We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish we could have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #16 of 116 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
greystones
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wish we could have stayed longer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Hotel is excellent. We got a warm welcome and great service. Everywhere was spotlessly clean and it's very nicely laid out. The decor is modern. Our room was a good size and had both shower and bath. Without being asked they offerred to keep our luggage after checkout until late that night. We found it very convenient and good value.

Room Tip: The view from the 7th floor at the back is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quillanGreystones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Thanks so much for your lovely review we really appreciate it. Great to read that our team looked after you and that you enjoyed your experience at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,257
    851
    222
    49
    25
See reviews for
343
963
96
481
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

Have just returned from 3 nights in a queen room at the Crowne Plaza, Manchester.

The location is pretty good, central and close to the Arndale shopping centre, Printworks leisure complex, Northern Quarter and Victoria train station. Parking is located in the Total car park across the street, it costs £10 for 24hrs.

Our room was located on the 6th floor and had a decent view of the city from the ceiling to floor length windows. I was impressed with the lifts, there were only 2 but we never had to wait long at all. The room was spotlessly clean and comfortable. The decor was very modern in black, white and grey with splashes of red coloured furniture, not my favourite style, but ok. The bed was very soft, which might not be to some people's taste, but even though I sleep on a much firmer mattress at home, it wasn't a problem. Even though it was the middle of winter, we still felt the need to use the aircon during the night, it was very quiet and didn't disturb us.

Breakfast was great, by hotel standards. There was often a wait for the tea & coffee to be brought around, but this is understandable when it is so busy. There was a good selection of hot food on the buffet which was regularly replenished.

Would probably stay here if visiting Manchester again. I think the only drawback is the lack of pool/spa facilities onsite.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on as high floor as possible to limit road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback, regarding your stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre.

It is our intention at all times to ensure that our guests are made to feel welcome whilst staying with us; therefore I am delighted that you did enjoy your stay.

Although we do not have a spa there are independent spa and luxury leisure facilities just a few minutes walk from the hotel. The Concierge team would be happy to assist you in booking

I do hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night in a twin room with 2 comfy double beds. Room felt a little cramped, especially in the morning when our breakfast was brought up, as there wasn't really anywhere to put the trays of food down. The lighting in the room could have been brighter too. The location was brilliant thou, central to the shops and near MEN. Would especially like to thank the concierge who was on Sat 2 feb (sorry didn't get his name), he was especially helpful and recommended a lovely pub/Resturant called The English Lounge.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiggygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com, It helps us enormously to maintain our standards. Please be assured that all comments we receive here at the Hotel are shared with the entire team.

We hope to welcome you back should you visit Manchester in the future.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed her on two occasions
I liked it, but I cannot say I loved it.
The service was ok how ever I asked for a smokers room and got given a normal,
Small bathrooms tiny showers I advise anyone large not to go in because they will get stuck!
There was definitely escorts lingering in the bar what was off putting whilst they leering around.
Drinks were average
Nothing on the food menu caught my eye, I resorted to getting a takeaway
Also it is ridiculously over charged per films on the tv! £10 per film!!!
The beds are very comfy and clean

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SigourneyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre.

Unfortunately as with many hotels in Manchester City Centre we do not have any smoking rooms as the entire property is smoke free. However I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future to give us the opportunity to impress you on all accounts.

Kind Regards,
Bob Fairweather
General Manager – Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleethorpes
Level Contributor
324 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

firdt tip park in the opn air carpark just opposite ther hotel its only ten pounds for 24 hours . the rooms are very nice but the lighting is inadequate howevwr they are excellently soundproofed the breakfast was the usual buffet with thew usual problems tasteless reconstituted egg and rock hard black pudding lef tout for too long however othe rcontinental choices were excellent bizarrely there are no desserts available in the bar menu or on room service the staff are wonderfully helpful and all the extras for a platinum member were delivered i would atay here again

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CleethorpesGtfcfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel We value all guests comments and feedback as they help us to constantly improve our service.

I would like to assure you that fresh eggs are cooked throughout the morning for the breakfast buffet. Neverthless your experience with regards to the food selection at breakfast sounds most regrettable and is certainly not up to our usual high standards.

I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit the city.

Kind Regards,
Bob Fairweather
General Manager – Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

From arrival to departure our stay was really enjoyable. We booked club rooms but unfortunately I am a light sleeper and and so is our friends husband, so the drone of the roof machinery woke us up in the early hours. However this was remedied when we mentioned our problem to reception, whereupon they moved us to two suites because we were staying a further four nights. The staff were always attentive, from providing us with vouchers to the bar as no one was in the club lounge to serve, to recommending lovely restaurants. Our New Years Eve dinner was delicious, as were all breakfasts. Location is great for the city centre and parking close by on Rochdale Road, was only £4.80 per day. Our stay was first class and we can only praise all staff for making our break one of the best experienced.

Room Tip: Club room floor best avoided if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay here at the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre. I am delighted to that you had an enjoyable experience. Please accept our apologies for the issues you experienced with regards to noise disturbances. We are glad that you did bring this to our attention during your visit, meaning that we could rectify this.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future where a warm welcome will await you.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

Having stayed at many Crowne Plaza's around the world, this hotel was our natural choice for our stay in Manchester.

From arriving in the hotel lobby, to leaving at the end of our stay I found that nothing was too much trouble and that all the staff were very helpful, friendly and personable throughout the stay.

We stayed on the Club Floor which was very spacey and had a very modern feel about it. The room was large with fantastic floor to ceiling windows offering lots of light and a view over some of the city. The bed was amazingly comfortable accompanied by such soft pillows - We had an amazing sleep.

The bathroom was lovely with separate shower cubicle with powerful shower. All amenities were provided. The room and bathroom overall felt very spacious and most importantly both were very clean.

The club lounge on Level 7 offers a nice range of snacks and between set hours alcoholic drinks. The lounge is comfortable and a great place to socialise. The service we received here was great. Although we didn't eat in the lounge for breakfast we upgraded to the full buffet from the restaurant. Everything was hot and good quality, well worth the additional money.

The hotel had a fantastic location with all major chain shops only 5 minutes walk away. Hard Rock Cafe and PRINTWORKS again only a 5 minute walk down the road. The Theatre is a little further but still only a 15 minutes walk. Car Parking was operated by a valet style, which cost £16 and was extremely convenient. Other multi-storey car parks are near by, but avoid the hassle. The Arndale Centre a short walk away offers 24 hours for £15, so in my opinion the valet is value for money in the area and the most convenient.

Overall, Excellent Quality and highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank limerickonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Warmest regards from the Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre.

Thank you very much for your lovely review. It is our aim to ensure all our guests are welcomed and well looked after throughout their stay. Therefore I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience at the hotel.

We hope to welcome you back should you visit Manchester in the future.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.5 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 116 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,744 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gotham
Hotel Gotham
#3 of 116 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,184 reviews
0.8 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Property: Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#9 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing