We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poorly designed rooms and overpriced.”
Review of ABode Manchester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
ABode Manchester
Ranked #23 of 120 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 29, 2010

I stayed here on the 'best available room' offer on the hotels own website, and if this was their 'best' room available I'd stay elsewhere next time. The room - 302 - was beside the lift shaft with few interesting features (a solitary small print on the wall appeared to be an attempt at interior design). The wardrobe was a freestanding affair but hangers were not detachable - you try hanging a polo shirt on there.

The staff were disinterested, to say the least, and this is far from the designer brand that the marketing for Abode hotels would have you believe. Malmaison much better - or splurge at Hilton Deansgate.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gracemullaghley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,717 - 1,723 of 1,799 reviews

Reviewed May 10, 2010

Stayed over night here only for one night and it is a fantastic location in the heart of Manchester. Problem with rooms when booking in as we had asked for double and twin and they had not got the request for the twin so there were none available - they upgraded the room and gave my kids a much much bigger room with a HUGE bed to compensate and then checked we were happy and sent up complimentary drinks for them and a bottle of wine for us - what more could we ask for!!
We had a room to the back so there was NO noise at all from the street and this was great! The beds were comfy and we were cosy.
Had dinner in restaurant - only thing was it took quite a long time and it was all totally fine but nothing special - good but not excellent! Breakfast was included in our rate and it was great.
Good location for shopping and not too far away from any of the venues. The staff at the hotel could not have been more helpful! thanks!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Obangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2010

The Manchester branch of Abode hotels was an absolute treat to stay in, the rooms are very spacious, well equiped and very stylishly decorated. The brasserie offered excellent value for money and the restaurant and cocktail bar were superb. Staff were efficient, friendly and highly professional, I would highly recommend this hotel situated in the heart of Manchester.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trixiholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2010

This hotel is in an excellent location and the rooms and common areas are clean and well laid out. The room itself was very comfy and trendy.

My only complaints was that my key card stopped working every day, requiring me to go back to the desk everytime, and their nightbell wasn't working leaving stuck outside in the early hours of the morning till the front desk noticed.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiwiboyLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2010

Stayed for two very long nights....looking across the road with envy at Malmaison. I booked an executive "enviable"room. It was large, cold, poorly designed. It looked like someone had a fifty quid budget at a second hand shop and designed the room with that in mind. Because there is no real double glazing you have to wait for the revellers to go home before you can sleep..usually around 3am and the staff are simply uninterested. Never, never again

Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
2  Thank PhilYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2010

The water from the hot tap was very hot and the bed was comfortable: thats the good stuff out of the way. Everything else about this place is embarrassingly poor. The staff don't care, the room rates are way too high for what you get and the restaurant staff are incapable of getting orders right. I stayed there with colleagues earlier this month and none of us would ever countenance returning. Apart from the sheer disinterest of the overwhelming majority of the staff and the unbelievable inefficiency of some restaurant waiters who time after time failed to take orders correctly, the room rates doubled over the course of our (weekday) stay: I shudder to think what the rate would have been if we had stayed for a further night.
My room tried to look stylish but failed and the bath was chipped in several places. The room door did not double lock and the TV remote was broken. There was one small open clothes hanging rail next to the TV with fixed - non-stealable - hangars, but did anyone consider how difficult it is to get clothes on/off them? The thick curtains drew across the solitary radiator, completely blocking it, thereby heating the double glazing but not the room.
This is the first negative TA review I have ever written, but even now the bad memory of Abode lingers. We should have gone to Malmaison which is directly opposite and I guess we might have even saved money there. A few recent reviews of Abode submitted to TA have been OK, but my colleagues and I cannot recognise that they were staying in the same establishment - I find it hard even to refer to Abode as a hotel. I endorse the comments of other disappointed TA reviewers.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2010

Our stay at Abode was amazing from start to finish. The staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful and the room was lovely with lots of thoughtful little touches and extras. The bathroom was a luxury with a great shower, all very clean and well maintained.
The breakfast was delicious with a great variety of options including some healthier options as well.
The location of the hotel was perfect; it was only 5 minutes down the road from Piccadilly train station one way and 5 minutes from the main shopping area in the other direction.
We will definitely be staying there again next time we go to Manchester!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucybead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#37 of 120 in Manchester
2,594 reviews
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#9 of 120 in Manchester
1,805 reviews
1 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Manchester City Centre
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#17 of 120 in Manchester
2,668 reviews
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Manchester

Address: 107 Piccadilly | Manchester, Manchester M1 2DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Manchester
#18 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
Price Range: $98 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A two minute stroll from Piccadilly station brings you to our door – a luxury hotel in Manchester city centre housed in a 19th century textile factory. Individually designed bedrooms (including a taste of ‘loft living’ with our Fabulous suites), contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Hotel dining consists of Brasserie Abode and Bar - a relaxed, all-day brasserie menu features plats du jour with a comfortingly, nostalgic nod and time-honoured classics. Join us for brunch, lunch, dinner and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your ABode Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Manchester Hotel Manchester
Abode Hotel Manchester
Manchester Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing