We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't bother with a Club room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
Ranked #16 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 17, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times and given it favourable reviews before. But it seems to have gone well off the boil.

Now, the guy who checked me in has checked in thousands of people and I recognised him. But even Platinum Status in Priority Club didn't elixcit a "welcome back".

Next he said "we've upgraded you to a Club Room". Now normally that would be great news. But guess what, Priority Club has trained me that upgrades rarely happen (even as a Platinum Member - so forget their loyalty program it doesn't make any difference the vast majority of the time) so.....I had booked a Club Room.

Whoppee. Upgraded to what I had booked.

Now, stick with me. It can go down hill.

So....I get to my room and there is a distinct hum. It isn't the a/c as it isn't on. I turn the TV off. Still an annoying noise. So I call down.

No "I'm really sorry" or anything like that. Just I'll send up someone with a key for another room. Then when he arrives, I get the third degree. Not, I really apologise, appreciate your business, sorry or anything like that. Just "must be the a/c on the roof". So, avoid room 823.

Here I am in an "upgraded" room, a returning guest, a Platinum Member of the recognition program and that is how I am treated. Go figure.

The room is perfectly ago and as I have mentioned previously a comfortable bed. But, don't bother with a Club Room or trying to being an elite member of the Priority Club Program. It doesn't give you any benefits. Better check out Trivago.co.uk and see what the best deal is (it is unlikely to be on the Crowne Plaza website, despite their "best rate guarantee" - see for yourself!!) and then book that.

As a returning guest, a Platinum Member of Priority Club, with a booked Club Room and this is the service I get what will others get?

Room Tip: Avoid 823 ....unless you like humming
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frequent Traveller from Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com; it really helps us to maintain our standards and focus on areas that we need to improve.

We receive a lot of complimentary comments regarding our recognition of Priority Club members thus I am shocked to learn that you were not made to feel welcome as the valued Platinum Priority Club member that you are. I can assure you that you have not experienced our ordinarily high standards of service and I sincerely apologise for this.

If you would like to discuss your feedback in further detail, please do not hesitate to contact the hotel directly at guest.relations@cpmanchester.com. I look forward to hearing from you soon,

Kind Regards,

Bob Fairweather
General Manager – Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,905 - 1,911 of 2,589 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2012

My husband and I have just stayed at the Crowne Plaza with friends for my birthday weekend. Our room was extremely comfortable and stylish, the price we paid was very reasonable and I was very pleased to find a hotel room with a separate bath and shower which seems to be quite hard to come by these days! If cleanliness, style and comfort are what you are looking for then I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EvieB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the tripadvisor website following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed here for a night last weekend and enjoyed every minute of it. Had a room with two double beds and this still managed to feel airy and spacious. Decor was beautiful, beds were some of the comfiest I've ever stayed in, and the bathroom was to die for with both a bath and a shower. Location was perfect too, so close to the Arndale and Printworks. Definitely worth the extra compared to budget hotels!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VegasgalUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding your recent stay. I was delighted to read that you had a 'Fabulous stay'. We do get alot of good feedback regarding the beds and I was happy to hear that you liked them too. I will certainly pass on your comments to the hotel team.

Hope we can welcome you back here again soon.

Kind regards

Bob Fairweather
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

I have reluctantly marked this hotel overall average due to the 'standard' corporate offering here, and the fact that our room was so nice due to us paying extra for a superior (which I have to say was excellant all round). We didn't eat here but used the bar which was a little soulless and pricey. The location is really handy too near the Arndale, Printworks, MEN, as we normally stay the other end of town but will consider staying here again due to the location and room. Be aware that the standard room prices can be at the lower end of the scale so we noted the abundance of single sex parties which can have its downside.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveSmithMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com, It helps us enormously to maintain our standards. Thank you for your comments and constructive feedback.

I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the future to give us the opportunity to impress you on all accounts.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

I'll start with the good - great bathroom, decent size rooms for a European hotel, modern, relatively cool bar, club level was great, excellent bargain!
Now for the underwhelming part - food, staff personality, very few TV channels (no cable). I like certain conveniences when I travel on business. I like to work from my bed. Meaning I like hotels that provide wireless in the rooms as well. I really dislike being confined to a desk in my hotel room. There was only one (1) 110v plug in the room and none in the lounge or club level. Staff did not have any converters either. Staff lacked ability to tell me about certain places of interest and or restaurants. The area surrounding the hotel was also a bit unimpressive.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blkwomannucleus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com; We very much appreciate your constructive feedback as it really helps us to maintain our standards and focus on areas that we need to improve.

I am very sorry to read that you felt underwhelmed by certain aspects of your experience here, however I do hope that we can welcome you back to the hotel when you next visit the city.

Kind Regards

Bob Fairweather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We got a good deal on a two night stay here and we were very impressed. The hotel is very modern and lovely. The rooms look great and were very comfortable. The bathroom was also nice and spacious. Location is good, close to shops and pubs. We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

We very much appreciate you taking the time to complete your comments on www.tripadvisor.com, It helps us enormously to maintain our standards. Thank you for your kind comments, I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Bob Fairweather

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

The rooms were fab, very clean (I couldnt pick fault and usually I can) lovely clean and very comfy bed, carpets felt very soft and new, Bathroom had a bath as well as a seperate shower which is idea. There is bath robes to use and complimentary slippers and the usuall shampoo, soap etc. Staff on reception were very nice & helpfully. Carpark just accross the road £10 for 24hrs.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ema-J99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownePlazaManCity, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments onto the tripadvisor website following your recent stay at the Crowne Plaza Manchester. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Bob Fairweather

General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.7 mi away
Radisson Blu Edwardian Manchester
0.7 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#13 of 120 in Manchester
5,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Renaissance Manchester City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#37 of 120 in Manchester
2,594 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#17 of 120 in Manchester
2,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre

Address: 70 Shudehill, Manchester M4 4AF, England (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Manchester City Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#6 Family Hotel in Manchester
#9 Business Hotel in Manchester
#12 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $106 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is the hottest new hotel to land on the city in 2008. It is perfectly situated in the heart of Manchester in the trendy Northern Quarter, Victoria and Piccadilly Stations and Shudehill Tram and Bus Interchange are all within a short walking distance of this stunning new city centre hotel. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre is ideally located within easy access to the MEN Arena, Manchester Central, the Printworks, Manchester Arndale Shopping Centre, Urbis, Manchester City and Manchester United football grounds. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre has 228 luxurious bedrooms with one or two queen or king sized beds including Club Rooms, Junior and Presidential Suites, and a club floor with enhanced views and exclusive access to the top floor club lounge. The stylish rooms have superb contemporary bathrooms boasting separate bath and shower, LCD televisions and complimentary internet access. All guests have complimentary access to the gym which has a range of cardio-vascular equipment open 24 hours a day. The Glasshouse Bar and Restaurant is an ideal place to relax and unwind with a specialty cocktail or have dinner with colleagues or friends. The Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre also offers nine modern and state-of-the art meeting rooms with a maximum capacity for up to 200 delegates with complimentary wireless internet access. Located right in the heart of Manchester on the edge of the captivating nightlife and excellent entertainment area including the trendy Northern Quarter, the hotel provides you with the gateway to what the city has to offer. With state of the art conference facilities and 228 individual bedroom experiences, every care has been taken to combine the edgy modern design of the building with contemporary luxury facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Manchester
Manchester Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing