We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful if quirky”
Review of Luther King House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Luther King House
Ranked #2 of 29 Manchester B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I have stayed here at least 12 times in the past 3 years. The rooms are basic but clean. Some are a little cramped; especially where en suite has been enforced; but the courtyard is gorgeous particularly when the cherry blossum is out, the staff consistently friendly and the food cheap and plentiful.
I would strongly recommend it.
Name another value hotel with its own theological library and chapel?

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tertullian3in1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
There are newer reviews for Luther King House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

249 - 255 of 360 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2012

I'd stayed here for wait my flight. The price was nice that I spent only £30 for 1 night with standard equipment (bedroom, TV, bathroom, WiFi) And amazing, this hotel has a library!!
(But the quality of WiFi was terrible!!)

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jab H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Clean comfortable, though fairly basic spacious rooms, good buffet breakfast , a short 6 pounds taxi ride from the city centre.
A late check out option would be good at the weekends as 10-30 am is a bit early.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RickLingard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is typical student rooms kind of place. Rooms are perfectly functional and do what they are supposed to. Small en suite shower/toilet and the hand basin is within the actual room. Flat screen telly, tea and coffee making facilities, all within a comfortable, if basic environment. I would probably rate it 3 1/2 stars if that facility were available. Simple but wholesome breakfast of cereals, croissants, toast, cheese, ham, porridge, preserves, tea and coffee, fruit juices. At the price it takes some beating, always provided you know what you are booking. It appears to double as a hotel and Christian theological college, with a library available and so on. In a quiet area and away from the city centre, though on a Saturday night the availability of taxis to get us back caused a problem, took about 2 hours, so be warned and plan your transport in advance. All in all very good value for the budget minded. Only real down side was the shower, which was a scalding liability, no matter what setting it was on.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

I stayed here in September and November of this year while attending a training course also being held here. The accommodation is basic but the price reflects this. It is clean and warm and that is as much as anyone could ask. There is wifi access and a computer for the use of residents which is handy. They provide a lovely continental breakfast which you help yourself to and you can get very reasonably priced evening meals. The location is excellent for Manchester University and is in between 'studenty' Fallofied and the 'curry mile' so there are lots of eateries within walking distance if you prefer to stretch your legs. I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank mariacampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Having stayed at this hotel personally I found the place very wheelchair friendly, the staff were also friendy but in Nov 2012 it is £17.50 taxi fair away from the airport, the food was very good all in all a cheap and chearful place

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve1007Cardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

I stayed here on Sat 17th for one night.

The staff were friendly and polite, the room was clean and tidy - a few little things but not worth noting for the price. Not as noisy as you'd expect but thin walls so some bumps in the night but slept well and I'm a light sleeper. Good facilites, nice welcoming hotel. Was given a free late check out as checked in late (fab) and would definitely stay again. Booked smoothly through booking.com.

Room Tip: The 'small double' we stayed in was very compact but was comfy enough.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank linzi p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#71 of 120 in Manchester
828 reviews
0.5 mi away
Chancellors Hotel
Chancellors Hotel
#64 of 120 in Manchester
46 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Upper Brook Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
2.1 mi away
Ibis Manchester Centre Portland Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luther King House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luther King House

Address: Luther King House Brighton Grove, Manchester M14 5JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range: $41 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luther King House 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Luther King House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luther King House Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing