We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Luther King House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Luther King House
Ranked #2 of 27 Manchester B&B and Inns
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel is very nice. Everything was perfect for me. It is clean, the price is reasonable. All personals are kind and helpful. It is closet all bus stops taking me allover Manchester, from and to the airport. The breakfast is good. There is a very nice garden inside to relax there is a free wi fi 24 hours. The location is very quite and peacful. I really recommend it to any visitor to Manchester.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. They all have a garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    128
    70
    41
    36
See reviews for
38
94
61
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Luther King House is a theological college: not a hotel in the accepted sense of the word. The double room we stayed in was small and quite basic. It reminded my wife of her student accommodation when she was at teacher training college in the 1970s. The soundproofing was virtually non-existent and the plumbing was noisy and outmoded. There was no hand basin in the 'bathroom'. The double bed was pushed right up against a wall and this was always going to make it difficult for us not to disturb each other. The Wi-Fi is only accessible in the communal areas. On the plus side, the receptionist was a model professional and the garden was just beautiful. I think we paid £72 for 2 nights B&B, but breakfast on the 1st morning was such that we didn't bother with the 2nd one.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manchester hotels

Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

So a few minutes after checking in, i rang the receptionist to discuss the conditions of the room, which was that the room was very humid. To my amazement, she is the rudest person i've ever met in my life to the point of her hanging the phone on me. I then went to the reception to have a face to face discussion and this woman continue shouting and screaming at me. Her point was that the fans were all taken but the she has a fan on the highest level in a open space reception while she asked that i sleep in a closed space room. I asked to speak to the manager and she happens to be the manager........She at some point threatens to call the police on me..........................for what??? For requesting that it is her job to ensure that her customers are kept happy. She must either be having midlife crisis because normal people in role that like shouldnt act like that. Terribleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ms Alaka A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

A friend and I stayed at Luther King House in early August for a single night.

The hotel is situated between Fallowfield and Rusholme and is a 5-10 minute walk into the centre of either of those places.

The receptionist who booked is in was polite and friendly. Gave us all the information we needed, which was also on a small card for reference.

On walking to the room part of the building had a stale smell and some of the plaster had come away from the wall but overall the building seemed to be in good condition from what we saw.

The room was pleasant. Nice, clean and tidy. Excellent selection for making hot drinks, tea, coffee and hot chocolate with all condiments. Small TV with free view.

Sanitary facilities were very good. Lovely shower cubicle. Although the wash basin was situated out of the bathroom presumably due to lack of space.

Biggest criticism would be for the window which was an old box sash window and we couldn't get it to stay open so we had to prop it open with an object to keep it from sliding down. Otherwise the room would have been stuffy being a warm night.

Breakfast was served from 8am til 10am. Excellent selection of food, cold meats, eggs, cereal, toast and yogharts. Machine for hot drinks. There was a bar and they do serve evening meals too at a price.

Overall our stay was pleasant, we would possibly look at staying again in the future providing the price remains reasonable.



  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

Great for visiting the uni and the city. Near a bus route. Lovely courtyard to chill out in. Nice calm atmosphere. Varied choice at breakfast. Room clean and functional.
Easy to find and good on site parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Persephone273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

The place is beautiful..set in a great scenic neighborhood ..
the staff is very helpful and pleasant, will always come here if I need a quiet relaxing stay in Manchester -great value for money..Free Wi Fi, computer access , even printouts!!
loved it!!

Room Tip: upstair ,facing trees mine was 211
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suran09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

Pretty much get what you pay for. Bed and roof over your head for the night but that's about it.
Room very dated, needed new carpet and lick of paint. Noisy plumbing inside room from when you flushed the toilet. Not good after a long travel.
One redeeming feature the food in the evening was lovely,but let down with breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#70 of 115 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
2.3 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 115 in Manchester
5.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
2.1 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Macdonald Manchester Hotel & Spa
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Manchester City Centre - Portland Street
0.3 mi away
Elton Bank Hotel
Elton Bank Hotel
#11 of 27 in Manchester
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luther King House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luther King House

Property: Luther King House
Address: Luther King House Brighton Grove, Manchester M14 5JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Luther King House 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Luther King House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luther King House Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing