving to hotel, is the car park at the Printworks opposite is no longer discounted by the hotel and thus costs £15 for each 24hour period (or part of). Though this being said it is a well monitored and a secure car park.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2013

Thank you for your detailed review of our hotel We value all guests’ comments and feedback as they help us to constantly improve our service.

Thank you for taking the time to post this review.

Please accept our apologies for the shortcomings in the housekeeping of your room. Please be assured this is below our usual standards at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre.
With regards to the changes in the Club Lounge, we have introduced table service for evening drinks with the intention of creating a more luxurious experience. Thus I was concerned to learn that your experience in the Club Lounge left you disappointed

I hope to welcome you back to the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre in the near future so we can endeavour to make your next stay faultless.

Best regards,
Bob Fairweather
M

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#12 of 121 in Manchester
5,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 121 in Manchester
1,879 reviews
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 121 in Manchester
776 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $108 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing