We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect base.”
Review of ABode Manchester

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ABode Manchester
Ranked #22 of 118 Hotels in Manchester
Certificate of Excellence
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Perfect base.”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in August and are looking forward to trying others in the group.
The room was large and the bed very comfortable.
Staff were cheerful throughout. The safe was not working when we arrived but fixed quickly.
Breakfast was excellent. As we usually leave for work at 0530 a lazy breakfast with the papers is a total treat.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bollybat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    802
    523
    235
    84
    43
See reviews for
102
854
90
390
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

It is not often you find a hotel that even through you stay regularly you are made to feel so welcome and a business trip becomes more like a holiday. This as l have said before is all down to the staff so thank you to in no
particular order to Natalie Heather James Matt and Les for making our stay so pleasant look forward to seeing you again in march.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mouseone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M, General Manager at ABode Manchester, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for reviewing the ABode. I am delighted the team ensured your recent visit was of the highest order and we look forward to your return visit next year.
best regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I have stayed at the Abode several times this year and have always been thoroughly impressed with the quality and service. The hotel is less than 5 minutes walk from Piccadilly station and within 10-15mins of the town centre. I have been upgraded to Desirable rooms and suites a couple of times which are amazing but the Comfortable rooms are also great, all rooms have enormous beds and well appointed bathrooms. Everything is clean and comfortable, the breakfast is cooked to order and is always fresh and delicious, I haven't eaten in the restaurant but the room service has always been great. I always look forward to my stays at the Abode and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LZCampbell88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M, General Manager at ABode Manchester, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for reviewing the ABode Manchester. I am thrilled your recent experience mirrors your previous visits and I do hope to welcome you back once again in the very near future.
best regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed overnight several times during a recent visit to England and were impressed by this very nice hotel. It gets points for being a retrofit of a great old building that didn't destroy the building. It gets points for Heather, at the front desk, who seems to work nonstop, is cheery and puts things right. And it certainly gets points for good food and a good bar, as well as a great location, by the train station. We were there while the Ashes was at Old Trafford and watched the cricket fans arriving as we breakfasted one day. The rooms are pleasantly non-institutional, with inventive lighting that doesn't detract and the old bones of the building on display. Good job!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cvb1793
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M, General Manager at ABode Manchester, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest,
I am deighted you enjoyed your time with us here at the ABode Manchester. Thank you for your review.
best regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I stayed in the Abode for two nights on 23rd / 24th August.

Initially all seemed well, arrived late in the evening and the reception team seemed helpful enough. I headed up to the room after checking in and the key did not work. My partner went down to reception to have the key recut. Having worked in hotels, I *think* I have a pretty good grasp on using the key cards and it definitely did not work first time. Bit of an annoyance when you have to head back down so late in the evening after travelling.

There was a plug socket next to the bed that didn't look too safe when plugging in or out electronics and when the curtains were closed completely, a bright yellow stain appeared on the curtains! Delightful.

I can't really fault my first night other than the shaky first impressions but then it unfortunately, went downhill. I ordered room service starter and a side of fries on my second night and I deemed it to be poor quality.

A friend of mine who was visiting had decided to get ready in my room before heading out that evening as we had spent the day together and it was better for him to get changed at my hotel rather than heading home. When we came back to the hotel in the early hours, we were refused entry on the ground that there were 3 of us and the room occupancy was 2. I understand (and tried to explain that I understand) that hotels needs to monitor the guests in/out of the hotel within the early hours, however, they did not care that my friend was simply collecting his belongings from my room.

No offer to be escorted to the room, no offer to wait in the lobby, I was made to wait outside of the hotel for 20 minutes in the cold on the street whilst my friend headed up to the room alone to collect his belongings. Having lived in Manchester for five years, I know how dangerous and unsafe the city centre can be at that time in the morning and to be locked out of the hotel I am paying for is simply disgusting customer service. Anything could of happened at that time in the morning.

When showing my frustration to the night manager, he acted as if I should certainly know what the policy is as I had previously worked in a hotel. With all due respect to him, I would certainly not lock a guest of mine outside in the cold at 4.30am all because his friend was collecting his belongings from the room. There are numerous options of better dealing with the situation. I clearly did not believe he understood why I was so upset.

The next day I arranged and paid for a late checking until 3pm but housekeeping woke up me at 1pm asking when I would be vacating the room. Now awake, I then decided to order room service which again, was just incredibly disappointing and definitely not up to the standard of coming from a Michael Caine restaurant. I could of cooked a better fish myself and I'm no chef. The accompanying Coke was flat and warm as if it had been sitting waiting for the food for a while.

When sharing my thoughts with the manager, no polite invitation back or no refund of the fee for the disturbed late checkout, simply a thanks for the feedback!

The hotel itself is beautifully decorated, I can't comment on the restaurant as I didn't dine but the room service was substandard and not up to my expectations. I would potentially recommend if someone needs to put their head down for a night - but I guess you would receive better service in a Premier Inn or Travellodge.

Overall, not the worth the money. Service initially good but them turned shambolic, room service terrible and the lack of communication between departments was non existent.

I may of received an apology and a comment to say thanks for the feedback, but that doesn't fix the experience I received and left me with a sour taste of Abode.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank leonburton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M, General Manager at ABode Manchester, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for reviewing the ABode. My apologies with regard to the shortfalls for which you write. Whilst I am aware that you have since been in contact with the Operations manager to discuss your experience, I am however avaialble via the hotel direct line should you wish.
best regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Upon arrival we discovered that the agent we booked the room through had filed for insolvency and had cancelled our booking. The lady on reception was extremely helpful and went out of her way to gave us an upgraded room at a reduced rate to try and make what was a horrible situation, much better. To be honest on bank holiday weekend we were grateful she gave found us a room. Throughout our stay she ensured we were having a nice weekend and that everything was ok. We found all staff very approachable and friendly and our room and communal areas were immaculately clean. When We visit Manchester we always stay in apartments but abode will always be our 1st choice for accommodation in Manchester.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sean M, General Manager at ABode Manchester, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear guest,
Many thanks for reviewing the ABode. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable experience and I do hope to welcome you back to the hotel upon your next visit to the city.
best regards
Sean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Good welcome upon check in. Room was good although I had upgraded to Superior so not sure what the standard rooms are like? Not a great view but hey, we're in Manchester! Barman was friendly but a lack of Jaegermiester on the top shelf was a dissapointment! Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are obviously bigger but consider the difference in cost first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darren19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manchester hotels
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Manchester Piccadilly
0.1 mi away
Velvet
Velvet
#10 of 118 in Manchester
1,775 reviews
0.0 mi away
Malmaison Manchester
Malmaison Manchester
#32 of 118 in Manchester
2,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Arora Hotel Manchester
Arora Hotel Manchester
#18 of 118 in Manchester
2,517 reviews
1.0 mi away
Manchester Marriott Victoria & Albert Hotel
0.3 mi away
Roomzzz Manchester City
Roomzzz Manchester City
#6 of 118 in Manchester
1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ABode Manchester? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ABode Manchester

Property: ABode Manchester
Address: 107 Piccadilly | Manchester, Manchester M1 2DB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Greater Manchester > Manchester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Manchester
#17 Luxury Hotel in Manchester
#28 Romantic Hotel in Manchester
#35 Family Hotel in Manchester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — ABode Manchester 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A two minute stroll from Piccadilly station brings you to our door – a luxury hotel in Manchester city centre housed in a 19th century textile factory. Individually designed bedrooms (including a taste of ‘loft living’ with our Fabulous suites), contemporary bathrooms and a warm welcome are waiting. Hotel dining consists of Brasserie Abode and Bar - a relaxed, all-day brasserie menu features plats du jour with a comfortingly, nostalgic nod and time-honoured classics. Join us for brunch, lunch, dinner and cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your ABode Manchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abode Manchester Hotel Manchester
Abode Hotel Manchester
Manchester Abode Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing