We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Hotel !!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abode Manchester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abode Manchester
Ranked #23 of 115 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
143 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel !!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Just returned from a one night stay after attending a wedding in Manchester. First impressions of the hotel was how lovely the building was. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room was on the 2nd floor facing the main road but the noise want a problem really as the bed was so amazing and comfortable. The room was different and what you might call quirky it was lovely. After reading the reviews about the restaurant staff, I can honestly say they were lovely, attentive and helpful. We had lunch and then breakfast which was lovely. Thank you for making our stay enjoyable will definetly stay there again.

Room Tip: I loved room 203 on the 2 nd floor but if you are a light sleeper then best to ask for a room at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunshineHuddersfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M, General Manager at Abode Manchester, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing the ABode. I am very pleased your experience was such a positive one and in particular thank you for your comments with regard to the restaurant team, they will be delighted, so thank you once again.

best regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    482
    220
    77
    41
See reviews for
92
768
80
354
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Garstang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
329 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

My children had booked us a stay at this hotel for one of my big 0 birthdays!!! The hotel which is a short distance from Piccadilly has been converted from an industrial building to a hotel with lots of character. When we arrived, we had been upgraded to the Winston Suite on the Fabulous Fifth. It was super, a very large comfy bed, brilliant bathroom and lounging area. We were impressed. All the staff from reception to housekeeping were very courteous and helpful. We dined at Michael Caines, very good and the breakfast was excellent. We had a terrific stay here and would recommend it without hesitation. The only downside was that we could hear the Metro Trams!!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M, General Manager at Abode Manchester, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the ABode Manchester. I am pleased that you enjoyed our facilities and that you found the team to be so welcoming.

best regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Stayed here on Saturday 2nd of August a treat for my birthday! my wife booked us into a junior suite & we were both looking forward to it, when we arrived at reception to check in we were pleasantly informed that we had been upgraded to fabulous on 5th:-D what an amazing room we were given,made my birthday even better! the staff were brilliant from reception to bar & restaurant to housekeeping we were made to feel like royalty, can't recommend this hotel enough & look forward to staying again in the near future it was FABULOUS :-D

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M, General Manager at Abode Manchester, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear guest,

My sincere appreciation for taking the time to review the ABode Manchester. I am delighted your experience was such a positive one. The team strive to ensure that all our guests have a positive and memorable experience so to read details of your review is most pleasing.

Thank you once again and I do hope to welcome you back to the ABode in the near future.

best regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is beautiful!!! The staff were extremely friendly! The reception staff and the cleaning staff were hard working and polite and very helpful! The big bed in our room was incredibly comfortable and I love the chairs in the room too. The bathroom was big and the monsoon shower was really nice and the bathroom am amenities were lovely and smelt really good. The only reason I say 4.9 is the tiny issue we had with noisy neighbours but that isn't the hotels fault at all.
We made reservations at the Michael Caines fine dining resturant and it was an incredible meal! And the staff there also were very helpful and smiley!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sonya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M, General Manager at Abode Manchester, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for reviewing the ABode. The team underpin all that is positive about the property so to read of your particular experience is very heartening. Thank you once again and I do hope you return to stay with ourselves in the very near future.

best regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014

Me and my girlfriend are Latvian tourists, and we came to Manchester for a tattoo convention.
We searched for a peaceful place, to stay, in city centre. One of our friend recommended to stay in ABode hotel. We didn't know any hotels in Manchester, but what we received was more then we expected. Everything, starting from service, till very small things(iron, hair drier, conditioner, tv, audio system and Wii), and very cosy room atmosphere, was excellent. We stayed in room no.405, it was beautiful design room, with enormous, very comfortable, bed. We wanted some romance, so i got some champagne and strawberry's. I asked for two glasses, in less them 5 minutes i received two glasses, bucket of ice and towel. Everything was wonderful. After we received wake-up call, we went downstairs for a breakfast. All the food was meeting really high standards. Our day started perfectly.

So if you are looking for a place to stay in Manchester city centre i highly recommend to stay in ABode hotel.
Many thanks.

Room Tip: room 405 was just perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liva K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M, General Manager at Abode Manchester, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for reviewing the ABode. I am delighted that your experience was such a positive one and that the team ensured your time with ourselves was so special. I also hope the convention went well.

best regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
170 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

The Abode is a few minutes walk from Piccadilly station and couldn't be easier to find. The reception area is light and airy, presentable staff looking smart in black. Check-in was efficient and the lift to the fourth floor was available without a wait.

Entering the bedroom, initial impressions were positive. Parquet floor, high ceiling, designer decor – all positive and reminiscent of a Manhattan loft. The bathroom was spacious, facilities good and the free wifi was easy to access.

Marks off for the TV – it was in subtitle mode and the 'menu' button didn't work. Disappointing housekeeping too – not removing the chewing gum planted under the bed frame (euch!).

Leaving the windows open wasn't really an option in July – too much noise from the street below. Fortunately the wall-mounted AC unit worked well.

The bed was comfortable and I nodded off within minutes of turning in. Only to be woken at 2.30 am by a late reveller returning. A noisy door bang and what sounded like clog dancing on the floor of the room above. That damned parquet floor!

On balance, the Abode is a stylish alternative to the bland chain hotels. The location is great but it's let down by the hard surfaces and absence of noise attenuation. For the hearing impaired and heavy sleepers only!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back or side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Flyingred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M, General Manager at Abode Manchester, responded to this review, August 12, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for providing such a balanced review of the ABode. Your comments are very much appreciated and have been noted.

best regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014

OK, I have to admit that I have emotional ties with the building, having been the part of the opening team in the days it was Rossetti... and this was my first time back in over a decade.
The deal sounded too good to be true (dinner, bed and breakfast for not much more than friends and family rates in nearby hotels), and it proved the old adage of "if it sounds too good to be true, it probably is".
Our meal and general experience in the restaurant / F&B services was so terrible, I will actually write a separate review - as it really was beyond poor - but as far as hotel goes, apart from check in being unfriendly and quite frankly, odd (since when a preauthorisation cannot be done on a debit card?) as the person checking us in seemed to have been embarrassing his colleague too, I suppose the rest was OK. Average.

Bed was comfortable, and that is important. Bathrooms are what I remember them - goes to show quality lasts. The cleanliness was fine, tho wear and tear showing. There was most things one needed in the room, although I don't understand keeping the open Molteni shelving system, but then sticking the iron and ironing board in it - looks awful! Toiletries selection not vast either.

Overall, would come back, as it's close to the station so bag pick up and drop off easy and the bed itself was fine. Just don't fall for deals that require you to use the restaurant for anything further than walk through to reception and back out - however cheap you got it, you will be left feeling ripped off and furious!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TanjaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M, General Manager at Abode Manchester, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review the ABode, your comments are appreciated. Whilst I am of course delighted you make reference that overall you would indeed return, I am nevertheless disappointed that you felt many of the areas within the property did not meet your expectations.

The ABode Manchester prides itself on ensuring the best possible experience is had by all our valued guests and thankfully the vast majority of the feedback that we receive via the differing communication platforms highlight we deliver on this.

As a fellow hotelier and somebody who has had first hand experience of working within the property albeit prior to the ABode taking over the reigns, I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your experience directly should you wish. I am contactable via the hotel main telephone line.

Thank you once again and I look forward to hearing from you in due course.

best regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#9 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,677 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#33 of 115 in Manchester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#7 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#19 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,378 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Midland
The Midland
#14 of 115 in Manchester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abode Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abode Manchester

Property: Abode Manchester
Address: 107 Piccadilly, Manchester M1 2DB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#17 Business Hotel in Manchester
#28 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#35 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Abode Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Abode Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Manchester Hotel Manchester
Abode Hotel Manchester
Manchester Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing