We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for budget”
Review of Luther King House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Luther King House
Ranked #2 of 29 Manchester B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Room and furnishings tired with some mould on bathroom ceiling. Good continental breakfast. Quiet location in Fallowfield. Staff helpfull. If you are looking for ' budget ' accommodation in a good location for the University this would be ok. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chippy1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

269 - 275 of 368 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

Was booked in for 2 nights but ended only staying one night. Now in a lovely hotel in Huddersfield for same price over looking the pennines. I had expected great things based on the reviews, but was sorry to find the rooms extremely tired. The matress stood out as old and now note what others are saying on TripAdvisor about the pillows and state of the linen. My towels were tired and the pillows looked presentable on the outside but stained badly on the inside. Not a pleasant experience. Shower struggled to adjust and deliver a steady stream of hot water with any power. Toilet seat had not been cleaned very well. In the morning, I said good morning to the receptionist and was ignored whilst she read her book. Breakfast was a basic affair. Struggled to not get burnt toast. Kitchen staff suggested I push toast into the toaster as although on lowest heat still will burn the toast. She explained it is always like this....so why has nobody paid attention to this!

I don't often write reviews but I travel alot on business and would not run my business this way and treat customers this way.

I will not be staying again - I had only tried hotels because of the reviews, but know of other award winning hotels in the area that I have used in the past for the same price and are very clean so will return to those on my regular visits to Manchester as value is far superior. Local customer also recommended an alternative.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ngbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This hotel is well worth the money that you pay. The rooms are basic, but clean, and well equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, a good tv with plenty of channels and a nice powerful shower. Breakfast was fine, and evening meal very well priced. The best thing about the hotel is the lovely garden which gives a real feeling of peace- a haven after a busy day. Staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LaraKaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Overnight stay on a Monday night to collect son from University, which is only two minutes drive away. Excellent value evening meal at £5.95. Room had a bit of of a DIY feel in terms of the sealant around the bath fitiings. Shower was a good size and plenty of hot water. Single room was large and had good fittings for desk, drawers and cupboard. Good TV. Only quibble was that the mattress was very tired and disappeared when you lie on it. I brought extra pillows from previous experience, but didn't need them. Breakfast states continental breakfast only but actually includes porridge, various cereals, and ham and poached eggs - very good. Dining room and TV lounge are both large and comfortable. Parking was quite tight but parked quite happily around the back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Nice place to stay in Manchester. Outside the city center but you're there in half an hour walk.
Nice room, basic but that was all we need. Great garden to read in at night. Basic but good breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schelleke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Not what you would expect to find in the south of the city centre at the price, this place is excellent value for money - with more. Peaceful quadrangle with tables and chairs, library, TV Lounge with internet access, on site parking, restaurant and bar and free wi-fi. Friendly staff. Couldn't fault it.

Room Tip: Try for a ground floor room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ILP-JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I stayed for one night with my son and we had a very pleasant stay, staff very helpfull and apart from a bit of mould on the bathroom ceiling the room and sheets were very clean and comfy, the breakfast was very nice as well, all in all great value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robster1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#71 of 120 in Manchester
842 reviews
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Manchester Upper Brook Street
0.5 mi away
Chancellors Hotel
Chancellors Hotel
#61 of 120 in Manchester
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
1.8 mi away
ibis Manchester Centre Princess Street Hotel
2.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luther King House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luther King House

Address: Luther King House Brighton Grove, Manchester M14 5JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range: $41 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luther King House 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Luther King House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luther King House Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing