We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable”
Review of Luther King House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Luther King House
Ranked #1 of 29 Manchester B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This was my second time to stay here. It's not very fancy, as mentioned by some other reviewers, it does have a "dorm room" feel to it, and it can be difficult to find. That said it is great value, we found the staff to be friendly and helpful, The room had all we needed, and a nice selection of tea and biscuits. Everything was clean and worked, and the breakfast was satisfactory. It is in a good location on a quiet leafy street, just a short walk from the curry mile, plenty of parking and there is a bus stop nearby. I would recommend it.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nóinín
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (379)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

313 - 319 of 379 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed here 1 night to attend a concert at the MEN arena.

Expectations were not high as the price was low.

Expectations were met it's not good!

Bed ok.

Room needs updating.

Shower room/toilet floor wet (no sign of an obvious leak) and the shower tray has been sealed VERY badly with sealant everywhere!

If I do go to Manchester again I would not stay here, rather pay more and get better.

On the plus side the staff are great!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tommos69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

Stayed for two nights, 1st room shower tray didnt empty so was moved to another room upstairs, rooms were very basic and old looking, nets had seen better days and looked filthy, bed clean but shower room not......black mildew in bottom of shower tray and no sink in toilet, you had to come out to wash hands in the sink in the room.
Staff were really miserable, no smiles or have a nice stay!!! Breakfast was OK but chaos, no organisation, tables were full so we asked if we should come back later to be told just perch on someone elses table.
Oh yeah.....beds were like concrete slabs too. lol

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hethz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2011

I read previous reviews before i went and was expecting something very basic and not soo nice but it was cheap! When i arrived with my friends though, we found the place to be great.........great rooms, very clean and tidy, very friendly and helpful staff, great location, very quiet until about 9am and breakfast was really fresh and lovely! I would really recommend this place for weekend or one night stay, you get alot for your money and its well worth it!!!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvfranxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

I appreciate all of the negative reviews as the hotel is very basic and is difficult to find as signage is not great. This said, it is my second visit to the Hotel. To be fair for me it was ideal as it was a short walk to the workplace, free wifi and it's located at the start of the curry mile (which is handy as the food at the hotel is not great). The staff were helpful and the room was clean- for the price I paid I was happy and will return

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindeman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2011

I stayed here last Friday, it was a last minute booking and the location was important for work nearby.

I have to say I am surprised at some of the reviews. My room (a premier double) was clean tidy and of reasonable size. I had a good nights sleep (until 7.30 am!) and a lovely leisurely breakfast (eggs, toast, fruit....).

The only problem was the wake up call from the water pipes!!!!!

I think the room I was in had all the pies running through it! And the vibration was incredibly noisy in the morning and would certainly have been a problem had I needed to sleep in later!

Overall ok and for a cheap B & B it was fine.

It is a theological college and that somehow gives it a very peaceful ambience in a rather less salubrious area of Manchester.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomthetomtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

Cheap as chips, but its not a hotel,,it's some kind of religious retreat...if you're expecting a hotel, go somewhere else.
Room was tiny, filthy, carpet was wet, the room stunk of cigarettes despite no smoking notices everywhere, dirty sink, paper thin walls, and poor, dribbly shower. More like a school dormitory. Good quiet location, bags of free parking, and cheap. Nothing more.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neekbaldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Manchester Centre Pollard Street
0.7 mi away
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
Hallmark Inn Manchester South
#70 of 121 in Manchester
891 reviews
2 mi away
INNSIDE Manchester
INNSIDE Manchester
#4 of 121 in Manchester
1,874 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Manchester
Jurys Inn Manchester
#31 of 121 in Manchester
311 reviews
2.3 mi away
King Street Townhouse
King Street Townhouse
#1 of 121 in Manchester
775 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Manchester East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luther King House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luther King House

Address: Luther King House Brighton Grove, Manchester M14 5JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 29 B&Bs / Inns in Manchester
Price Range: $43 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Luther King House 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Luther King House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luther King House Hotel Manchester

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing